Citation Management Software: EndNote

EndNote training resources

EndNote 20 Videos

Options available for collaborating with EndNote include:

• Using the Travelling LIbrary function
• Sharing a folder of references on EndNote Web
• Creating a Read-Only version of an EndNote Library on a shared drive
• Sharing an entire library (available on EndNote X7.2)

More information can be found on these guides:

EndNote & Collaboration (from Women and Newborn Health Service Library)

Collaboration:  using EndNote & EndNote Web (from University of Queensland Library)

Sharing References with EndNote Web (Video)

ENDNOTE 

EndNote is a software package that helps you organize citations and create a bibliography.  Citations can be automatically exported from many databases, library catalogues and ejournal sites. 

The University of Manitoba Libraries does not offer a site license for EndNote.  EndNote can be purchased from the University Bookstore for $159.99 for students, $199,99 for staff.  Upgrade cost is $135.99.

Members of the University of Manitoba community have free access to EndNote Web, a web-based version of EndNote which is intended to be used with EndNote Desktop.  

ENDNOTE WEB

Members of the University of Manitoba community have free access to EndNote Web, an online complement to EndNote (desktop) that can also be used on its own. With EndNote Web you can create a group of references and then share that group with another EndNote Web user.  References from EndNote Desktop (X6 and above) are automatically transferred between EndNote and EndNote Web. 

Register for EndNote Web

To access Endnote Web you will need to register first via Web of Science.

1. Go to Web of Science.
2. Click on Products (top right of screen).
3. From the drop down menu, click on Endnote.
4. On the left hand side of the page under “Not a member yet”, click Register.
5. Fill in the registration form (use your University of Manitoba email address) and click Register.
6. You should receive an email confirming your credentials.

Accessing EndNote Web

After you register for an account, you can access Endnote Web from:

• MyEndnoteWeb.com 

EndNote X2 and later versions can find full text articles with the Open URL Link which connects your EndNote record to the University of Manitoba Libraries GetIt@UML menu.  EndNote X3 and later can also automatically locate articles and download them into your EndNote library. Some articles cannot be located using EndNote's Find Full Text feature but may still be available at the University of Manitoba Libraries.  To check for full text using Open URL right click on an EndNote reference and select Open URL Link.

Configuring EndNote to work with Find Full Text in X3 and higher:

1. Click on File > Edit > Preferences.
2. Click on Find Full Text.
3. Checkmark all the Find Full text boxes.
4. In the OpenURL path box type or copy and paste the URL for your Group:

     5. In the Authenticate with box type or copy/paste:

         6. Click on Apply then OK.

On campus instructions: To find the full text for EndNote citations

1. Make sure your account is configured (see instructions above)
2. Click / highlight the desired citations (shift or ctrl click to select multiple citations) then right-mouse click and select Find Full Text.
3. This will bring up a window showing you a menu of links. You can ignore this and just click on Done.
4. You should now see a Find Full Text grouping at the bottom of your My Library showing that EndNote is searching then finding or not the full text.
5. Three groups will be created: Found PDF, Found URL and Not Found. For each PDF found, the PDF file will be added to your EndNote Library and a link to the PDF will display when you view the full EndNote record.

Off campus instructions: To find the full text for EndNote citations

1. Make sure your account is configured (see instructions above)
2. Click / highlight the desired citations (shift or ctrl click to select multiple citations) then right-mouse click and select Find Full Text.
3. This will bring up a window where you need to type in your U of M staff/student ID and PIN and click Login. It will then open another window showing you a menu of links. You can ignore this and click Continue. (Authentication is needed only once per session).
4. You should now see a Find Full Text grouping at the bottom of your My Library showing that EndNote is searching then finding or not the full text.
5. Three groups will be created: Found PDF, Found URL and Not Found. For each PDF found, the PDF file will be added to your EndNote Library and a link to the PDF will display when you view the full EndNote record.

The Find Full Text feature is available from EndNote version X3 and later.

1.  Create an EndNote Web Account.  You can register for an EndNote Web account by going to Edit in the EndNote Program and selecting EndNote Preferences and then EndNote Web.

2.  Check to see if a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is present in the citation.  Citations that have been downloaded from a database like PubMed or Web of Science usually will contain a DOI.

3.  Use the Find Full Text feature while on campus. 

From the EndNote Support Knowledge Base (Article #108622)

EndNote: Tips for Troubleshooting PDF Imports

• Make sure the PDF you are trying to import is not a scanned image file. Open the file in a PDF reader program and try to select some text. Can you highlight actual words, or does it simply draw a box? If it just draws a box, there is no text for EndNote to read to identify any reference information; this PDF was scanned in as an image. Please locate a text version of the PDF, or attempt to find this reference online.
• EndNote locates the reference information online by looking up the digital object identifier (DOI) on Crossref.org. You may wish to check their website; if they do not have the DOI of the article listed, EndNote will not be able to download it.
• To avoid possible "pollution" of DOIs from the article's bibliographic data, EndNote only checks the first few pages of the PDF for the article's DOI. If the DOI is not among these first few pages, EndNote will not be able to import the information from Crossref.
• EndNote identifies the DOI in the document by the tag
  >>    doi:
  If the DOI does not begin with this tag, it will not be recognized and the record will not import properly. This keeps other numbers that are not DOIs from accidentally being recognized, leading to incorrect data matching.
• The DOI also should be on one single line, rather than broken across multiple lines. A line-wrapped DOI will not lookup properly on Crossref.
• Check to make sure that you have no firewalls or other security programs blocking traffic to or from Crossref. In the box below is a PDF known to import successfully into EndNote. If this fails for you, most likely you have a network issue preventing communication to or from Crossref.
• Mac only Note: Make sure the EndNote application file resides in the EndNote folder under the system Application folder or the connection to Crossref will fail and the bibliographic information will not be imported.

CONTACT:

Carol Cooke  (Bannatyne Campus)

Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library
Send Email

Marie Speare (Fort Garry Campus)

Sciences and Technology Library
ph:  204-474-7063
cell:  204-290-4266
Send Email