Women have provided invaluable contributions to the development of Canada's education system. Through a brief examination of the history of women in education and the presentation of accompanying digitized archival material, this website is intended to detail the successes of women in the field of education, as well as the difficulties faced by many of these women in their chosen field, such as overcoming gender inequality in the workforce.
Over 3000 textual, photographic, audio, and visual records from the holdings of the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, the Ukrainian Catholic Archeparchy of Winnipeg Archives, and the Societé Historique de Saint-Boniface pertaining to the topic of women in education have been digitized for this site.
Click on the menu headings on the left to view a brief history for each topic. When you click on the title of a particular fonds beneath each heading you will be presented with a description of the digitized material from that fonds and a link to the digitized items.
The Women and Education Interactive Site allows users to make their own contributions to the history of women in education. Submit your own reminiscences, histories, or comments pertaining to women and education and help contribute to this relatively unexplored segment of Canadian history.
We acknowledge the financial support of the Department of Canadian Heritage through the Canadian Culture Online Program, Library and Archives Canada and the Canadian Council of Archives.
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Ukrainian Catholic Archeparchy of Winnipeg Archives
Societé Historique de Saint-Boniface