LibGuides: Landscape Architecture: Maps, Images, Video

Maps, Data, and GIS

GIS & Geovisualization - A guide to some of the mapping resources available through the University of Manitoba Libraries.

Data Visualization - a guide for data visualization support.

GISHub Access

Sign-in to ArcGIS Online

Access Libraries GIS data

Winnipeg Historical Maps - This Flickr collection includes maps covering Winnipeg transportation, growth and boundaries, zoning and planning, and geological engineering.

Workshops

Data Visualization Workshops on GitHub.

For more information please contact:
Meg Miller
GIS & Data Visualization Librarian Elizabeth Dafoe Library Meg.Miller@umanitoba.ca

Open Access Books on GIS

Geographic Information System Basics

Nature of Geographic Information

Spatial Thinking in Planning Practice: An Introduction to GIS

Landscape Architects

1000 x Landscape Architecture
Call Number: Q REF SB 472 A15 2009

DVD and Video Collection

In addition to video databases, UML has a DVD and Digitial Video Collection (hosted on various platforms). To search the collection, filter your library search results by selecting "video".

Gardens

Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design
Call Number: REF SB 465 E63 2001
The Garden
ISBN: 1838660763
Gardens of Europe
Call Number: REF SB 466 E9 Q53 2007
ISBN: 9781870673556
Great European Gardens: an atlas of historic plans
Call Number: REF SB 466 E9 A5351 2005
Oxford Companion to the Garden
Call Number: REF SB 450.95 O94 2006

Open Acess Video Resources

Faculty of Architecture - University of Manitoba Youtube Channel

Browse the various playlists for lectures, symposia, and other school events.

Harvard Graduate School of Design - Youtube Channel

Browse the various playlists for lectures, symposia, and other school events.

Pidgeon Digital

A collection of historical and recent talks given by some of the world's most important architectural professionals, including landscape architecture.

UBC School of Architecture + Landscape Architecture (SALA) - Youtube Channel

Browse the various playlists for lectures, symposia, and other school events.

U of M Video Database Subscriptions

NFB Education This link opens in a new window
NFB Education is the online media portal of the National Film Board of Canada, containing documentaries, animated films, interactive productions, and short films in English and French.

NFB Education contains a wide selection of study guides, a chaptering tool, and learning bundles. Content is organized around three key themes: environment and sustainability, Indigenous voices and reconciliation, and diversity and inclusion.

All users (including students), may create a personal NFB account, which will allow you to create video playlists.

Faculty and staff can unlock additional features. Contact your Subject Area Librarian for instructions on how to enable your account.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access selected videos on Kanopy, an on-demand streaming video service. Students and staff may recommend that the University of Manitoba Libraries consider acquiring Kanopy videos that will support their research and/or academic work.

Digital Databases

Gardens and Landscapes of Italy (Carl Nelson Jr. Collection) This link opens in a new window
This collection of digital images, taken over several decades, is a legacy of Carl Nelson Jr.'s love for the piazzas and cities of Italy.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides images with tools for teaching and research. Collections are comprised of contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates from all over the world. Collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian, Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies.
Pidgeon Digital This link opens in a new window
Pidgeon Digital is the online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers.

Great Buildings Collection

Open Source Images

Catena - Luna Commons Collection

Flickr: Creative Commons

The Getty Open Content Program at the Getty Search Gateway

History of Landscape Architecture

hort.net Gallery of Plants

RIBApix