LibGuides: Irene Knysh fonds: MSS 270, PC 229 (A.09-52)

Irene Knysh was a feminist, journalist, and author of many books on the Ukrainian women’s movement. She is well known not only among the Ukrainian Diaspora in Canada and America, but also in Ukraine. Irene Knysh was born on April 20, 1909 in Lviv, Ukraine to Dmytro and Anastazia Shkvarkiv. In 1933 she graduated from the Lviv University with the Master’s degree in Philosophy. She was fluent in many languages (Ukrainian, Polish, French, German, and English). After her graduation, she became a professor of linguistics and taught at the various secondary schools in Lviv and Premysl. During the 1930’s, she collaborated with the Ukrainian Military Organization (UVO) and Ukrainian Patriotic Organization (OUN). In 1939 she married Zynovii Knysh, a political and community activist. Her son George Knysh was born in 1940. During the WWII, a family lived in Cracow, Lviv, and Austria. After the war they moved to France, where Irene Knysh became the Head of the Ukrainian Women’s Alliance in France. In 1950 she immigrated to Winnipeg, Canada and worked as a journalist for various Ukrainian newspapers: Kanadiis’kyi Farmer, Novyi shliakh, Zhinoche Svitlo, Promin, Ukrains’kyi Holos (Canada); Svoboda, Samostiina Ukraina, Nashe Zhyttia (US); Ukrains’ke Slovo (France). She wrote extensively on the Ukrainian women’s movement. She is considered the archivist of the Ukrainian Diaspora on the American continent. Her books are well known also in Ukraine. Her major works include: Na sluzhbi ridnoho narodu: iuvileinyi zbirnyk Orhanizatsii Ukrainok Kanady im. Ol’hy Basarab; Ivan Franko ta rivnopravnist’ zhinky, 1956 (Ivan Franko and Equal Rights for Women.); Smoloskyp u temriavi, 1957 (Torch in the Darkness); Patriotyzm Anny Ionker; Zhinka vchora i s’ohodni,1964 (Collection of articles published in various Ukrainian newspapers); Nezabutnia Ol’ha Basarab, 1976 (Unforgettable Olha Basarab); Try rovesnytsi, 1860-1960, 1966 (Three Ukrainian Contemporaries).Irene Knysh was one of the first Ukrainian-Canadian woman to be included in the Ukrainian Literary Encyclopaedia (Kyiv, 1990). She visited Ukraine in 1970, her book Vich-na-vich iz Ukrainoiu , 1970, was a reflection of her journey. After Ukraine Independence (1991), she was elected a member of the Ukrainian Women’s Alliance in Lviv, Ukraine (2005) and in her honour a scientific conference took place in June 4, 2005. Irene Knysh passed away on May 11, 2006.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of Irene Knysh's biographical information, her articles and research material pertaining to her writings (Ukrainian women's movement in Canada and America), and her photograph collection.

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into four series and a photograph collection (PC 229, A.09-52)

1. Biographical info
2. Irene Knysh's articles and notes
3. Correspondence
4. Research material
PC 229, A.09-52

Restrictions on Access

No restriction on access.

Restrictions on Use

No restriction on use.

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by George Knysh of the Department of Political Studies at the University of Manitoba (I. Knysh's son) in 2009.

Other Finding Aids

Mss 270, PC 229, A.08-78

Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical info

Box	Folder
1	1	Biographical info "Irena Knysh i ii try rovesnytsi" by Iryna Pelens'ka, 1970 Excerpt from "Ukrains'ka literaturna entsyklopediia" - biography "Vyznachni zhinky Ukrainy" - Fedir Pohrebennyk

Irene Knysh's articles and notes, 1963-1988

Box	Folder
1	2	"Esaias Tegner i Ukraina", 1968 or 1969 Poster - I. Knysh's speech, Winnipeg, 1963 - re: Olena Stepaniv
	3	"90-richchia ukrains'koho zhinochoho rukhu", 1974
	4	"Nemerknuchyi podvyh Ol'hy Basarab", 1974 (newspaper clippings from Svoboda, 1974, no.119-120)
	5	Articles, 1980-1983 " Mgr. Iaroslav Bodnar: u pershu rinytsiu smerty", 1980 "V. Moroz zaklykaie do iednosty: vlasna korespondentsiia z Maiami", 1981 incomplete article re: Ukrainian Women Congress in New York (the 50th anniversary), 1982 "Ridna shkola v Maiami" - Svoboda, 1982, no.38 "Rushii mnohokul'turnosty v Kanadi" , 1983
	6	Articles and notes - Mariia Bashkirtseva, 1984 "Stolittia smerty Marii Bashkirtsevoi, 1884-1984" Research material from Bibliotheque Nationale, France
	7	Material for the article "Z galerii nashykh pionerok" - incomplete
	8	"Eleanor Ruzvelt i holod v Ukraini", 1984
	9	"Nazustrich druhomu storichchiu" - Ukrainian Women's Movement, 1984
	10	"Iuvilei sv. Metodiia i ukraintsi", 1985 (newspaper clippings from "Novyi Shliakh", no.20-24, 1985)
	11	"Ukrainets' na mizhnarodn'omu kongresi Mediievistiv", 1985
	12	"Alielia-Neli Levenets" - St. Andrew's College, University of Manitoba (obituary) 1987 (see the correspondence with Prof. Aponiuk)
	13	"Zanedbanyi Iuvilei" - Ivan Mazepa, 1987"Do iuvileiu velykoho het'mana" (newspaper clippings from Svoboda, no.249-230, 1987)
	14	"Naukovyi vstup do sviatkuvan' Tysiacholittia v Pivdennii Florydi",1988 (re: Prof. B. Kochmaryk)
	15	"Iidkhodiat' naikrashchi...", 1988 (re: Anna Petrun'ko-Stasiv)
	16	"105 - Richnia rovesnytsia ukrains'koho zhinochoho rukhu Ol'ha Oleksandra Dychymins'ka", 1988 (includes articles re: O. Dychymins'ka's)
	17	Research material - re: Nataliia Kobryns'ka - articles from "Nashe zhyttia", 1951
	18	I. Knysh's notebooks, 1960's, 1980's
	19	Reviews of "Vidhuky chasu" , 1972-1973 (reviews done by Vira Ke, Irena Pelens'ka, Evheniia Kohut, Luka Lutsiv)
	20	I. Knysh's review of "Rik v zhytti ukrains'koi zhinky-hospodyni" by O. Kimpins'ka, 1967

Correspondence 1947-1995

Box	Folder
1	21	Correspondence I. Knysh's letter to Mykhai Tertakovyi An invitation letter to attend a reunion of U.A.G. L'viv in Hunter, N.Y. by I.V. Kobziar, 1968 Excerpt from Zynovii Knysh's letter to Mark Antonovych, 1991. Draft of a letter from Irena Knysh to Nadia Surovtsevk, 1977
	22	Irene Knysh's correspondence during her stay in France, 1947-1950 (includes research material, Milena Rudnycky's letters, O. Teliha's article; Ukrainian Women’s Alliance correspondence)
	23	Zynovii Knysh to Irene Knysh, 1953, 1961 (includes a letter from "Kanadiis'kyi farmer", 1961)
	24	I. Knysh's notebook - English courses, 1955-56
	25	Correspondence received by I. Knysh Correspondence from the British Museum, 1964 Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies - re: Encyclopedia of Ukraine - Irene Knysh and Zynovii Knysh - biographies, 1985 Sketch of I. Knysh by Olivtsevyi
	26	Correspondence received by I. Knysh, 1958-77 M. Keywan, 1970 D. Hawryluk, 1975 O. Kanats'ka, 1972 Z. Pawlovych, 1958 S. Berezovs'ka, 1962
	27	V. Avramenko's letters to I. Knysh, 1975-1977 (includes Kal'ba's letter (Ukrainian Canadian Committee) to Avramenko, 1980)
	28	Niagara Fall Art Gallery & Musem re:William Kurelek, 1974
2	1	Correspondence written by I. Knysh, 1950-57 Mrs. Braier, 1950 Ukrainian Women's Alliance in France, 1950 Olena Kysilevska, 1950 Olena Lotots'ka, 1950 L. Burachyns'ka, 1950 or 1951 Mrs. Fenyk, 1950 Mr. Kutsyn, 1950's John Hodiak, 1951 I. Knysh's letter re: Dr. Iulian Vassyian, 1953 Form letter re: "Smoloskyp u temriavi" publication, 1957
	2	Correspondence written by I. Knysh, 1960-1979 P. Tyshovnyts'kyi, 1960 Andrii Mel'nyk, 1960 Irena Kaliuzhna, 1962 Volodymyr Mashchak, 1962 Irena Pelens'ka, 1966 I. Knysh's note re: Dora Dobrians'ka Draft of the letter re: Ukrainian Publishing Houses in Canada, 1967 B. Melnyshyn, 1967 Mrs. Keivan's letter and I. Knysh's letter (draft) to Mrs. Keivan, 1967 KUK, Winnipeg, 1968 P.S. Zalozets'ka, 1970 Iaroslav Botiuk, 1971 O. Matla, 1971 Vira Yuzyk, 1971 Draft of the letter to Iaroslava Kulish (Oksana Kerch), 1971, includes a picture of O. Kerch Form letter re: "Vidhuky chasu" publication, 1972 I. Knysh's note re: "Ol'ha Basarab" publication, 1973 or 1974 Milena Rudnycka re: "Ol'ha Basarab" publication, 1974 Mariia Levyts'ka re: "Ol'ha Basarab" publication, 1975 I. Knysh's letter (draft) to a librarian in New York re: "Ol'ha Basarab" publication, ca.1975 I. Knysh's letter (draft) to Mrs. Olia, 1976 M. Melnykovich, 1978 Sofiia Protsiv, 1979
	3	Correspondence written by I. Knysh, 1980-1996 Daria ???, 1979, includes Iaroslav Bondar's obituary Stefaniia Abrahamovska, 1980-81 Tsehelskyi (Cehelsky), 1982 Sviatomyr Fostun, 1985 Ievheniia Dumka (Kis'), 1985 Nadia Malanchuk (World Federation of Ukrainian Women's Organizations), 1985-87 Odarka Zoshchuk-L'oner re: Iryna Zoshchuk-Prisnevs'ka's obituary, 1986 N. Blanarovych, 1986 B. Kravchenko re: "Z galerii nashykh pionerok" publication, 1986 KUK, Winnipeg, re: "Z galerii nashykh pionerok" publication, 1989 I. Matsiuk - Hrytsai, 1980's Fedir Pohrebennyk, 1992 Wasylyszyn re: Fedir Pohrebennyk, 1996 Lubomir Lutsiuk, 1994 (draft) Mrs. Olia (Sumakh, Ukraine) re: Lysty do I. Knysh -Mariia Bashkirtsev, 1995 (draft) Samchyshyn, M., 1996 Ukrainian Women Organization (OUK=OYK) in Toronto re: publication of "Z galerii nashykh pionerok", 1984 (draft) Halyna Kharchuk re: condominium, Miami Beach, 1981
	4	Mariia Okhrymovych's letters to I. Knysh, 1952-1994
	5	Regina Wexler's letters to I. Knysh, 1987-1989 (Miami Beach)
	6	Sarah Cooper's letters to I. Knysh, 1974-1984 Memoirs of Sarah Cooper from WWII - Jewish experience, Poland (includes photographs of S. Cooper - Miami Beach)

Research material

Box	Folder
2	7	"Pershi kroky" - I. Budenko's unpublished manuscript about Vasyl Avramennko, 1930 (photocopy)
	8	"Lystopadovyi zruv i nashi suchasni zavdannia" by B. F. Korchmaryk
	9	Ievhenia Sytnyk's speeches, 1960's
	10	British Museum Reading Room Requests, 1964
	11	"Mazepa" by G. Byron, 1929 (translated to Ukrainian by Zahula, photocopy)
	12	Research material - articles from "Dziennik Polski" re: UVAN publications and Canadian events, Februuary 20, 1963
	13	Invoices and correspondence - I. Knysh's publications, 1956-58

Pc 229 (A.09 - 52)

Box	Folder
1	1	Irene Knysh, 1949-1975 (33 photographs) 1. Paris, Feb. 1949 2. Winnipeg, May 2, 1975 3. Amsterdam, November 1976 4. Grand Beach, Manitoba, Summer 1956 5 - 7. Irene Knysh and Zynovich Knysh at Disneyland, September 1960 8. Irene Knysh, Yevhenia Verbytzka and Ukrainian friends in Toronto, ca. early 1960's 9. Irene Knysh and Levka Romanyk, Toronto, 1960's 10-11. Irene Knysh in the courtyard of the British Museum, London, Spring 1960 12. Thames, 1964 13. Drury Lane Theatre, 1964 14.Windsor Castle, August 28, 1964 15. Ottawa, July 1966 16. Arizona, December 1969 17. Japanese Garden Miami, Winter 1970-77 18. St. Augustine, Florida, May 1971 19. "The land of midnight sun", Kiruna, Sweden, June 1968 20. Island of Capri, July 1968 21. Japanese Garden Miami, Winter 1970-1971 22. Cape Canaveral, Florida, 1970-71 23 -24. Lester Beach cottage, 1971 25 -27. Irene Knysh at the meeting of the Ukrainian Women's Book Club, Winnipeg, ca. 1971 28. Lester Beach cottage, 1971 29. Papal Palace at Avignon, France, June 1975 30 - 33. Irene Knysh with Stefanyia Abrahamovs'ka, Miami, May 1979
	2	Irene Knysh, 1963-1979 (18 photographs) 1. George Washington's birthplace, May 1979 2. Hights north of Phoenix, Arizona, 1966 3. Irene Knysh with a group of Ukrainian friends at Miami Beach, 1970's 4 - 5 . Norwood, Manitoba, 226 Hoorace St., January, 1970 6. Irene Knysh on the road, Watertown, South Dakota, January 1970 7. Hawaii, December 1969 8. Irene Knysh with her son George Knysh, the British Museum, London, 1968 9. Stratford, Spring 1964 (Shakespeare's 400th Anniversary) 10. Irene Knysh with Irena Kalka at Expo 68', Summer 1968 11. Lapp village of Northern Sweeden, June 1968 12. Stockholm, the statue of Charles XII, June 1968 13. Irene Knysh at the meeting of the Ukrainian Women's Association of the Great Britain, June 1968 14-18. Irene Knysh with her husband Dr. Zynovyi Knysh, Florida, October 1963
	3	Ukrainian Women's Association, Winnipeg, 1916 (the first Canadian Ukrainian Women's Association) 1. Anastaziia Ziubrets'ka with Family 2 - 5. Unidentified early photos of activists, 1916 6-7.Ukrainian Women's Association members at the picnic, 1917 8. F. Bodnar and a friend
	4	Ukrainian Women's Association, Winnipeg, 1916 1. Irene Knysh with surviving members of the first Ukrainian Women's Association in Winnipeg, Canada, 1967
	5	Photographs used in I. Knysh's book " Patryotyzm Anny Ionker", 1930's 1. Maria Skubova 2. Semen Kovbel'
	6	Ukrainian Women's Movement, 1920's - 1970's 1. Natalia Kobryns'ka, 1920's 2. Ukrainian Women's Choir - Ol'ha Pavlova, Miami, 1976 3-8. Cemetery, Menton, French Riviera - Olena Dobrohraiv (1888), 1965 9-10. Cemetery, Paris - Maria Bashkirtseva, 1964
	7	Volodymyr Kulish, 1978
	8	Ukrainian Bishops at St. Cyril and Methodius Commemorative Mass in St. Peter's Basilica, Rom, 1985 (2 photographs, copyright - L'osservatore Romano citta's del Vaticano, Servizio Fotografico, Arturo Mari)
	9	Class picture, College for girls in Peremyshl, Ukraine, 1938 (Professor Irene Knysh - second row, 3rd from the left)