The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science (Print) by
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science is the first-ever single-source reference work to inclusively cover classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science and agriculture. From the fundamentals of plant growth and reproduction to developments in agronomy and agricultural science, the encyclopedia's authoritative content nurtures communication between these academically distinct yet intrinsically related fields-offering a spread of clear, descriptive, and concise entries to optimally serve scientists, agriculturalists, policy makers, students, and the general public. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options For more information, visit Taylor and Francis Online or contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by
This new fourth edition has been completely revised and updated, covering all aspects in the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences. Over 500 new entries, including "Rosales", "physical dormancy", "menthol", and "codeine", enhance the dictionary's coverage of botanical terms, key drugs and medicines derived from plants, and plant orders, families, and genera. It also explains many ecological terms, and expands beyond plants to describe fungi and bacteria and how they affect plants. Numerous appendices include Plant Classification and SI Units, with new timelines showing important moments in plant evolution. For ease of use, vernacular plant names have been transferred to an appendix, fully cross-referenced to the A to Z entries. The dictionary's dedicated companion website points to recommended web links and additional resources. The most up-to-date dictionary available on its subject, this is an essential resource for students of plant sciences and amateur botanists, as well as an entertaining and valuable guide for the plant enthusiast.
Dictionary of Plant Breeding by
One of the oldest scientific traditions, plant breeding began in Neolithic times with methods as simple as saving the seeds of desirable plants and sowing them later. It was not until the re-encounter with Mendel's discoveries thousands of years later, the genetic basis of breeding was understood. Developments following have provided further insight into how genes acting alone or in concert with other genes and the environment, result in a particular phenotype. From Abaxial to Zymogram, the third edition of Dictionary of Plant Breeding contains clear and useful definitions of the terms associated with plant breeding and related scientific/technological disciplines. It defines jargon; provides helpful tables, examples, and breeding schemes; and includes a list of crop plants with salient details. Packed with data and organized to make that data easy to access, this revised and expanded reference provides comprehensive coverage of the latest discoveries in cytogenetics, molecular genetics, marker-assisted selection, experimental gene transfer, CRISPR technology, seed sciences, crop physiology, and genetically modified crops. Features: Provides a comprehensive list of technical terms used in plant breeding Explores the historical development of crop improvement Discusses applications of molecular genetics and biotechnology Includes numerous figures, drawings, tables, and schemes supplementing the glossary A complex subject, plant breeding draws from many scientific and technological disciplines, often making it difficult to know the precise meanings of many terms and to accurately interpret specific concepts. As in the previous editions, this dictionary unifies concepts by including the specific terms of plant breeding and terms that are adjusted from other disciplines. Drawing on Rolf Schlegel's 50 years of experience, the book provides an encyclopedic list of commonly used technical terms that reflect the latest developments in the field.
Encyclopedia of Plant Viruses and Viroids by
The Encyclopedia of Plant Viruses and Viroids provides an up-to-date information on the viruses and viroids infecting all types of cultivated and weed plants at global level; and is unique among plant virology texts as it is organized alphabetically by the genus name of the host plant infected. It allows the reader to readily determine all of the different viruses currently reported naturally infecting the plant genus and species. Information is provided for each virus and viroids on common synonyms, current taxonomic status, geographical distribution, symptoms induced, other known hosts, means of transmission and properties of both the virus particles and the genome. Where ever the same virus is known to infect multiple hosts, host-specific information, biological properties and genome characters are presented under each host affected. The index can be utilized to identify other crops infected by the same virus, showing which other crops might be at risk of infection in the event of introduction of a virus that has not previously reported in an area, or which might serve as potential virus reservoirs for infection of more sensitive or economically important crops than the host in which it is initially identified. The taxonomy and nomenclature of the viruses and viroids are followed based on the current guidelines of the 10th ICTV Report, covering up to 2018 and also about many new viruses and viroids that have been reported but not yet recognized as species by ICTV, have been included in this Encyclopedia. The uniqueness of this Encyclopedia is that all the known viruses and viroids affecting more than 1010 plant species at global level are described and the plant species are arranged in alphabetical order of the scientific name of the plant along the relevant information on 1518 viruses and viroids and is the ready-reckoner of the global plant species and their viruses and viroids for students, scientists, teachers of Plant Pathology& Virology; and also for the crop protection professionals, agricultural policymakers, seed companies and quarantine agencies.
