Archives & Special Collections offers several research grants to assist users in conducting research in the Archives. Archives also has a number of endowment funds, several of which can aid researchers financially in conducting research.
Research Grants
- The T. Glendenning Hamilton Research Grant
- To provide a limited number of travel grants every year to assist those researchers wanting to use the Hamilton Family fonds on parapsychology and psychic phenomena and other collections housed in the Archives
- The Dr. Andrew Taylor Northern Studies Award and Research Grant
- Designed especially for those interested in the study of the Arctic and of Northern Canada. This is given as a research grant to researchers or students in odd numbered years and as an award to students in even numbered years.
Endowments
Potential donors may realize substantial tax savings by creating endowment funds. Such endowments can be used to ensure continued acquisitions of archives and rare books in the area of the donor's interest, to establish on-going lecture series, to facilitate further use of the collections by researchers, for digitization of materials, and for other valuable purposes. Donors may also consider donating to one of the established funds below. For more information, or to donate to Archives & Special Collections, please call Donor Relations at: (204) 474-9195 or donor.relations@umanitoba.ca
Current endowments within Archives & Special Collections are as follows:
Archives & Special Collections General Endowment Fund
- This is a general purpose fund to be used for the enhancement of delivery and preservation of archival and rare book material held by Archives & Special Collections.
The Frank Allen Family Research Fund
- This is to support the acquisition of archival or library materials in the field of Winnipeg history.
Sandra Buhai Barz Endowment Fund
- This fund shall be used for the maintenance and preservation of materials on Inuit art and culture, or for the enhancement of the Sandra Barz fonds.
Bereziuk-Kushnyryk Fund
- This endowment will support the Ukrainian Canadian collection in the University of Manitoba archives.
O. Jim Ellis fund
- This fund is to support the Lesley Flint collection, a psychic who practice direct-voice mediumship
The Estey Family Endowment Fund
- For the support of the Ralph H. Estey collection and for acquisition of books and materials pertaining to agricultural history, especially plant pathology, food science, biology and botany.
Cliff Eyland Fund
- To support the Cliff Eyland and other art archives.
The FPG (Frederick Philip Grove/Felix Paul Greve) Research Endowment Fund
- This fund is to support, expand, and promote the Archives' Frederick Philip Grove/Felix Paul Greve source and research collections.
Pamela Hardisty fund
- This fund is to support the acquisition, processing and maintenance costs of manuscript materials for archives & special collections at the University of Manitoba libraries. The fund may also be used for the acquisition or upgrading of technological equipment as required for the digitized nation of such archival materials.
Irena Knysh Graduate Scholarship in Ukrainian Studies
- In years when there are no qualified graduate candidates the scholarship will be offered to undergraduates. They commemorate Irena’s life and her many contributions to the Ukrainian women’s movement and to the study of Ukrainian history and culture.
Harry and Sophia Korney Ukrainian Archival Endowment
- To preserve and enhance use of Ukrainian Canadian archival and rare book material.
Psychic News Archives Legacy Fund
- To support the digitized Psychic News and any future acquisition and maintenance of Psychic News archives.
The Psychical Research Archives Endowment (PRAEF) Fund
- To support the acquisition, preservation and use of archival materials relating to psychical research and in future, when possible, to support underfunded areas of work within the field of psychical research
The Pugh Family Fund
- To acquire capital equipment or complete renovations to the archives and its various facilities to enhance the delivery and preservation of archival and rare book material, to hire masters of archival studies or other students or other staff to complete special projects that would enhance the delivery and preservation of archival and rare book material; to provide unrestricted funds for any aspect of the enhancement of delivery and preservation of archival and rare book material.
Heather Robertson Fund
- To support the Heather Robertson fonds or other writers’ archives.
The J.B. Rudnyckyj Research Fund
- For the acquisition of Slavic books, periodicals, selected archival materials, Ukrainian and Western Canadian documents and other related materials, as well as the annual J.B. Rudnyckyj Distinguished Lecture Series .
Anne Smigl Research Endowment
- To provide annual support to the enhancement, access and promotion of the Ukrainian Prairie Experience collection.
Dr. Shelley Sweeney Archival fund
- To support the acquisition, preservation, use of, and outreach for archival and rare book materials held at the archives and to support special activities of the unit.
Catherine Thexton fund
- To support the Catherine Thexton fonds and other collections relating to birds.
The Dr. Paul H.T. Thorlakson Archival Fund
- For projects enhancing the Paul H.T. Thorlakson fonds or other collections within the Archives, and also for research use.
Ukrainian National Home Association fund
- For projects that best meet the need to protect and promote the Ukrainian National Home Collection.
Ukrainian Archives Fund
- For projects relating to the archives of the Ukrainian Canadian experience.
Other
UFOs in Canada Archival Fund
- to establish an ongoing fund that would in the first instance make sure that the records are made quickly available with appropriate online descriptions, and preserve the records, and then in the future to scan selected documents and put them online so that people can study them without having to come to the University of Manitoba.
