The University of Manitoba Libraries no longer subscribes to RefWorks. The information on this page is being kept only for informational purposes.
After careful consideration of usage statistics, cost-analysis, and a review of currently available alternative products, the University of Manitoba Libraries is ending its subscription to RefWorks. RefWorks will be removed from the Libraries A-Z Database list as of April 30, 2018. All individual RefWorks account content must be migrated to another citation management system before this date to ensure you do not lose access to your references.
Please contact Citation.Management@umanitoba.ca for additional questions, assistance, or support.
The Citation Management Working Group will send a series of messages to University of Manitoba RefWorks users notifying users of the transition, with instructions to consult this FAQ and contact the Citation Management Group for answers to any questions. The first all-user email will be sent in January 2017.
The University of Manitoba Libraries provides support for three other bibliographic/citation management systems: Zotero, Mendeley and EndNote. All three offer the same basic set of functions as RefWorks, although each has its own strengths, which may guide you to one or the other of them. See the Libraries subject guide Citation Management Software for comparison guides and more product information.
If you still want to continue using RefWorks, you may purchase your own individual license for $100 a year and transfer your library to a new account, but please note that an individual license DOES NOT allow for the attachment of PDFs to citations. You will be limited to storing only citation information in the new account.
To obtain your own individual license:
1) Sign up for a new account by creating a 30 day trial. You'll need to use a different login name, as you're creating a new account.
2) Once you’ve created the new account, visit this page and sign in with your new account to complete the purchase transaction.
3) Sign into your old account. Select Tools, Backup/Restore and make a backup of your database. You will be prompted to save a .zip or . rwb file to your computer. In your new account, select Tools, Backup/Restore and use the restore option to add the .zip or . rwb file to your new account. You can also export your reference data in several formats using one of RefWorks Export options.
General instructional workshops on Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley are regularly offered by the University of Manitoba Libraries. Additionally, each of these software programs has excellent online tutorials: Zotero's Start Guide; Mendeley's Videos and Tutorials page; and Endnote Training.
And of course, you can always contact us for help via email or by setting up a consultation.
You must first export the file(s) from RefWorks and then import those file(s) into the citation management software of your choice. Note: If you wish to preserve your folders, you will need to export each folder separately.
To Export from RefWorks:
To Import into a Citation Manager:
With very few exceptions, every database that exports to RefWorks will also export to these other programs. Most databases that offer automatic export to RefWorks also provide the same type of direct export to EndNote. Mendeley and Zotero have browser-based import functions that allow you to import from your database of interest. Many databases also provide the option of direct export in RIS format. However, data can usually be exported and re-imported from one program into any of the others.
All three programs offer both a desktop version and an online account where you can store references, and to which you can sync the data you have saved in the desktop version.
All three programs also provide the possibility of collaborative work, through “groups”on Zotero and Mendeley, or “shared folders” on EndNote.
Yes, with Endnote and Zotero, but not Mendeley. In the University of Manitoba Libraries' One Stop Search you can save the records and import into Endnote by selecting the Export to RIS option, while Zotero's web translator reads catalog results and will import. Mendeley's web importer does not work in the University of Manitoba Libraries One Stop Search.
I liked the fact that there was GetIt@UML University of Manitoba link automatically embedded in my RefWorks records. Can I get the same functionality with the other programs?
All three programs offer this functionality, but it must be set up in each program's preferences by supplying the OpenURL resolver link: