Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Citation Management Software: Citation Generators

Need to quickly cite a journal article or book?

Many electronic resources, such as the Libraries’ Databases, journal article websites, as well as Google Scholar, offer a feature to quickly create a citation in styles like APA, MLA, or Chicago. Refer to the Citation Generators guide for more information.  You can also use a citation tool like ZoteroBib to create a reference list/bibliography as well as in-text citations for your paper.

Use the information generated only as a starting point for your citation.   

Be sure to check the accuracy of the citation for authors, journal names, capitalization, etc. as the citation is not always accurate. 

Citation Generators - tools, tricks and tips for creating citations

Many electronic resources, such as the Libraries’ Databases, journal article websites, as well as Google Scholar, offer a feature to quickly create a citation in styles like APA, MLA, or Chicago. 

Use the information generated as a starting point for your citation only. Be sure to check the accuracy of the citation for authors, journal names, capitalization, etc. as the citation is not always accurate.

 

Creating Citations from Databases

Online Citation Generators

These generators include many different citation styles and can help you cite journals, books or websites. ZoteroBib, BibMe and Cite This for Me are just a couple of examples.  There are many other citation generators. Some features are available for free; advanced features may require a subscription.

ZoteroBib

BibMe

Cite This for Me

 

 

University of Manitoba Libraries' One Stop Search

One Stop Search

The University of Manitoba Libraries' search box can generate citations in APA 6th ed., MLA 7th ed. or Chicago/Turabian 16th ed. style.  Click on the Quotation marks on the right hand side of the screen. 

Image of quotation marks

EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost can generate citations for AMA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, Harvard, MLA and Vancouver styles. Click on the title link to display the full record.  On the right hand side menu click on Cite.  The citation generator in EBSCOhost often produces a citation as if the full text of the article was accessed from the database.  If you access the full text by using the GetIt@UML button then you do not need to include the name of the database in the citation. 

  

ProQuest Databases

ProQuest Databases

The databases included in the ProQuest system can generate citations in several different styles including APA, MLA, ASA, Chicago/Turabian, CSE and more.  Look for the "Cite link on the Details page. 

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can generate citations for MLA, APA and Chicago styles.  Click on the Cite link.

 

ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib is a free citation generator that has been created by the developers of Zotero.  No account is required.

Entering information into ZoteroBib

BibMe

BibMe

BibMe is a free citation generator that can create citations for APA, MLA and Chicago/Turabian styles as well as many other styles which can be found under More+. 

 

CiteThis For Me

Cite This For Me helps you create citations for websites, journal articles, books and more in a wide variety of citation styles.  Basic functions are provided for free.  Additional features are available for a monthly fee.

Profile

Marie Speare's picture
Marie Speare
Contact:
Sciences and Technology Library
(204) 474-7063
(204) 290-4266 (mobile)

Engineering Library
(204) 474-9445
(204) 290-4266 (mobile)