The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
For computer science dictionaries, browse the QA 76 section in the Sciences and Technology Library Reference collection, or search the libraries' catalogue for the subject heading computer science - dictionaries.
FOLDOC: the free on-line dictionary of computing (online)
Computer Language Tech Encyclopedia (online)
Webopedia (online)
Tech Terms (online)
Dictionary of Computer and Internet Terms by
This updated edition includes the most recent terms relating to constantly expanding computer and internet technology. More than 3,200 terms and definitions deal with-- Practical guidance for business software users Computer security, law, and ethics Computer programming, with examples in several computer languages Social media, Internet culture, and their latest developments Previous editions of this user-friendly book have proved especially helpful to readers who feel intimidated by computer technicians' jargon. The authors clarify technical terminology while keeping to the highest standards of accuracy. One grateful reader called this book the "Rosetta Stone" for deciphering computer terms. Features many line illustrations and tables.
International Biographical Dictionary of Computer Pioneers by
First Published in 1996. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by
Praise for the previous edition:The writing style is straightforward...will serve well in public and secondary-school libraries and college libraries serving lower-level computer-science students.--Booklist...an excellent introduction to the technical and social aspects of computer science. Entries are clearly written and accessible...Highly recommended.--Choice...an excellent encyclopedia...a valuable resource...--American Reference Books AnnualOne of the most user-friendly and enlightening books for field outsiders, this handy volume promotes clear understanding of a complex subject. Highly recommended.--Library JournalInnovations in computer science and technology are proceeding at a breakneck pace in areas from Internet commerce to handheld devices to robotics. Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology, Third Edition presents accurate and comprehensive information available about this vital area that is accessible both to the professional and layperson.Covering much more than basic computer commands and procedures, Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology, Third Edition summarizes how technology has developed, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components, featuring hundred of entries that detail distinct contributions in computer development, hardware, operating systems, and networking. Helpful appendixes include a chronology of significant events in computing, a listing of achievements in the field, and brief descriptions and contact information for some important organizations in the computer field. Major corporations and organizations in the field are also covered.Entries include:Artificial intelligenceBASICBlogs and bloggingBluetoothComputer-Aided Instruction (CAI)Cooperative processingCyberterrorismData miningElectronic voting systemsFiber opticsFuzzy logicIdentity theftMashupsMicrosoft CorporationNeural interfacesOnline job searching and recruitingPascalPhishing and spoofingPodcastingIvan Edward SutherlandAlan M. TuringVirtualizationVOIPWikis and WikipediaSteven Wozniak
Encyclopedia of Computer Science by
This book presents current research in the field of computer science. Topics discussed include developing soft computing approaches for flood level forecasting; soft computing in astronomy; fuzzy linear goal programming applied to solve assets and liability management problems in banks; computer-assisted teaching on science education; inquiry web-based learning to enhance knowledge construction; new forms of and tools for co-operative learning with social software in higher education; e-technology use and abuse in university classrooms; a strategy for analysing digital epistemic games and exploring the educational possibilities of computer games.
Encyclopedia of Algorithms 2nd ed. by
The Encyclopedia of Algorithms will provide a comprehensive set of solutions to important algorithmic problems for students and researchers interested in quickly locating useful information. The first edition of the reference will focus on high-impact solutions from the most recent decade; later editions will widen the scope of the work. Nearly 500 entries will be organized alphabetically by problem, with subentries allowing for distinct solutions and special cases to be listed by the year. An entry will include: a description of the basic algorithmic problem the input and output specifications the key results examples of applications citations to the key literature. Open problems, links to downloadable code, experimental results, data sets, and illustrations may be provided. All entries will be written by experts with links to Internet sites that outline their research work will be provided. The entries will be peer-reviewed. This defining reference will be published in print and on line. The print publication will include an index of subjects and authors as well as a chronology for locating recent solutions. The online edition will supplement this index with hyperlinks as well as include hyperlinks in the text of the entries to related entries, xRefer citations, and other useful URLs mentioned above.
Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security by
With over 300 new entries, appearing in an A-Z format, this title provides access to information on various aspects of cryptography and security. Written for researchers and professionals alike, it includes key concepts such as: Authentication and identification; Block ciphers and stream ciphers; and, Computational issues.
Encyclopedia of Database Systems by
Designed to meet the needs of research scientists, professors and graduate-level students in computer science and engineering, this title offers easy access to relevant information on various aspects of very large databases. It features alphabetical organization of concepts covering main areas of very large databases.
Encyclopedia of Big Data Technologies by
The Encyclopedia of Big Data Technologies provides researchers, educators, students and industry professionals with a comprehensive authority over the most relevant Big Data Technology concepts. With over 300 articles written by worldwide subject matter experts from both industry and academia, the encyclopedia covers topics such as big data storage systems, NoSQL database, cloud computing, distributed systems, data processing, data management, machine learning and social technologies, data science. Each peer-reviewed, highly structured entry provides the reader with basic terminology, subject overviews, key research results, application examples, future directions, cross references and a bibliography. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals. In addition, the distinguished, international editorial board of the encyclopedia consists of well-respected scholars, each developing topics based upon their expertise.
Encyclopedia of Social Network Analysis and Mining by
Social Network Analysis and Mining Encyclopedia (ESNAM) is the first major reference work to integrate fundamental concepts and research directions in the areas of social networks and applications to data mining. The second edition of ESNAM is a truly outstanding reference appealing to researchers, practitioners, instructors and students (both undergraduate and graduate), as well as the general public. This updated reference integrates all basics concepts and research efforts under one umbrella. Coverage has been expanded to include new emerging topics such as crowdsourcing, opinion mining, and sentiment analysis. Revised content of existing material keeps the encyclopedia current. The second edition is intended for college students as well as public and academic libraries. It is anticipated to continue to stimulate more awareness of social network applications and research efforts. The advent of electronic communication, and in particular on-line communities, have created social networks of hitherto unimaginable sizes. Reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of this unique field, the essential contributions of diverse disciplines, from computer science, mathematics, and statistics to sociology and behavioral science, are described among the 300 authoritative yet highly readable entries. Students will find a world of information and insight behind the familiar façade of the social networks in which they participate. Researchers and practitioners will benefit from a comprehensive perspective on the methodologies for analysis of constructed networks, and the data mining and machine learning techniques that have proved attractive for sophisticated knowledge discovery in complex applications. Also addressed is the application of social network methodologies to other domains, such as web networks and biological networks.
Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining by
This authoritative, expanded and updated second edition of Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining provides easy access to core information for those seeking entry into any aspect within the broad field of Machine Learning and Data Mining. A paramount work, its 800 entries - about 150 of them newly updated or added - are filled with valuable literature references, providing the reader with a portal to more detailed information on any given topic. Topics for the Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining include Learning and Logic, Data Mining, Applications, Text Mining, Statistical Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Pattern Mining, Graph Mining, Relational Mining, Evolutionary Computation, Information Theory, Behavior Cloning, and many others. Topics were selected by a distinguished international advisory board. Each peer-reviewed, highly-structured entry includes a definition, key words, an illustration, applications, a bibliography, and links to related literature. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals who employ machine learning and data mining methods in their projects. Machine learning and data mining techniques have countless applications, including data science applications, and this reference is essential for anyone seeking quick access to vital information on the topic.
