The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Coverage: 1864 - present
Zoological Record is a comprehensive index to zoological literature covering all aspects of animal biology, paleobiology, and zoology, focusing on the natural biology of animals (fossil, recent, whole animal, behavioral, environmental, and cellular studies). Publications indexed include professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.
If you go to the Advanced Search in Zoological Record and use the field SY= scientific species name, then you can search for journal articles with that specific species in it. You must use the scientific species name in the SY= example/ SY=bison bison; no common names will be accepted. This search strategy is more accurate then a topic search for the species name.
In addition to having all of Biological Abstracts back to 1926, BIOSIS Previews abstracts and indexes information from numerous sources from around the world. BIOSIS Previews indexes virtually every life sciences discipline including traditional biology (botany, ecology, zoology), interdisciplinary subjects (biochemisty, biomedicine, and biotechnology), agriculture, pharmacology, veterinary science, and related areas (instrumentation and methods).
1. What is the scientific name for the species?
Knowing this information can help you quickly search in a database such as Zoological Record because the scientific literature will use a species' scientific name more often than the species common name.
2. Are there alternative spellings for the species' scientific name?
Be sure when you search for species information to use alternative spellings as well as the standard spelling to get all literature related to your species.
3. Has the species been reclassified?
Species do get reclassified and with reclassification often comes a new scientific name. Be aware of this because some scientific literature may use the older scientific name and not the new one.
4. Where is the species located?
Knowing where the species is located can help you to identify books that cover species in from that area. For example, if the species is located in Argentina, the species may be mentioned in a book about flora and fauna of South America.
Good starting points are ...
In addition to having all of Biological Abstracts back to 1926, BIOSIS Previews abstracts and indexes information from numerous sources from around the world. BIOSIS Previews indexes virtually every life sciences discipline including traditional biology (botany, ecology, zoology), interdisciplinary subjects (biochemisty, biomedicine, and biotechnology), agriculture, pharmacology, veterinary science, and related areas (instrumentation and methods).
Do a few searches and collect sources that you can use.
