Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Healthcare Apps Toolkit: Drugs

The best free or nearly free apps for healthcare including point of care, drug, medical calculators, healthcare specialities, keeping current (browsing tables of content of journals or monitoring RSS feeds), for patients, and for productivity.

Drug Apps

Drug reference tools are some of the most popular and useful apps for heatlhcare providers.  Apps answer frequent bedside drug questions such as the proper dosing, pharmacology, adverse side effects, drug –drug interactions,  pregnancy safety and formulary issues.  

Lexicomp

LexiComp LogoType of AppDrug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices
 

Full-text collection of 15 clinical drug information databases, and over 1600 drug monographs. Includes an excellent tool for checking drug interactions.  A limited number of accounts are available through Library's subscription. Due to limited number of licenses, the app access restricted to certain categories of health sciences students and to faculty. To access and install please read through the following and submit and application form:

RxTx

Type of AppDrug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

RxTx is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, providing health care professionals with online and mobile access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information. Installation instructions:

  1. Go to http://umanitoba.ca.uml.idm.oclc.org/libraries/elibrary/etitles/index.php?title=538  and get the UML Organization Code
  2. Go to: www.pharmacists.ca/register4rxtx and register using the Organization Code and either a umanitoba.ca or myumanitoba.ca email address
  3. Once your registration is complete, go to the Apple/Google Play App Store from your smartphone/tablet and search for RxTx Mobile
  4. Once installed, enter your email address and the password created during registration to activate the app

Access Pharmacy

AccessPharmacy LogoType of App: Drug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Mobile friendly website which is optimized to smart phones. Installation instructions:

More than 30 references that are central to pharmacy education including the complete current edition of the most comprehensive text on pharmacotherapy available today, DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach

  1. Go the UM Libraries A to Z Database Listing
  2. Look for the link to Access Pharmacy in A Section
  3. Bookmark the URL to this mobile friendly website
  4. Alternatively, for iPhones add to your homescreen by tapping on the Sharing Icon and then Add to Home Screen.
    Image of iPhone's share icon

Drug Information Portal (free)

Drug Information Portal - logoType of App: Drug
Cost: Free
Availability: Anyone
Access: Mobile friendly website which is optimized to smart phones.

A mobile interface to information for over 31,000 drugs. Names, usage, and structures are displayed, as well as search links to key National Library of Medicine and U.S. government sites, using their mobile version when available. Spell checking and autosuggest are used during input.

  1. Go the NLM Drug Information Portal website
  2. Bookmark the URL to this mobile friendly website
  3. Alternatively, for iPhones add to your homescreen by tapping on the Sharing Icon and then Add to Home Screen.

Epocrates (free)

epocrates logoType of AppDrug
Cost: Free for some content; Additional content for a fee
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

The free version has pill pictures and a unique easy to use pill identification program. There is a dose calculator, selected formulary lists and a robust drug-drug interaction checker. There are over-the-counter (OTC) medications included but herbals are only in the paid subscription version. Drugs can be listed by generic or trade name or by class.

Health Canada Recalls & Safety Alerts (free)

Type of AppDrug and Reference
Cost
: Free 
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

The Recalls and Safety Alerts app provides easy access to a comprehensive list of recalls, advisories, and safety alerts. This web application includes recalls from Health Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, and Transport Canada.  Health products section providees informaiton on recalled drugs, herbals, and supplements.

LactMed (free)

Type of AppDrug 
Cost
: Free 
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play

Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.  Produced by U.S. National Library of Medicine's Toxicology Network to serve as a reference for drugs and dietary supplements that may affect breastfed infants 

The Medical Letter

Type of AppDrug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

The Medical Letter publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs in its newsletters The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter. The Medical Letter relies on a consensus of experts to evaluate drug facts in order to help prescribers choose the most effective drug treatment.  Includes a Drug Index.

  1. Go the NJM Health Sciences Library Website
  2. Go to the Databases tab and then Databases A to Z Section.  Select L-N Section to locate Medical Letter
  3. Once you are connected to Medical Letter, look for Mobile Apps link in the menu on the left of the screen.
  4. Enter the required information and create a login and password for Medical Letter.
  5. Visit iTunes or Google Play Store and download Medical Letter. The app is free but you must enter the login and password you created in Medical Letter (step 4) to activate the app. 

 

Micromedex

Type of AppDrug
Cost: $3.49 
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

Concise information on 4500+ medications with detailed information including Pharmacokinetics, monitoring, toxicology and clinical teaching pearls. There is no dosing calculator, formulary information or drug-drug interaction checker.

Opioids & Opiates Calculators

Opioid Manager

Type of AppDrug 
Cost: $9.99 
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes 

The Opioid Manager can be used as a point of care tool for providers prescribing opioids for patients with chronic non-cancer pain. It condenses key elements from the Canadian Opioid Guideline. It addresses four clinical areas: A- Before you write the first script, B- How to conduct an opioid trial, C- How to monitor a patient on chronic opioid therapy, and D- When and How to stop opioids.

NPC Opioid Guidelines (free)

Type of AppDrug 
Cost: Free
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using Google Play

The practice recommendations in the Canadian Guideline assist physicians to use opioids effectively and safely for chronic non-cancer pain. This clinical practice guideline will also help patients to be informed about the potential benefits and risks of opioids, and enable other healthcare providers to be aware of roles they can play to achieve desired patient outcomes.