Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Citation Management Software: Zotero

Zotero Quick Guide

Zotero Logo

  • Zotero 5.x changelog (Current Edition)
  • Available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
  • Works with Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari, and Opera browsers.

Quick Guide (see center column for details):

Tutorials

Instructional Manual

Getting Help

  • Need help?  To resolve your issue as quickly as possible, Zotero provides useful resources. 

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Back up your Zotero data on a regular basis, and find out how.
  • Find out how to restore your Zotero from a backup.
  • And more...

Zotero Knowledge Base

  • A library of how-to's.

Zotero Forums

  • Check if anyone else asked the same question you have, and if not, post your question.

 

Working with Your Papers

Automatically Generate Bibliographies and In-text Citations

Plugins are available for Microsoft Word and LibreOffice. 

Plugins can be downloaded from Zotero's website.   Also, refer to Zotero's support site.   

Zotero now works with Google Doc.

 

Zotero at UML

Zotero can help you:

  • Annotate and organize research results, including video and other research materials.
  • Save information about a reference, including author, title, and other publication information.
  • Create libraries and save searches, and share collections with other people.
  • Attach files, links, notes, and pdfs to records.
  • Store a screenshot of a web page.
  • Export information as formatted citations in word processing programs (Word, OpenOffice, Google Docs).
  • Tag and sort records and perform advanced searches.
  • Extract citation information from imported PDF documents.
  • View records in your personal collection when offline.
  • Cite records in any language. 

Getting Stuff into Your Zotero Library

For many major databases and websites, the program senses when a list of books or articles is displayed by showing an icon in the address bar, so citation information can be saved with just a few clicks.  Click on the yellow folder or book icon in your browser's location bar to download citation information into your Zotero library.

UM Library Search Engine and Zotero (screenshot)

Click Save Items Directly to Zotero Button and Pop Up Menu

Additional instructions on adding information into your Zotero library can be found at:  http://www.zotero.org/support/getting_stuff_into_your_library.

 

 

UML Link Resolver

There are two ways to ensure that you have access to full-text materials from your Zotero records on Zotero desktop client.  One way is to set up the University of Manitoba Libraries OpenURL in Zotero Desktop client configuration.  With this configuration, you will be able to quickly check a record for each source in your Zotero Desktop using the UML Search Engine platform.  If your starting point is the UM Libraries system, this method is useful.  The other way is to install Library Access Browser Extension.  This alternative method is useful when you are most likely coming from outside of the UML system but want to take advantage of a wide range of research materials made available from the Libraries.   In this box, we will show how to configure the OpenURL. 

For Windows, click Edit pull-down menu, and select Preferences.  (For Mac, Zotero pull-down menu, select Preferences.)  This will open up Zotero Preference window [Diagram I].  Go over to Advanced section and enter "https://search.lib.umanitoba.ca/openurl/01UMB_INST/UMB?" in the box after Resolver as resolver version 1.0.  By setting up the University of Manitoba Libraries OpenURL resolver address, you can right click a Zotero record from the middle Zotero pane and select "Library Lookup" option.  It will open up the record in the University of Manitoba Libraries Search Engine.  [See Diagram II]

[Diagram I] (Note:  The address shown in the graphic is an old address; this is to show the location of where you will need to paste the above current OpenURL address.)

When looking at items in your Zotero collection, click on the green "Locate" arrow which you will see above the third column; then select "Library Lookup" to open it up in the Libraries' One Stop Search.

Green Locate Arrow Drop Down Menu

[Diagram II]

Library Access Browser Extension

Off campus?

Get on Library Access

Access your research anytime, anywhere

The Library Access browser extension makes it simple to access academic articles, journals and databases licensed by the UofM Libraries, wherever you are and whenever you need it.

Install the browser extension once and enjoy a simpler, faster way to get access. Click here to find out more or download the extension directly.

 

COTACT LIAISON LIBRARIAN
FOR SUPPORT

ASAKO YOSHIDA

(204) 474-6591 (Office)

(204) 227-3587 (Mobile)

Asako.Yoshida@Umanitoba.ca

Additional Guides

Purchase College Library has created a very thorough LibGuide on Zotero

Other sources for Zotero Guides:

 

 

 

Zotero Apps

Zandy (Android) - Edit and view Zotero libraries, add new items and work offline.

Scanner for Zotero (Android) - Add books to your Zotero library by scanning the book's barcode with your Android phone.

BibUp (iPhone) - Add books to your Zotero library by scanning the book's barcode.  Can also photograph specific pages and BibUp will perform OCR on them.

(from Zotero Blog at http://www.zotero.org/blog)

ZotFileZotfile is a Zotero plugin to manage your attachments: automatically rename, move, and attach PDFs (or other files) to Zotero items, sync PDFs from your Zotero library to your (mobile) PDF reader (e.g. an iPad, Android tablet, etc.) and extract annotations from PDF files.