Human Nutritional Sciences

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

The key association for dietetic professionals in Canada.

A key professional association and information source.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database. Scopus is integrated with, and can simultaneously search Scirus which covers science-related Web pages and institutional repositories. Scopus is able to track cited references: you can use it to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to current and retrospective information from approximately 8,700 international journals. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to find articles that cite a previously published work. Web of Science includes an expanded version of Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.

Research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.

PEN is an innovative knowledge translation1 tool designed to put you on the leading edge of evidence-based practice in food and nutrition.

The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.

SciFinder Web provides online access to Chemical Abstracts, the CASREACT chemical reactions database, chemical suppliers, chemical property data, Chemical Abstracts Registry File, and Medline. SciFinder Web is available to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Manitoba. SciFinder Web offers many of the same features that users of the non-browser-based SciFinder products have come to rely on. The browser-based SciFinder also offers new features and functions.

SPORT Discus is a database indexing the literature in the field of sport and recreation, drawing from books, conference proceedings, research papers and about 2,000 journals from around the world. Covering the period from 1975 to the present, SPORT Discus includes over 300,000 citations. Among the many subject areas represented are: biomechanics, coaching, exercise physiology, motor learning, physical education, recreation, sport history, sport medicine, sport sociology, sports for the disabled

This is a long-established monograph series published by Elsevier. Each volume in this serial includes articles written by leading scientists. The volumes cover a variety of topics important to those whose work focuses on food science and nutrition.

AGELINE database produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) provides extensive coverage of articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as books, government publications, and research reports pertaining to aging and age related issues.The journal titles include research, professional, and general interest periodicals focused on the study of aging from psychological, health-related, sociological, and economic perspectives.

Provides access to over 840,000 records covering research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, selected popular literature, government reports, discussion and working papers, unpublished material such as poster sessions, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources.

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides access to full text scholarly and scientific journals whose mandate is to publish research or review articles. All major subject areas are covered. Journal contributors include the academic, government, non-profit, and commercial sectors. The journals in DOAJ incorporate a funding model which does not charge users or institutions for access.

The sociofile database provides access to international serial literature in Sociology and related disciplines from approximately 2,000 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.

Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

This database includes all of the issues of Child DevelopmentAbstracts & Bibliography from1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development plus new coverage on Child Rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed.

A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, the Social Sciences Citation Index fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines plus selected relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). CBCA Complete includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).

MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers, and students.