Linguistics

The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars). WALS Online is a publication of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology.

ELAR is a digital repository specialising in preserving and publishing endangered language documentation materials from around the world.

The World Oral Literature Project is an urgent global initiative to document and disseminate endangered oral literatures before they disappear without record.

The aim of ORTOLANG is to construct a network infrastructure including a repository of language data (corpora, lexicons, dictionaries etc.) and readily available, well-documented tools for its processing. Focus on the French language and regional languages of France.

The speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds, to allow for the comparison and analysis of the accents of different English speakers.

The symbols of the International Phonetic Alphabet illustrate the basic inventory of sounds of the world's languages.

Previously known as SSWL, TerraLing is an free, searchable database that allows users to discover which properties (morphological, syntactic, and semantic) characterize a language, as well as how these properties relate across languages.

The Routledge Handbook of Linguistics offers a comprehensive introduction and reference point to the discipline of linguistics. This wide-ranging survey of the field brings together a range of perspectives, covering all the key areas of linguistics and drawing on interdisciplinary research in subjects such as anthropology, psychology and sociology.

The Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics is a unique reference work for students and teachers of linguistics. The highly regarded second edition of the Lexikon der Sprachwissenschaft by Hadumod Bussmann has been specifically adapted by a team of over thirty specialist linguists. In over 2,500 entries, the Dictionary provides a survey of the key terminology and languages of more than 30 subdisciplines of linguistics.

Covering the political, social and historical background of each language, Dictionary of Languages offers a unique insight into human culture and communication. Every language with official status is included, as well as all those that have a written literature and 175 'minor' languages with special historical or anthropological interest. The text is highlighted by maps and charts of scripts, while proverbs, anecdotes and quotations reveal the features that make a language unique.

Now available in its sixth edition, David Crystal's Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics has been revised and updated to reflect the latest terms in the field. It includes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries. Its entries are updated to reflect the way established terms are now perceived in light of changes in the field, providing insight into the historical development of linguistics.

Utilizing a historical and international approach, this resource makes the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader. Containing over 500 alphabetically arranged entries and an expansive glossary by a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Linguistics explores the varied perspectives, figures, and methodologies that make up the field.

The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.

Fully revised and updated for the second edition. The dictionary covers every aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), phonetics, formal semantics, and key figures and ideas in linguistics. The dictionary contains enhanced coverage of sociolinguistics, new entries on notable recent theorists in the field, and expanded coverage of regional dialects, such as Estuary English.

A guide to principles and methods for the management, archiving, sharing, and citing of linguistic research data, especially digital data. “Doing language science” depends on collecting, transcribing, annotating, analyzing, storing, and sharing linguistic research data. This volume offers a guide to linguistic data management, engaging with current trends toward the transformation of linguistics into a more data-driven and reproducible scientific endeavor. It offers both principles and methods, presenting the conceptual foundations of linguistic data management and a series of case studies, each of which demonstrates a concrete application of abstract principles in a current practice. The Handbook is an essential addition to the toolkit of every linguist, guiding researchers toward making their data FAIR: Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable.