The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Ua 27 (A.89-32)
Title: Faculty of Arts fonds, Institute for Social and Economic Research Series.
Dates: 1980-1986.
Extent: 5.5 m of textual records.
Administrative history: In response to the need for research in the social sciences, the Institute for Social and Economic Research was established in 1980. Core funding of $900,000 over a five-year period was provided by Heath and Welfare Canada to fund the Institute's staff in working to make the MINCOME (Manitoba Income) data, collected in the mid 1970s, more accessible to researchers. The Institute assembled study teams of social scientists and computer and statistical professionals at the University. The Institute also maintained a machine-readable database library consisting of selected series from Statistics Canada, the census, the MINCOME database and the Winnipeg Area study. In 1986, the Institute established the Manitoba Omnibus Service to provide a polling service to clients with limited budgets and to provide the Institute with a source of revenue. In February 1987, the Board of Governors endorsed a Senate recommendation that the Institute be formally dissolved as an academic research unit of the university and instead be operated as the Social Science Division of the University's research company.
Custodial history: The series was acquired by the University of Manitoba Libraries Collections Development following the dissolvement of the Institute in 1987. The material was transferred to Archives & Special Collections in 1989.
Scope and content: The series contains the records of the Institute for the period when it was an academic research unit of the Faculty of Arts. The records contain staff, advisory committee and editorial board meeting minutes and correspondence, annual reports, research proposals, budget submissions, research reports, and research data related to the numerous projects undertaken by the Institute.
Restrictions: There are no restrictions on this material.
Finding aid: A finding aid is available in the Archives' InMagic database.