Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

William Neville fonds: MSS 104, PC 111, TC 72 (A.86-30, A.88-27, A.88-35, A.90-58, A.91-38, A.93-64, A.94-32, A.95-13)

William Neville:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Mark Vajcner
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1995)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (August 2002)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 104, PC 111, TC 72 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
William Neville
 
Title:
William Neville fonds
 
Dates:
1957-1995
 
Quantity:
10 m of textual records. -- 24 photographs. -- 5 audio reels.
 
Language:
English.
 
Identificaiton:
MSS 104, PC 111, TC 72

Return to Top


Biography of William Neville

William Franklin Wymark Neville was born in Winnipeg on September 15, 1940. After receiving his Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree from the University of Manitoba in 1963, Neville read philosophy, politics and economics at Oxford University as a Commonwealth and Rhodes scholar. He graduated from Oxford with a B.A. in 1966 and a M.A. in 1971.

Although Neville had the distinction of being the youngest delegate to the leadership convention which chose John G. Diefenbaker as leader of the Progressive Conservative Party in 1956, he decided to pursue an academic rather than a political career. Neville taught for a number of years at Trent University in Peterborough in both the Departments of Politics and History. He was also a founding member of the Canadian Studies Program at Trent University.

Neville returned to Manitoba to act as chief of staff to Sidney Spivak, QC, Leader of the Opposition in the Manitoba Legislature, but after a bitter leadership battle, which saw Sterling Lyon emerge as party leader in 1975, Neville returned to teaching. However, a battle with City Council, while Chairman of the Winnipeg Public Library Commission, over a plan to establish an independent citizen board stirred him to enter civic politics. With the support of the now-disbanded Independent Citizen's Election Committee (ICEC) behind him, Neville won the Tuxedo Heights ward handily in a 1979 by-election gaining more that four times as many votes as his two independent opponents combined. Re-elected by acclamation in 1980 and 1983 and in a contested election in 1986 Neville represented the ward until his withdrawal from politics in 1989.

During his ten years as a city councillor Neville chaired two important ad hoc committees on freedom of information and helped to introduce a greater measure of openness to a secretive city government. He rose to become one of the more influential members of council as member of the powerful Executive Policy Committee from 1980 to 1982 and again from 1983 to 1986 when he voluntarily withdrew. In late 1988 he removed himself further from the decision-making centre by leaving the city's informal ruling caucus, the Independent Caucus, after a disagreement over the urban limit line against development.

Neville now teaches at the University of Manitoba as an Associate Professor in Political Studies. He has held this position since 1976. He has also been Assistant to the Vice-President (1976-82) and University Coordinator of Canadian Studies (1978-82). At present he is Assistant to the President, a position he has held since 1982 and has been Director of the University of Manitoba International program since 1989.

Neville also writes a weekly political column for the Winnipeg Free Press and is an occasional broadcast commentator on political issues for CBC Radio and Television.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The William F.W. Neville Collection is organized into three series. The first series consists primarily of material relating to his years on Winnipeg's City Council, the second series contains his personal and university material, and the third series relates to his time as Executive Assistant to Sidney Spivak.

The City Council series contains correspondence, unpublished minutes and research reports from many of the committees that Neville served on during his years on City Council. These include the Executive Policy Committee, the Historic Buildings Committee, the Committee on Environment, the Committee on Protection, Parks and Culture as well as numerous ad hoc committees. As a city councillor Neville took an active interest in heritage and artistic issues and the collection is strong in these areas. As well there is much information concerning major capital development projects in Winnipeg during the 1980s. These include the Core Area Agreement, the North Portage Development and issues surrounding the development of Plan Winnipeg.

The personal and university series contains documents relating to the establishment of the Canadian Studies program at the University of Manitoba which Neville was responsible for as Coordinator of Canadian Studies from 1978 to 1982. Also included are materials regarding the Symons Commission. This commission, headed by Prof. T.H.B. Symons of Trent University, strongly criticized Canadian universities for their general neglect of Canadian Studies.

This series also contains lecture notes for courses in International Relations and Politics that Neville taught at Trent University in the late 1960s and early 1970s, Department of Political Studies material from the University of Manitoba, dated from 1981 to 1992, and drafts of Neville's Free Press columns as well as material from the many community organizations that Neville has been involved with throughout his career. These include the Manitoba Heritage Council, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet, the Winnipeg Contemporary Dancers and the Winnipeg Folk Festival.

Personal correspondence, newspaper clippings regarding his term as student body President at the University of Manitoba, and material relating to his work on the 1974 election campaign for Duff Roblin are also part of this series.

The third series contains material relating to Neville's work as Executive Assistant to Sidney Spivak, leader of the Progressive Conservative Party.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 3 series.

  • I. CITY COUNCIL 1979-1990
  • II. PERSONAL AND UNIVERSITY SERIES 1957-1995
  • III. ACTIVITIES IN PROVINCIAL POLITICS 1967-1975
  • PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 111)
  • TAPE COLLECTION (TC 72)

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

This collection is open to all users with the exception of those files marked "confidential". Access to these files may be gained with the written permission of Professor W.F.W. Neville of the University of Manitoba. Researchers must confer with the Head Archivist before publishing anything other than fair use excerpts and must abide by the laws of copyright as amended by Parliament from time to time.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The William F.W. Neville Collection was donated to the University of Manitoba Department of Archives and Special Collections through several accessions from 1985 to 1994. The Memorandum of Agreement was signed on 7 July 1994 and the collection was organized that same year. A subsequent accession was received and integrated into the collection in 1995.

Return to Top


 

Detailed Description of the Collection

I. CITY COUNCIL 1979-1990
Box Folder  
1 1 Access to Information, 1981-86
  2 Access to Information, 1986-87
  3 Ad Hoc Committee on Conflict of Interest
  4 Ad Hoc Committee on Housing, 1989
  5 Ad Hoc Committee on Race Relations, 1986
  6-7 Ad Hoc Committee to Review By-Law #2071/78, "The Winnipeg Police Commission"
  8 Archives
Box Folder  
2 1 Arts and the Cities Project
  2 Arts, Miscellaneous
  3 Assiniboine Park/Fort Garry Community Cmte, 1979-80
  4 Assiniboine Park/Fort Garry Community Cmte, 1981-82
  5 Assiniboine Park/Fort Garry Community Cmte, 1983-89
  6 Assiniboine Park/Fort Garry Community Committee: Residents Advisory Group
Box Folder  
3 1 Budget Review Process, 1979-87
  2 City of Winnipeg Act Review Committee
  3 City Property
Committee on Environment
Box Folder  
3 4 Correspondence, 1980-81
  5 Correspondence, 1982
  6 Correspondence, 1983-86, 1988-89
Committee on Protection, Parks and Culture
Box Folder  
3 7 Ambulance Services
  8 Fire Department
Box Folder  
4 1-2 General
  3 Organizational Review
  4 Police
  5 Police Review, 1989-90
  6 Committee on Works and Operations
  7 Conflict of Interest and Statement of Assets Forms
Correspondence:
Box Folder  
5 1 City of Winnipeg, 1980
  2 City of Winnipeg, 1981
  3 City of Winnipeg, 1982
  4 City of Winnipeg, 1983
  5 City of Winnipeg, 1984 (Jan-Sep)
  6 City of Winnipeg, 1984 (Sep-Dec)
  7 City of Winnipeg, 1985
  8 City of Winnipeg, 1986
Box Folder  
6 1 City of Winnipeg, 1987
  2 City of Winnipeg, 1988
  3 City of Winnipeg, 1989

(Many of the letters for inter-departmental matters were organized in chronological order. This order has been maintained.)

(All remaining Correspondence, including some inter-departmental, is organized alphabetically.)
Box Folder  
6 4 A
  5 Andre Committee
  6 B
  7 C
  8 Clark, Joe
  9 Congratulations
  10 Consulting Services
  11 Convenience Stores
  12 Curry, F.M
  13 D
Box Folder  
7 1 Diefenbaker, John G.
  2 Diefenbaker, John G.
  3 E
  4 E
  5 Epp, Jake
  6 F
  7 G
  8 Gage Publishing Co.
  9 H
  10 Harvard Investments
  11 Harvard Publishing Co.
  12 I
  13 Invitations
  14 J
  15 K
  16 L
  17 Letters of Appreciation
  18 M
Box Folder  
8 1 M
  2 Miscellaneous
  3 N
  4 O
  5 P
  6 PC Association of Canada
  7 Q and R
  8 S
  9 T
  10 U and V
  11 W,X,Y and Z
  12 Critical Home Repair Program, 1984
Development
Box Folder  
8 13 Charleswood Bridge
  14 Fulham Park
Box Folder  
9 1 General
  2 Kenaston/Grant
  3 Outside the Perimeter Highway
  4 Pantages Playhouse
  5 Polo Park
  6-7 Sherbrooke-McGregor Overpass
  8 Shopping Centres
Elections
Box Folder  
9 9 Other Campaign Material
  10 Neville Campaign, [ 1979 ]
  11 Neville Campaign, [ 1980 ]
  12 Neville Campaign, [ 1983 ]
  13 Neville Campaign, [ 1986 ]
  14 Ward Boundaries
Box Folder  
10 1 Executive Policy Committee, 1980-87
  2 Executive Policy Committee, 1987-90
  3 Federation of Canadian Municipalities
  4 Federation of Canadian Municipalities
  5 Federation of Canadian Municipalities
Heritage Winnipeg Corporation
Box Folder  
10 6 Corresp. and General Meeting Minutes, 1980-81
  7 Corresp. and General Meeting Minutes, 1982
  8 Corresp. and General Meeting Minutes, 1983,1985-88
  9 Organizational Options
  10 "Overview of Winnipeg's Heritage Conservation"
  11 Winnipeg's Heritage Conservation Program
Box Folder  
11 1-2 Winnipeg's Heritage Conservation Program
Historical Buildings Committee
Box Folder  
11 3 Caron House Material
  4 Chairman's Introductions (Drafts)
  5 Correspondence, 1979-80
  6 Correspondence, 1981
  7 Correspondence, 1982
  8 Correspondence, 1983-84
  9 Correspondence, 1985-86
Box Folder  
12 1 Correspondence, 1987-88
  2 Correspondence, 1989-90
  3 Empire Hotel Material
  4 Minutes and Agendas, 1980-81
  5 Minutes and Agendas, 1982
  6 Minutes and Agendas, 1983
  7 Minutes and Agendas, 1984
  8 Minutes and Agendas, 1984
Box Folder  
13 1 Minutes and Agendas, 1984
  2 Minutes and Agendas, 1984
  3 Minutes and Agendas, 1987
  4 Minutes and Agendas, 1988
  5 Minutes and Agendas, 1989
  6 Research Reports, 1976 and 1979
  7 Research Reports, 1980 (Jan-May)
Box Folder  
14 1 Research Reports, 1980 (Jan-May)
  2 Research Reports, 1981 (Jan-Jul)
  3 Research Reports, 1981 (Aug-Dec)
  4 Research Reports, 1982 (Jan-Sep)
  5 Research Reports, 1982 (Oct-Dec)
  6 Research Reports, 1983
Box Folder  
15 1 Research Reports, 1984 (Jan-Jul)
  2 Research Reports, 1984 (Jul-Dec)
  3 Research Reports, 1985
  4 Research Reports, 1986
  5 Research Reports, 1987 (Jan-Oct)
  6 Research Reports, 1987 (Nov-Dec)
  7 Research Reports, 1988 (Jan-Jul)
Box Folder  
16 1 Research Reports, 1988 (Aug-Dec)
  2 Research Reports, 1989
  3 Research Reports, 1991-93
  4 "Vancouver's Second Century, 1886 to 1986", A Heritage Program for Vancouver, 1982
  5 "What Price Heritage: Protection of Heritage 5 Sites and the Obligation to Compensate Owners", 1980
  6 ICEC Caucus Material, 1979-88
  7

ICEC Public Information Seminar, Oct.4, 1980

"The Unicity Legislation and the ICEC's Performance"

"Challenge of the 1980s", E.A. Levin

"Challenge of the 1980s", Peter Taraska

  8 Institute of Urban Studies
  9 Mayor's Advisory Committee on Race Relations
Mayor's Arts Study Advisory Committee
Box Folder  
16 10 Correspondence, 1982-88
  11 General
  12 Meeting Notes and Minutes, 1982-83
  13 Report
Research Material
Box Folder `
17 1 "Cultural Arts Policy", 1980
  2 "Cultural Policy Development", 1980
  3 "Cultural Services in Selected Municipalities", 1980
  4 "Development of a Cultural Policy for the City of Edmonton", 1982
  5 "Ottawa-Carleton Cultural Grants Program"
  6 "Proposals for Development of Arts and Culture"
Box Folder  
17 7 Submissions to the Committee
  8 Newspaper Clippings
  9 North Portage Development Corp., 1984-85
  10 North Portage Development Report, 1985
Plan Winnipeg
Box Folder  
17 11-13 Briefs and Public Presentations
  14 Correspondence, 1979-88
  15 General
Box Folder  
18 1 Proposed Amendments to Policy Statements
  2 Public Hearing, July 14,1982
  3 Recommendations
  4 Representations to Executive Policy Committee
  5 Study Team Response
  6 "The Problems of Implementing Plan Winnipeg"
  7 Transcripts of Public Meetings, 1982
  8 Whittier Park/North St. Boniface
Prairie Theatre Exchange
Box Folder  
18 9 Correspondence, 1980-85, 1987-88
  10 Minutes and Agenda
  11 Rainbow Stage
Topic Files
Box Folder  
19 1 Abortion Issue, 1983
  2 Amusement Parlours and Arcades
  3 Animal Control
  4 Animal Use in Medical Research, 1989
  5 Asbestos Information
  6 Assiniboine Park and Zoo
  7 Boulevard Maintenance
  8 China Delegation, 1986
  9 Citizens Against Impaired Driving
  10 Community Centre
  11 Community Centre Study, 1980
  12 Compulsory Retirement
  13 Convention Centre
  14 Councillors' Indemnity
  15 Crescentwood Homeowners Association
  16 Enderton Caveat
  17 Crosswalks
  18 Cultural Policy Review Committee, 1981-82
  19 Dangerous Commodities Report, 1983
  20 Dangerous Materials
Box Folder  
20 1 Day Care Issues
Box Folder  
20 2 Abuse at Early Childhood Education Centre
  3 Downtown Winnipeg Association
  4 Drainage and Flooding Problems, 1981-87
  5 Dutch Elm Disease
  6 Emergency Medical Services
  7 Energy Conference, 1980
  8 Equal Employment and Opportunity
  9 Finances
  10 Fort Garry Hotel, Sale of
  11 Fort Garry Hotel, Sale of
  12 Golf Courses
  13 Grants and Funding
  14 Grants, Community Incentive
  15 Group Homes, [ 1979-87 ]
  16 Group Homes, [ 1990 ]
  17 Hospitals, Auditors Report for 1988
  18 Housing
  19 Housing
  20 Joe Zuken Memorial Association, 1987
Box Folder  
21 1 Kent Commission
  2 Language Referendum Debate, 1983
  3 "Legislative Chaos or Political Turmoil"-- The Manitoba Language Debate
  4 Leo Mol
  5 Litter
  6 Local Improvements
  7 Main Street Revitalization
  8 Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties
  9 Manitoba Association of Urban Municipalities
  10 Manitoba Track and Field Association
  11 Manpower Assessment
  12 Neighbourhood Watch Program
  13 Newspaper Vending Machines
  14 Noise Abatement
  15 Non-Smoking By-Law
  16 Nuclear Disarmament
  17 Official Delegation, 1981-82
  18 Old Market Square
  19 Parking Issues, 1979
Box Folder  
22 1 Parking Issues, 1980-86, 1988-89
  2 Parks Canada Regional Office
  3 Personal Material--City Council
  4 Personal Material--City Council
  5 Petitions Re: Hodgson Park
  6 Pets
  7 Planning and Community Services
  8 Planning and Community Services
  9 Political Parties--Information
  10 Polygraph Testing Issue, 1983 and 1985
  11 Prostitution
  12 Radon, 1987-88
  13 Railways and Rail Crossings
  14 Refuse Collection Issues
Box Folder  
23 1 Rent Controls
  2 Rivers and Streams Protection
  3 Rossbrook House
  4 Royal Visit, 1984
  5 Safeway
  6-7 School Related Issues
  8 Sewer Maintenance
  9 Shoal Lake, 1981-82
  10 Shoal Lake, 1982-86
  11 Sidewalks
  12 Sidewalks--Grant Avenue
Box Folder  
24 1 Signs and Sign Regulations
  2 Snow Clearance
  3 Social Planning Council of Winnipeg
  4 Speeches (by William Neville)
  5 Sports
  6 Sports--1986 Heritage Games
  7 Street Lighting Problems
  8 Street Repairs
  9 Task Force on Labour Market Development, 1981
  10 Taxes and Tax Assessment
  11 Television
Box Folder  
25 1 Tendering and Local Preference
  2 Theatres
  3 Tree Planting and Landscaping
  4 Traffic Issues, 1979-82
  5 Traffic Issues, 1982-89
  6 Traffic--Wellington Crescent
  7 Traffic Lights
Box Folder  
26 1 Transit Issues
  2 Transit--Student Fare Structure
  3 Trucking Industry
  4 Virology Laboratory, 1989
  5 Waste Management
  6 Waste Management
  7 Winnipeg Enterprises, 1984-87
  8 Winnipeg Humane Society
  9 Winnipeg Hydro, 1980-88
  10 Youth Issues
  11 YWCA
Variance and Conditional Use Committee, 1980-89
Winnipeg Arts Advisory Council
Box Folder  
27 1 Minutes and Correspondence, 1986-87
  2 Minutes and Correspondence, 1987
  3 Minutes and Correspondence, 1988
  4 Report on "Local Government and the Arts"
Winnipeg Core Area Initiative
Box Folder  
27 5 Committee Meetings
  6 Correspondence
  7 Employment and Affirmative Action
  8 General
  9 Logan Industrial Development
Box Folder  
28 1 Presentations and Briefs
  2 Reports
Winnipeg Housing Rehabilitation Corporation
Box Folder  
28 3 Draft Reports
  4 "Evaluation of the Winnipeg Housing Rehabilitation Corporation", 1985
  5 Financial Statements and Reports
  6 Minutes and Correspondence, 1979-83
  7 Minutes and Correspondence, 1984
Box Folder  
29 1 Minutes and Correspondence, 1985-86
  2 Minutes and Correspondence, 1986
Winnipeg Public Libraries
Box Folder  
29 3 General, 1977-78
  4 General, 1978-80
  5 General, 1981-89
  6 General, 1990
Box Folder  
30 1-3 Library Estimates, 1977
  4 Report "A" of the Ad Hoc Committee on Library 4 Services, 1989
  5 Zoning Issues, 1980-84
  6 Zoning Issues, 1984-88
  7 Zoning Issues, 1988

Return to Top


 

II. PERSONAL AND UNIVERSITY SERIES 1957-1995
Articles for the Winnipeg Free Press , Various drafts
Box Folder  
39 6 1988-90
  7 1991
Box Folder  
30 9-10 1991-93, many undated
Box Folder  
39 8 1992
Box Folder  
51 10 1992-95
  22 Undated
Box Folder  
30 12 Arts Manitoba Publication Inc.
Box Folder  
31 1 Canadian Paraplegic Association, 1990-91
Canadian Plains Research Centre
Box Folder  
31 2 Board Meetings, 1976-78
  3 Board Meetings, 1978-82
  4 Correspondence
Canadian Studies
Box Folder  
31 5 Associations for Canadian Studies, 1979-81
  6 Background Materials, 1976-77
  7 Correspondence as Coordinator of Canadian Studies
  8 Focus Meeting, 1980
  9 Focus Meeting, 1981
  10-11 Miscellaneous
Box Folder  
32 1 Program and Organization, 1977
Symons Report
Box Folder  
32 2-3 Correspondence
  4 Newspaper Clippings, 1976
  5 Newspaper Clippings, 1976-78
  6 Various Addresses and Reports, 1976-78
Box Folder  
32 7 UM Archives
  8 Vice-Presidential Advisory Committee, 1977-79
  9 Canadian Studies Foundation
Box Folder  
51 13 CBC Radio Commentary, 1980
Box Folder  
40 1 Correspondence, 1961-65
  2 Correspondence, 1966
  3 Correspondence, 1967
  4 Correspondence, 1968
  5 Correspondence, 1969
  6 Correspondence, 1970
  7 Correspondence, 1971
  8 Correspondence, 1972
  9 Correspondence, 1973 and 1974
Box Folder  
41 1 Correspondence, 1975 and 1976
  2 Correspondence, Undated
Diefenbaker Project
Box Folder  
41 3-8 Research Notes -- General
Box Folder  
42 1-8 Research Notes -- General
Box Folder  
43 1-6 Research Notes -- General
Box Folder  
44 1 Research Notes -- Avro Arrow
Box Folder  
44 2 Defence
  3 Newspapers, 1957-62
  4 Newspapers, 1958-63
  5 Interview Notes -- John Diefenbaker
  6 Interview Notes -- Howard Green
  7 Correspondence concerning the Diefenbaker Project
  8 Memos and Summaries concerning the Diefenbaker Project
Box Folder  
45 1 Diefenbaker Election Material, 1957-63
  2 Research Applications
Box Folder  
48 4 Documents Relating to Canada In Transition: Crisis in Political Development
Box Folder  
51 14 Draft Chapters for Manitoba 125: A History
Essays
Box Folder  
30 8 "Farm Management at the U of M" (revised and 30 8 edited by Wm. Neville)
Box Folder  
47 7 History Class Report Concerning Attendance at 1956 Progressive Conservative Convention
Box Folder  
30 11 Miscellaneous
Box Folder  
47 8 Miscellaneous Articles
  9-10 Miscellaneous Essays
  11 Miscellaneous High School and University Essays, 1957-62
University Essays
Box Folder  
47 12 "Self-Determination at Versailles"
  13 "The Abyssinian Crisis and the League of Nations", 1961
  14 "The October Crisis and the War Measures Act", 1970
  15 "Wilsonian Idealism and the Peace Settlement", 1961
Box Folder  
33 1 IPAC Conference Program Committee
Journal of Canadian Studies
Box Folder  
33 2 Correspondence, 1976-84
  3 Minutes of the Editorial Board, 1976-77, 1980-81
Box Folder  
47 16 Lecture delivered to the Unitarian Fellowship of Peterborough on "The Role of Government", 1968
    Lecture Notes at Trent University, 1968-72
International Relations
Box Folder  
45 3 Problems of International Organization
  4 Balance of Power
  5 Balance of Power
  6 Allied Differences at Versailles
  7 The League of Nations
  8 Interwar Period, 1919-39
  9 Disarmament, Ideology and Foreign Policy: The USSR in the Interwar Period
  10 International Relations since 1939
  11 Post War American Foreign Policy
  12 British and French Post War Policy
  13 Russian Foreign Policy
  14 Chinese Foreign Policy
  15 Nuclear Weapons and International Relations
  16 Introduction to the United Nations
  17 Concepts of the United Nations
  18 UN Preventive Diplomacy and Peacekeeping
  19 Peacekeeping
  20 Peacekeeping II: The UN and the Congo
  21 The UN Congo Operation
Politics
Box Folder  
46 1 The Monarchy
  2 The Monarchy
  3 Pressure Groups
  4 Disraeli and the Tory Party
  5 Disraeli and Tory Democracy
  6 Disraeli and Tory Democracy
  7 The Rise of the Labour Party
  8 British Post-War Politics
  9 Harold Wilson and Britain
  10 Parliamentarianism and Federalism in the Commonwealth
  11 British Electoral Behaviour
  12 A Select Bibliography of Essays and Articles on British Government
  13 Canada: Independence and Identity, [ 1945-74 ]
  14 Some Problems in African Government
  15 Nigerian Government and Politics
  16 Constitution of India
  17 France
  18 USSR
  19 Class Outlines and Reading Lists
  20 Miscellaneous
Manitoba Heritage Council
Box Folder  
33 4 Architectural Site Screening Notes
  5 Correspondence, 1987 and 1989
  6 Correspondence, 1990
  7 Correspondence, 1991
  8 Correspondence, 1992
Box Folder  
34 1 Correspondence, 1993
  2 General, 1988-90
  3 General, 1991-93
  4 Minutes, 1989
  5 Minutes, 1990
  6 Minutes, 1991 (Jan-Jun)
  7 Minutes, 1991 (Jul-Dec)
Box Folder  
351 Minutes, 1992
2 Minutes, 1993
3 Presentation to Historic Sites and Monuments Board, July 11, 1991
Research Papers
Box Folder  
35 4 "A History of Flour Milling in Manitoba", 1992
  5 "Ashdown Warehouse"
  6 "Bernier Family", [ 1989 ]
  7 "Camp Hughes"
  8 "Darlingford War Memorial", [ 1990 ]
  9 "Existing Flour Mills in Manitoba", [ 1992 ]
  10 "Former Brandon Citizen's Science Building", [ 1991 ]
  11 "Former Cox House", [ 1990 ]
  12 "Former Grey Nuns' Residence"
  13 "Former Jacob Jablonsky House", [ 1991 ]
  14 "Former John Bryce House", [ 1992 ]
  15 "F.J. Goulding Residence", [ 1989 ]
  16 "Glacial Lake Agassiz"
  17 "Manitoba's First Explorers"
  18 "Morris Abraham Gray, 1889-1966", [ 1989 ]
  19 "Municipal Building and Auditorium", [ 1991 ]
Box Folder  
36 1 "Our Lady of Seven Sorrows Roman Catholic Church", [ 1990 ]
  2 "St. John the Divine Anglican Church"
  3 "Sifton Residence", [ 1989 ]
  4 "The Important Role of the Assiniboine Nation in Manitoba's History", [ 1991 ]
  5 "The Passage: Fording Site on the Assiniboine River", [ 1989 ]
  6 "Thomas A. Crerar", [ 1987 ]
  7 "Thomas George Prince"
  8 "Wigwam Restaurant at Clear Lake", [ 1991 ]
  9 "Winnipeg Free Press Building"
Box Folder  
48 3 Neville Family Tree
Peterborough Campaign for Duff Roblin, 1974
Box Folder  
46 21 Agenda Books
  22 Correspondence, 1972-74
  23 Sample Campaign Literature
Box Folder  
47 1 Speeches
  2-4 Miscellaneous Campaign Material
  5 Newspaper Clippings
Essay on the Treatment of Duff Roblin in the Peterborough Examiner
Box Folder  
51 15 Peterborough Public Library, presentation to council by W.F.W. Neville regarding purchase of library building, 1973
Box Folder  
36 10 Political Studies, 1981
  11 Political Studies, 1982
  12 Political Studies, 1983
  13 Political Studies, 1984
  14 Political Studies, 1985
  15 Political Studies, 1986
Box Folder  
37 1 Political Studies, 1987
  2 Political Studies, 1988
  3 Political Studies, 1989
  4 Political Studies, 1990
  5 Political Studies, 1991
Box Folder  
38 1 Political Studies, 1992
  2-3 President's Biennial Report, 1981-83
Royal Winnipeg Ballet
Box Folder  
38 4 Brief to Task Force on Professional Training
  5 Correspondence, 1982-83, 1987-91
  6 Minutes, 1990
  7 Minutes, 1991
  8 Personnel and Administration Committee
Box Folder  
39 1 Speech to the West Winnipeg Rotary Club, "The Elections and Its Aftermath", November 18, 1993
Box Folder  
48 1 Public Speaking, 1957-58
Box Folder  
51 1 Other Speeches
  2 University of Manitoba Students' Union
Box Folder  
39 2 Winnipeg Arts Centre, Memo
Winnipeg Contemporary Dancers Inc.
Box Folder  
39 3 1977-81
  4 1981-82, 1985
  5 Winnipeg Folk Festival, 1980,1985-92

Return to Top


III. Activities in Provincial Politics 1967-1975
Conventions
Box Folder  
48 5 1972 Policy Convention
  6 1973 Annual Convention
  7 1973 Leadership
  8 1975 Leadership
  9 Correspondence, 1967-75
  10 Draft Correspondence, Undated
Elections
Box Folder  
48 11 Crescentwood By-Election, 1975
  12 Spivak Campaign Material, 1973
  13 Summary of 1973 Results
  14 Essays on Conservatism and the Spivak Leadership
  15 Manitoba P.C. Association -- Policy and Annual Meeting, 1975
Policy
Box Folder  
48 16 Manitoba P.C. Policies
  17 P.C. Policy/Election Document
Box Folder  
49 1 "Opportunities for People" -- P.C. Policies Draft of Part Two
  2 Press Releases
  3 Progressive Conservative Caucus Steering Committee, 1974-75
  4 Speaker's Handbook
Speeches
Box Folder  
49 5 Sidney Spivak Speaking Notes
  6-8 Sidney Spivak Speeches
Box Folder  
50 1 Sidney Spivak Speeches
  2 Speeches by Other Candidates, 1973-74
  3 Statement of Principles by the P.C. Party of Manitoba, 1973
Topic Files
Box Folder  
50 4 "A Discussion of the Leader's Tour", 1973
  5 Comments on the Manitoba Political Situation, 1974
  6 Communities Economic Development Fund Report and Material into Mismanagement, 1974
  7 Energy Issues
  8 Environment Protection Board -- Gas Pipeline Newsletter
  9 Garrison Diversion Project
  10 Hastings Report on Community Health Centres
  11 Health and Social Development
  12 Manitoba Hydro
  13 Manitoba Progressive Conservative Association Constitution
  14 Manitoba P.C. Party -- A Brief History
  15 Material Prepared for Advisory Committee to Robert Stanfield
Box Folder  
51 1 Mining and Petroleum Industries
  2 Miscellaneous Notes
  3 Natural Resources and the West in Confederation
  4 NDP, [ 1972 ]
  5 PC Youth Federation
  6 Proposed Membership and Fund Raising Drive, [ 1974 ]
  7 Staff Meetings -- Agenda and Minutes
  8 Study on Federal Provincial Relations
  9 "The Record of an Unbelievable 3 Days, [ Nov. 17 to 19, 1972 ]

Return to Top


Photograph Collection (PC 111) [ca. 1963]-[197-?]
Box Folder  
1 1

William and Anita Neville in Oxford, UK, [ca. 1963]

RESTRICTED MATERIAL -- NO REPRODUCTION WITHOUT CONSENT

  1

William and Anita Neville at Graduation, 1968

RESTRICTED MATERIAL -- NO REPRODUCTION WITHOUT CONSENT

  1

Duff Roblin and Family, 1974

RESTRICTED MATERIAL -- NO REPRODUCTION WITHOUT CONSENT

  1 Sidney Spivak Campaign, 1970s
  2 1974 Fire at PC Headquarters, 23 Kennedy Street

Return to Top


Tape Collection (TC 72) 1968-1973
Box  
1

1974 Fire at PC Headquarters, 23 Kennedy Street concerning political events during his years in office. In particular the composition of cabinet, the role of the Prime Minister in modern government, and Diefenbaker's relations with Quebec.

Interview with the Honorable Howard Green, former External Affairs Minister in the Diefenbaker Cabinet (1957-63). The interview was conducted 5 July 1973 by Bill Neville.

(2 tapes)

  Interviews with Howard Green

Return to Top