Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Linguistics: LING 1360

Canadian Census

  • Statistics Canada conducts a national census of population and census of agriculture every five years.
  • Census provides a snapshot picture of the demographic and socioeconomic information of the population.
  • It's a vital source of information for planning public services such as health care, education and transportation, determining federal transfer payments, the number of Members of the Parliament for each province and territory, and researchers in various capacities.
  • The Census of Population gathers data on a variety of topics, including:
    • Indigenous peoples
    • Education, training and learning
    • Ethnic diversity and immigration
    • Families, households and housing
    • Income, pensions, spending and wealth
    • Labour
    • Languages
    • Population and demography

Compendium of Language Management in Canada ( U of Ottawa)

GeoSearch

  • An interactive map application to locate a specific geographic location.  You can use the first three letters of a postal code (Forward Station Area, Census 2006 & 2011) or use a postal code, a census dissemination area (Census 2006, 2011, & 2016).  Identify the last four digits of the census dissemination code.  For example,  46110384 means 46 (Province of Manitoba), 11 (Census Division No. 11 = Winnipeg [City] and Headingley RM) and the remainder of the number, 0384, is the code you can use with the Canadian Census Analyzer.

Canadian Census Analyzer

  • The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to a variety of commonly requested Canadian Census data and documentation, produced by Statistics Canada.  It includes Profile data at several levels of geography, and for several censuses, in some cases going back to 1961.  It also provides access to the Census Individuals public use microdata files, and the Postal code conversion file.  Users can create subsets and then output the results in a variety of formats.

Selected Sources:

Duff, P. A., & Ava, B.-Z. (2017). Demographics and Heritage Languages in Canada: Policies, Patterns, and Prospects. In The Routledge Handbook of Heritage Language Education. Routledge. (available from Google Books).

Duff, P. A., & Li, D. (2009). Indigenous, Minority, and Heritage Language Education in Canada: Policies, Contexts, and Issues. The Canadian Modern Language Review66(1), 1–8. https://doi.org/10.3138/cmlr.66.1.001

Harrison, B. (2000). Passing on the language: Heritage language diversity in Canada. Canadian Social Trends, August 2000, no.58, 14-19. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/en/pub/11-008-x/2000002/article/5165-eng.pdf?st=9dy

Lachapelle, R., & Lepage, J.-F. (2010). Languages in Canada: 2006 census. Canadian Heritage. https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2011/pc-ch/CH3-2-8-2010-eng.pdf

Ricento, T. (2019). Language Politics and Policies : Perspectives From Canada and the United States. Cambridge University Press. Retrieved April 5, 2022, from http://uml.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2172620&site=ehost-live&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_211

Marmen, L., Corbeil, J.-P., Canada, Canadian Heritage, & Statistics Canada. (2004). Languages in Canada: 2001 census. Canadian Heritage. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/96-326-x/96-326-x2001001-eng.pdf

Nagy, N. (2021). Heritage Languages in Canada. In S. Montrul & M. Polinsky (Eds.), The Cambridge Handbook of Heritage Languages and Linguistics (Cambridge Handbooks in Language and Linguistics, pp. 178-204). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. doi:10.1017/9781108766340.010 (Not accessible but check references.)

Statistics Canada. (2017, August 2). Census in Brief: Linguistic diversity and multilingualism in Canadian homeshttps://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2016/as-sa/98-200-x/2016010/98-200-x2016010-eng.cfm

Statistics Canada. (2018, February 21). The evolution of language populations in Canada, by mother tongue, from 1901 to 2016https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/11-630-x/11-630-x2018001-eng.htm

Statistics Canada. (2020, August 4). Interpreting and presenting census language datahttps://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/89-657-x/89-657-x2020003-eng.htm

How to Document Census Data?

How to Document Your Sources:

The Writing Tutor Program - Academic Learning Centre

  • Book for an appointment now!  They are in high demand and available slots get filled up fast.
  • The tutor will ask you to share your assignment description.
  • Prepare your draft in order to receive the tutor's feedback.

Useful Sources & References

Research & Writing Tips

  • Refer to the assignment's guidelines.
  • Taking Notes by Margaret Procter, University of Toronto Writing Centre
  • Writing & Revising by Margaret Procter, University of Toronto Writing Centre

So EASY to Plagiarise and How to AVOID It:

References for Citation Styles

MLA Style

APA Style

Note:  If you are using an epub title on the EbscoHost platform, it may not display page numbers.  If you can't find page number(s) in the epub title to cite, just cite the chapter, e.g., (Smith ch. 2)  in MLA and (Smith, ch.2) in APA.  Or if you can find PDF edition, use it.

Blog Post | YouTube | Twitter Post (APA)

Blog Post/Web Site

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Date). Title of blog post. Blog Name. https://xxxxx

Author’s last nameInitial(s). [or the name of the body responsible]. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of workWebsitehttps://URL

Example:

Fisher D. R. (2017, January 26).  The women’s march was only the beginning. Context:  Sociology for the Public.  https://contexts.org/blog/the-womens-march-was-only-the-beginning/

Youtube

Channel. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of video [Video]. Website. https://URL

Example: 

Scribbr. (2020, August 20). Develop a theoretical framework in 3 steps [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/4y1BAqOnhMM

Twitter

Author name, Initials [@username]. (Year, Month Day). Text of tweet [Tweet]. Twitter. URL

Example: 

Trump, D. J. [@realDonaldTrump]. (2020, September 28). FAKE NEWS! [Tweet]. Twitter.  https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1310432401454235650

Note:  Donal Trump’s twitter account has been suspended.  The 2nd line should be indented.

Citation Tool