The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
This is just a selection of our collection of computer science handbooks:
Computer and Information Security Handbook, 3rd ed. by
Computer and Information Security Handbook, Third Edition, provides the most current and complete reference on computer security available in one volume. The book offers deep coverage of an extremely wide range of issues in computer and cybersecurity theory, applications, and best practices, offering the latest insights into established and emerging technologies and advancements. With new parts devoted to such current topics as Cloud Security, Cyber-Physical Security, and Critical Infrastructure Security, the book now has 100 chapters written by leading experts in their fields, as well as 12 updated appendices and an expanded glossary. It continues its successful format of offering problem-solving techniques that use real-life case studies, checklists, hands-on exercises, question and answers, and summaries. Chapters new to this edition include such timely topics as Cyber Warfare, Endpoint Security, Ethical Hacking, Internet of Things Security, Nanoscale Networking and Communications Security, Social Engineering, System Forensics, Wireless Sensor Network Security, Verifying User and Host Identity, Detecting System Intrusions, Insider Threats, Security Certification and Standards Implementation, Metadata Forensics, Hard Drive Imaging, Context-Aware Multi-Factor Authentication, Cloud Security, Protecting Virtual Infrastructure, Penetration Testing, and much more. Online chapters can also be found on the book companion website: https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128038437
Cryptography, Information Theory, and Error-Correction by
CRYPTOGRAPHY, INFORMATION THEORY, AND ERROR-CORRECTION A rich examination of the technologies supporting secure digital information transfers from respected leaders in the field As technology continues to evolve Cryptography, Information Theory, and Error-Correction: A Handbook for the 21ST Century is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in the secure exchange of financial information. Identity theft, cybercrime, and other security issues have taken center stage as information becomes easier to access. Three disciplines offer solutions to these digital challenges: cryptography, information theory, and error-correction, all of which are addressed in this book. This book is geared toward a broad audience. It is an excellent reference for both graduate and undergraduate students of mathematics, computer science, cybersecurity, and engineering. It is also an authoritative overview for professionals working at financial institutions, law firms, and governments who need up-to-date information to make critical decisions. The book's discussions will be of interest to those involved in blockchains as well as those working in companies developing and applying security for new products, like self-driving cars. With its reader-friendly style and interdisciplinary emphasis this book serves as both an ideal teaching text and a tool for self-learning for IT professionals, statisticians, mathematicians, computer scientists, electrical engineers, and entrepreneurs. Six new chapters cover current topics like Internet of Things security, new identities in information theory, blockchains, cryptocurrency, compression, cloud computing and storage.  Increased security and applicable research in elliptic curve cryptography are also featured. The book also: Shares vital, new research in the field of information theory Provides quantum cryptography updates Includes over 350 worked examples and problems for greater understanding of ideas. Cryptography, Information Theory, and Error-Correction guides readers in their understanding of reliable tools that can be used to store or transmit digital information safely.
The Handbook of Data Communications and Networks by
02. 2 Network topologies 744 02. 3 Token ring 747 02. 4 Ethernet 749 02. 5 LAN components 752 02. 6 Cabling standards 762 02. 7 Important networking definitions 769 03 Ethernet 771 03. 1 Introduction 771 03. 2 IEEE standards 772 03. 3 Ethernet-media access control (MAC) layer 773 03. 4 IEEE 802. 2 and Ethernet SNAP 775 03. 5 OSI and the IEEE 802. 3 standard 777 03. 6 Ethernet types 780 03. 7 Twisted-pair hubs 781 03. 8 100 Mbps Ethernet 782 03. 9 Gigabit Ethernet 787 03. 10 Bridges 792 03. 11 ARP 793 03. 12 RARP 797 03. 13 Spanning-Tree Protocol 798 03. 14 Additional 799 03. 15 Network interface card design BOO 03. 16 82559-based Ethernet 804 03. 17 Comparison of fast Ethernet with other technologies 806 04 Network Design, Switches and vLANs 807 04. 1 Introduction 807 04. 2 Network design 807 04. 3 Hierarchical network design 809 04. 4 Switches and switching hubs 814 04. 5 vlANs 818 05 Token Ring 825 05. 1 Introduction 825 05. 2 Operation 825 05. 3 Token Ring-media access control (MAC) 826 05. 4 Token Ring maintenance 828 05. 5 Token Ring multistation access units (MAUs) 829 05. 6 Cabling and connectors 830 05. 7 Repeaters 830 05. 8 Jitter suppression 831 06 FDDI 833 06. 1 Introduction 833 06. 2 Operation 834 06. 3 FOOl layers 834 06. 4 SMT protocol 836 06. 5 Physical connection management 836 06.
Handbook of Digital Games and Entertainment Technologies by
The topics treated in this handbook cover all areas of games and entertainment technologies, such as digital entertainment; technology, design/art, and sociology. The handbook consists of contributions from top class scholars and researchers from the interdisciplinary topic areas. The aim of this handbook is to serving as a key reference work in the field and provides readers with a holistic picture of this interdisciplinary field covering technical issues, aesthetic/design issues, and sociological issues. At present, there is no reference work in the field that provides such a broad and complete picture of the field. Engineers and researchers who want to learn about this emerging area will be able to find adequate answers regarding technology issues on digital entertainment. Designers and artists can learn how their skills and expertise can contribute to this emerging area. Also researchers working in the field of sociology and psychology will find how their experience and knowledge are connected to other areas such as technology and art/design. Although topics are written by foremost experts from the field, the description for each topic has been intended to be easily understandable but yet comprehensive enough so that it caters not only for the experts but also beginners and students in the field.
Handbook of Floating-Point Arithmetic by
Floating-point arithmetic is the most widely used way of implementing real-number arithmetic on modern computers. However, making such an arithmetic reliable and portable, yet fast, is a very difficult task. As a result, floating-point arithmetic is far from being exploited to its full potential. This handbook aims to provide a complete overview of modern floating-point arithmetic. So that the techniques presented can be put directly into practice in actual coding or design, they are illustrated, whenever possible, by a corresponding program. The handbook is designed for programmers of numerical applications, compiler designers, programmers of floating-point algorithms, designers of arithmetic operators, and more generally, students and researchers in numerical analysis who wish to better understand a tool used in their daily work and research.
Handbook of Metaheuristics by
The third edition of this handbook is designed to provide a broad coverage of the concepts, implementations, and applications in metaheuristics. The book's chapters serve as stand-alone presentations giving both the necessary underpinnings as well as practical guides for implementation. The nature of metaheuristics invites an analyst to modify basic methods in response to problem characteristics, past experiences, and personal preferences, and the chapters in this handbook are designed to facilitate this process as well. This new edition has been fully revised and features new chapters on swarm intelligence and automated design of metaheuristics from flexible algorithm frameworks. The authors who have contributed to this volume represent leading figures from the metaheuristic community and are responsible for pioneering contributions to the fields they write about. Their collective work has significantly enriched the field of optimization in general and combinatorial optimization in particular. Metaheuristics are solution methods that orchestrate an interaction between local improvement procedures and higher level strategies to create a process capable of escaping from local optima and performing a robust search of a solution space. In addition, many new and exciting developments and extensions have been observed in the last few years. Hybrids of metaheuristics with other optimization techniques, like branch-and-bound, mathematical programming or constraint programming are also increasingly popular. On the front of applications, metaheuristics are now used to find high-quality solutions to an ever-growing number of complex, ill-defined real-world problems, in particular combinatorial ones. This handbook should continue to be a great reference for researchers, graduate students, as well as practitioners interested in metaheuristics.
Handbook of Neural Computation by
Handbook of Neural Computation explores neural computation applications, ranging from conventional fields of mechanical and civil engineering, to electronics, electrical engineering and computer science. This book covers the numerous applications of artificial and deep neural networks and their uses in learning machines, including image and speech recognition, natural language processing and risk analysis. Edited by renowned authorities in this field, this work is comprised of articles from reputable industry and academic scholars and experts from around the world. Each contributor presents a specific research issue with its recent and future trends. As the demand rises in the engineering and medical industries for neural networks and other machine learning methods to solve different types of operations, such as data prediction, classification of images, analysis of big data, and intelligent decision-making, this book provides readers with the latest, cutting-edge research in one comprehensive text. Features high-quality research articles on multivariate adaptive regression splines, the minimax probability machine, and more Discusses machine learning techniques, including classification, clustering, regression, web mining, information retrieval and natural language processing Covers supervised, unsupervised, reinforced, ensemble, and nature-inspired learning methods
The Handook of Formal Methods in Human-Computer Interaction by
This book provides a comprehensive collection of methods and approaches for using formal methods within Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) research, the use of which is a prerequisite for usability and user-experience (UX) when engineering interactive systems. World-leading researchers present methods, tools and techniques to design and develop reliable interactive systems, offering an extensive discussion of the current state-of-the-art with case studies which highlight relevant scenarios and topics in HCI as well as presenting current trends and gaps in research and future opportunities and developments within this emerging field. The Handbook of Formal Methods in Human-Computer Interaction is intended for HCI researchers and engineers of interactive systems interested in facilitating formal methods into their research or practical work.
An Information Security Handbook by
This book is geared at postgraduate courses on managing and designing information systems. It concentrates primarily on security in military systems and looks at the different goals organizations might have in employing security techniques and which techniques are best suited to achieving certain goals. The book provides answers to questions such as What is security? and What are the security problems particular to an IT system? It is essential reading for students on final year undergraduate courses and MSc courses on Information Systems, Management of Information Systems, and Design of Information Systems. The text is up-to-date and includes implications which arose from the Y2K date change.
The InfoSec Handbook by
The InfoSec Handbook offers the reader an organized layout of information that is easily read and understood. Allowing beginners to enter the field and understand the key concepts and ideas, while still keeping the experienced readers updated on topics and concepts. It is intended mainly for beginners to the field of information security, written in a way that makes it easy for them to understand the detailed content of the book. The book offers a practical and simple view of the security practices while still offering somewhat technical and detailed information relating to security. It helps the reader build a strong foundation of information, allowing them to move forward from the book with a larger knowledge base. Security is a constantly growing concern that everyone must deal with. Whether it's an average computer user or a highly skilled computer user, they are always confronted with different security risks. These risks range in danger and should always be dealt with accordingly. Unfortunately, not everyone is aware of the dangers or how to prevent them and this is where most of the issues arise in information technology (IT). When computer users do not take security into account many issues can arise from that like system compromises or loss of data and information. This is an obvious issue that is present with all computer users. This book is intended to educate the average and experienced user of what kinds of different security practices and standards exist. It will also cover how to manage security software and updates in order to be as protected as possible from all of the threats that they face.
Handbook of Computability and Complexity in Analysis by
Computable analysis is the modern theory of computability and complexity in analysis that arose out of Turing's seminal work in the 1930s. This was motivated by questions such as: which real numbers and real number functions are computable, and which mathematical tasks in analysis can be solved by algorithmic means? Nowadays this theory has many different facets that embrace topics from computability theory, algorithmic randomness, computational complexity, dynamical systems, fractals, and analog computers, up to logic, descriptive set theory, constructivism, and reverse mathematics. In recent decades computable analysis has invaded many branches of analysis, and researchers have studied computability and complexity questions arising from real and complex analysis, functional analysis, and the theory of differential equations, up to (geometric) measure theory and topology. This handbook represents the first coherent cross-section through most active research topics on the more theoretical side of the field. It contains 11 chapters grouped into parts on computability in analysis; complexity, dynamics, and randomness; and constructivity, logic, and descriptive complexity. All chapters are written by leading experts working at the cutting edge of the respective topic. Researchers and graduate students in the areas of theoretical computer science and mathematical logic will find systematic introductions into many branches of computable analysis, and a wealth of information and references that will help them to navigate the modern research literature in this field.
