The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(September 2009)
Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (September 2009)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION & AWARDS 1978-2006
SPEECHES, CITATIONS & COMMENTARIES 1972-2009
ARTICLES & BOOK CHAPTERS 1984-2003
HISTORIC SITES & MONUMENTS BOARD OF CANADA 1996-2005
MANITOBA HERITAGE COUNCIL 1990-2001
WINNIPEG PUBLIC LIBRARY 1984-1991
Born in Winnipeg in 1940, William Neville was President of the University of Manitoba Students Union and the 1963 Rhodes Scholar for Manitoba. He attended Oxford University in England studying politics, philosophy, and economics. After Oxford he became a professor of politics at Trent University in Peterborough, Ontario. He served for several short periods between 1963 and 1965 as a research and administrative assistant to the Manitoba Deputy Minister of Labour and in 1969 and 1970 worked with former Prime Minister John Diefenbaker on the Diefenbaker papers in the National Archives. In 1974, Neville returned to Manitoba to act as Chief of Staff to Sidney Spivak, QC, Leader of the Opposition in the Manitoba Legislature. From 1976 to 1981, he served as Executive Assistant to the Vice President (Academic) at the University of Manitoba and then, from 1981 to 1997, as Executive Assistant to the President of the University. He was Head of the Department of Political Studies at the University from 1997 to 2005. Neville won a Tuxedo Heights ward by-election and sat on Winnipeg city council for ten years. Neville also served as Chair of the City's Historic Buildings Committee (1980-1989), Chair of the Manitoba Heritage Council (1989-2001), and Manitoba Member of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (1996-2004). In 2001, he received the Dr. & Mrs. Ralph Campbell Award for University Outreach for "Enlarging and enriching relations between the University and the community." In 2002, he was awarded the Lieutenant-Governor's Medal for Excellence in Public Administration "in recognition of over 40 years of distinctive leadership in public administration" (selected by the Manitoba Branch of the Institute of Public Administration in Canada). He twice received Heritage Winnipeg's distinguished Service Award and, in 2006, he received the Gabrielle Leger Award, presented by the Heritage Canada Foundation "for services to the nation in the field of heritage conservation". He is a regular columnist for the Winnipeg Free Press and writes for other periodicals and publications. He retired from the University of Manitoba at the end of 2005 but remains a Senior Scholar in the Department of Political Studies.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Neville fonds contains 12 series: Biographical Information & Awards, Speeches, Citations & Commentaries, Articles & Book Chapters, Historic Sites & Monuments Board of Canada, Manitoba Heritage Council, Heritage Winnipeg, City of Winnipeg, Winnipeg Public Library, Correspondence, Academic Material, Meech Lake Accord Research & Research Material.
Some Historic Sites material was confidential.
Some Historic Sites material was confidential.
The material was donated by William Neville in 2009.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Biographical information 1978-1997 |
| 1A | UMSU certificate 1963 | |
| 2 | Certificates from University of Western Ontario School of Business Administration 1978 | |
| 3 | Poem for Bill Neville on his 60th birthday by Patrick Garde Riordan 2000 | |
| 4 | Governor General's Dinner in Honour of Neville - Ottawa 2002 | |
| 5 | Neville Award recipient 2002-2006 | |
| 6 | Government House dinner 2006 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 7 | Neville's citation for the presentation of an honorary degree to Samuel Freedman at Trent University 1972 |
| 8 | Speech to Winning Women Conference 1977 | |
| 9 | Neville outlines Municipal By-Election issues 1979 | |
| 10 | Speech notes for a debate on the Sherbrook McGregor overpass 1980-1981 | |
| 11 | Speech to Winning Women Conference 1989 | |
| 12 | Meech Lake speech ca. 1989 | |
| 13 | Speech - "The Politics of Assessment Association " to the Association of Assessing Officers of Manitoba 1991 | |
| 14 | Toast to the groom at John Bertrand's wedding ca.1991 | |
| 15 | Neville's C.B.C. radio commentary 1991 | |
| 16 | Speech Great Cities, Dalhousie School of Public Administration, Halifax 1996 | |
| 17 | Rotary Club speech 2001 | |
| 18 | Master of Ceremonies Script Plaque unveiling ceremony for St. Boniface Hospital School of Nursing 2003 | |
| 19 | Speech to United Jewish People's Order 2004 | |
| 20 | Manitoba Electoral District information for federal election commentary 2004 | |
| 21 | Neville's introduction of Paul Martin at the Canadian Club 2005 | |
| 22 | Eulogy at John Bovey's funeral 2005 | |
| 23 | CBC radio consultant at the Provincial Election 2007 | |
| 24 | Speech "Drama in US Politics: Can Canada Compete?" to Music 'n Mavins at the Rady Centre 2009 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 25 | Draft's of Neville's editorials 1984-1996 |
| 26 | Neville's commentary in the Winnipeg Sun 1989 | |
| 27 | Neville's editorial drafts 1990-2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Drafts & notes for columns [1990s] |
| 2 | Drafts of Chapters that Neville contributed to Manitoba 125 Volumes II & III ca.1995 | |
| 3 | Drafts for Chapter in Manitoba 125 1995 | |
| 4 | Article for Millenium Issue of the Beaver 2000 | |
| 5 | 2003 Provincial Election newspaper articles 2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Policies Criteria guidelines 1996 |
| 2 | Historic Sites & Monuments Board 1997 | |
| 3 | Ottawa meeting agenda 2001 | |
| 4 | "Women's Religious Congregations & Health Care in Canada" Dianne Dodd & Britte Violette 2002 | |
| 5 | Reference manual 2002 | |
| 6 | "Our Roots, Our Future Experiencing Canada's National Historic Sites in the Classroom " Parks Canada 2002 | |
| 7 | Ceremony to Commemorate North America Boundary Commission (1872-1876) Ft. Dufferin at Emerson, Canada 2002 | |
| 8 | Criteria General Guidelines Specific Guidelines for evaluating subjects of potential national historic significance 2002 | |
| 9 | Historic Places & Aboriginal People - A Discussion Document - Heritage Canada 2002 | |
| 10 C | Submission reports - Volume 1 2002 | |
| 11 C | Submission reports - Volume II 2002 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 C | Submission reports- Volume 3 2002 |
| 2 C | Submission reports - Volume 4 2002 | |
| 3 C | Submission reports - Volume 1 2003 | |
| 4 C | Submission reports - Volume 2 2003 | |
| 5 C | Submission reports - Volume 3 2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 C | Submission reports - Volume 4 2003 |
| 2 | Inscriptions Committee meetings 2003 | |
| 3 | Criteria General Guidelines Specific Guidelines for Evaluating Subjects of Potential National Historic Significance 2003 | |
| 4 | Ceremony at the Red River Floodway includes Neville's speech 2003 | |
| 5 | Meeting agenda 2003 | |
| 6 | Built Environment Committee report 2004 | |
| 7 | Meeting in Halifax 2004 | |
| 8 | Inscriptions Committee 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 C | Submission reports - Volume 1 2004 |
| 2 C | Submission reports - Volume 2 2004 | |
| 3 C | Submissions report - Volume 3 2004 | |
| 4 C | Submission reports - Volume 4 2004 | |
| 5 C | Submission reports - Volume 5 2004 | |
| 6 C | Meetings 2004-2005 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1 | How to Series 5 Guidelines for Conserving our Heritage Buildings 1990 |
| 2 | Manitoba Heritage Council correspondence 1990-1991 | |
| 3 | Meeting minutes 1991-1992 | |
| 4 | Prix Manitoba Award for Heritage 1992 | |
| 5 | Heritage Grants Advisory Council - proposal meeting 1993 | |
| 6 | First Farmers in the Red River Valley - Manitoba Culture Heritage & Citizenship pamphlets 1994 | |
| 7 | The Origin of the Name Manitoba - Manitoba Culture Heritage & Citizenship Historic Resources pamphlet 1994 | |
| 8 | How to Series 6 - Developing a Conservation Strategy for a Heritage Building 1994 | |
| 9 | Manitoba's Boundaries - Manitoba Culture, Heritage & Citizenship - Historic Resources pamphlet 1994 | |
| 10 | Meeting 1995 | |
| 11 | Meeting 2001 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 12 | Winnipeg Historic Buildings Committee - Caron House 1982 |
| 13 | Inventory of Churches & Synagogues Pre 1920- Historical Building Committee 1983 | |
| 14 | Report of the City of Winnipeg Historical Buildings 1985 | |
| 15 | Heritage Who's Who - Directory of Heritage Organizations, Attractions & Resources in Winnipeg - Heritage Winnipeg 1988 | |
| 16 | Historical Buildings Committee report 1992-1993 | |
| 17 | Demolition of Somerset School 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | List of Electors - Tuxedo Heights Ward 1977 |
| 2 | By-Law of the City of Winnipeg to deal with procedure & transacting of business by the Council 1978 | |
| 3 | Neville's election to City Council 1979 | |
| 4 | Urban Transit - Members of City Council 1979 | |
| 5 | City Council meeting programs 1980-1983 | |
| 6 | Report on City Properties 1981 | |
| 7 | Neville's brief submitted to the City of Winnipeg Act Review Committee 1985 | |
| 8 | Winnipeg Core Area Initiative - given to Council members by Harold MacDonald 1985 | |
| 9 | City Council material 1985-1991 | |
| 10 | Municipal budgeting & taxation for the City of Winnipeg 1989 | |
| 11 | Report of the City Auditor to the Council of the City of Winnipeg for the year ended December 31, 1989 1990 | |
| 12 | Report of the Provincial auditor to the Legislative Auditor to the Legislative Assembly for the fiscal year ended 1989 1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 9 | 1 | Commission on accreditation for law enforcement agencies 1990 |
| 2 | WIN budget reform discussion paper 1990 | |
| 3 | City of Winnipeg Economic Development Strategy 1990 | |
| 4 | Budget Reform in Winnipeg - A Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on Budgets 1990 | |
| 5 | Presentation of Canadian Union of Public Employees Local 500 - REgarding the City of Winnipeg 1991 budget 1991 | |
| 6 | Social Planning Council of Winnipeg 1991-1992 | |
| 7 | Lead in Winnipeg Drinking Water - City Council 1993 | |
| 8 | Harvard Investments Ltd. et al. vs. City of Winnipeg 1994 | |
| 9 | Winnipeg 2000 An Economic Development Strategy for Winnipeg - Summary report 2000 | |
| 10 | Government of Manitoba & City of Winnipeg & TN Arena Ltd. Partnership - Memorandum of Agreement 2001 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 10 | 1 | Winnipeg Public Library market research survey: An analysis of library users, non-users & staff 1984 |
| 2 | Winnipeg Public Library Board 1987-1991 | |
| 3 | Winnipeg Public Library System - strategic planning progress report 1985 | |
| 4 | Library service review 1988 | |
| 5 | Winnipeg branch libraries review 1991 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 1 | Correspondence 1970-1976 |
| 2 | Correspondence 1980-1984 | |
| 3 | Correspondence 1987-1996 | |
| 4 | Correspondence 1999-2008 | |
| 5 | Visit to Chengdu, China 1988 | |
| 6 | Campaign for Oxford 1990 | |
| 7 | Winnipeg Folk Festival 1990 | |
| 8 | Flashpoint Newsletter Ministry of Texe Marrs 1995 | |
| 9 C | Citizens Hall of Fame 2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 10 | Peter Robinson College - Trent University 1968 |
| 11 | CBC transcript of the Political Science Departments complaints over misconduct 1995 | |
| 12 | I.H. Asper's convocation speech upon receiving his Honorary Degree 1998 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 12 | 1 | Meech Lake research for Senator Mira Spivak 1987 |
| 2 | Meech Lake senate reform research 1987 | |
| 3 | Meech Lake senate reform 1987-1988 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 13 | 1 | "Winnipeg Downtown or Downhill" Earl Levin speech to the annual meeting of the Downtown Business Association 1968 |
| 2 | "Upholding the Canadian Way: The Supreme Court decision that the PC Party made possible" 1981 | |
| 3 | The Feasibility of Conversion to Non-Petroleum Power Sources - Summary report 1982 | |
| 4 | Joe Zuken material 1983-2006 | |
| 5 | National Broadcasting Policy review 1984-1987 | |
| 6 | Recycling in Manitoba Workshop proceedings - Winnipeg 1985 | |
| 7 | Aboriginal information 1986-1989 | |
| 8 | Winnipeg Arts Advisory Council 1987 | |
| 9 | Documents of the Thirteenth National Congress of the Communist Party of China 1987 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 14 | 1 | City Magazine 1988-1992 |
| 2 C | "The Forks" D.J. MacDonald ca.1990 | |
| 3 | Report of the Special Joint Committee on a Renewed Canada - Joint Chairman: Hon. Gerald A. Beaudoin, Senator & Dorothy Dobbie M.P. 1992 | |
| 4 | "Street Fighters of St. Norbert Historique A Short History of Heritage St. Norbert" James Cameron 1994 | |
| 5 | "One Wide Clear Space" The Walker Theatre, Winnipeg Parks Canada ca.1995 | |
| 6 | Record Catalog by composer 1997 | |
| 7 | A Walker's Guide to the Historic Buildings of Selkirk pamphlet - Selkirk Heritage Advisory Committee 1996 | |
| 8 | New Arena Site Survey - questionnaire & report 2001 | |
| 9 | Save the Eaton's Building Coalition 2001 | |
| 10 | Arena Site Survey - draft report 2001 | |
| 11 | Sister MacNamara night program 2006 |