Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Biology: Find Articles

A biology subject guide for University of Manitoba students.

What are you looking for...

Scholarly Information for a Biology Topic

Scholarly Information for a Specific Biology Assignment

Full Text of a Journal Article

A Specific Journal Article

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Get a Journal Article for Free

Looking for scholarly information on a biology topic? Try a database.

What is a database? Why should I use one?

  • Searchable online tool for finding scholarly information  
  • contains peer-reviewed information and specific for a subject

You can access databases from the University of Manitoba Libraries' Databases A-Z link from the Libraries' homepage or by clicking here. 

If you would like one-on-one instruction in using these databases, please contact Vickie Albrecht.

Suggested Biology Subject Databases Available through the University of Manitoba Libraries

Note: If you are accessing a database from off-campus and/or from a non-University of Manitoba computer you will be prompted for your UMnetID and password.  Your UMnetID is the first part of your University of Manitoba email address before the @ at symbol.

Need scholarly information for a specific biology assignment?

STEP 1: Start by carefully reading your assignment guidelines and find the answers to the following question.

1. What sources do you need? Which sources does it say you cannot use?

If you answered...journal articles or peer-reviewed articles or scholarly information.
Search in a database. Suggested start with Web of Science Core Collection.

If you answered...books or book chapters.
Search the University of Libraries' collection.

2. How many sources do you need? Is there a minimum number you have to use?

Make sure you find at least the minimum number of sources.

3. How current do the sources need to be?

Make sure you know this.  When you are searching for scholarly information you can limit by publication year. 

STEP 2: Select where to search.

If you need a journal articles, scholarly information, or peer-reviewed articles, you will need to search a database.  The database you will use will depend on the overall topic.  Below are a list of topics and a suggested starting database.  This is not an exhaustive topic list.

Botany or plant sciences

Cell and molecular biology

Ecology or evolutionary biology

Genetics

Human anatomy and biology

Invertebrates

Zoology or animal sciences

STEP 3: Do the search and limit to the sources you need.

Tips for limiting sources:

  • publication year
  • subject area
  • source type like journal article

How to I get full text of a journal article?

How to go about finding a specific journal article

What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? How Do I Find Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles?

Document Delivery

A way to get a source for free

If you have found an article online that is asking for you to purchase it or the University of Manitoba Libraries does not own a copy of a journal article, book, etc. You can get for free through the Libraries' Document Delivery service.

Biology Librarian

Profile Photo
Maureen Babb
Contact:
(204)474-6247

Ask-a-Librarian

Ask Us Icon