Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

William Neville fonds: MSS 104 (A.06-27)

William Neville:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by David Perlmutter
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2007)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2007)
Finding aid written in English.

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
William Neville
  
Title:
William Neville fonds
  
Dates:
1970-2006
 
Quantity:
2.6 m of textual records
 
Identification:
MSS 104, A.06-27
  
Language:
English

Return to Top

Biography of William Neville

William Neville was born in Winnipeg in 1940 and attended schools there and in Ottawa and Edmonton. He attended the University of Manitoba, where he served as president of the Students Union. In 1963, he was named a Rhodes Scholar and studied politics, philosophy and economics at Oxford. Subsequently, he was a professor at Trent University. He assisted John Diefenbaker in preparing the latter’s papers for the National Archives in 1969-1970. In 1974 Neville returned to Manitoba to act as Chief of Staff for Manitoba Opposition leader Sidney Spivak. In 1976 he joined the University of Manitoba as Executive Assistant to the Vice President, becoming Executive Assistant to the President in 1981. He held this position until 1997. Neville also served as the head of the U of M’s department of political studies between 1997 and 2005. In a 1979 by-election, Neville was elected to Winnipeg City council for Tuxedo ward, and served for ten years. During this period, he chaired the city’s Historic Buildings Committee, later serving as chair of the Manitoba Heritage Council, and as the Manitoba member of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. His awards include the Dr. And Mrs. Ralph Campbell Award for university outreach (2001), the Lieutenant Governor’s Medal for excellence in public administration (2002), and the Gabrielle Leger Award for his work in heritage conservation (2006). Neville is the author of a number of essays and chapters in various books and has written extensively for the Winnipeg Free Press and other periodicals. Following his retirement in 2005, Neville was named a Senior Scholar in political studies.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This material contains Neville’s extensive correspondence, samples of his writings in completed published and handwritten draft form, and a large amount of information related to causes he was involved in and people he was friends or acquainted with. Particularly present are his work as a city councilor, executive assistant and political science instructor, as well as samples of the many newspaper columns and speeches he has written or presented in the period of accession.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged three series:

  • 1. Personal Correspondence
  • 2. Articles and Other Writings
  • 3. List of Files

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

The files relating to the Citizens' Hall of Fame have been restricted and are confidential.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use.

Return to Top

Custodial History

Donated by William Neville to the University of Manitoba Archives. The first accession was between 1985 and 1994, with additions in 1995 and 2005.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

Finding aid for 1985-1994 accessions; a finding aid for 2005 accessions (A.05-55; A.05-67)

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Personal Correspondence
Box Folder  
1 1 Personal Correspondence Vol.1, 1976-1995
  2 Personal Correspondence Vol.2, 1982-1993
  3 Personal Correspondence Vol.3, 1986-2002
  4 Personal Correspondence Vol.4, 1993-2006
  5 Personal Correspondence Vol. 5, 1980-1984
Box Folder  
2 1 Personal Correspondence Vo1. 6, 1971-2004
  2 Personal Correspondence Vol. 7, 1996-2001
  3 Personal Correspondence Vol. 8, 1982-1996
  4 Personal Correspondence Vol. 9, 1978-1989
Box Folder  
3 1 Personal Correspondence Vol. 10, 1986-1992
  2 Personal Correspondence Vol. 11, 1991-1996
  3 Personal Correspondence Vol. 12, 1984-1995
  4 Personal Correspondence Vol. 13, 1963-1993
  5 Personal Correspondence Vol. 14, 1978-1995
  6 Personal Correspondence Vol. 15, 1977-1990

Return to Top

Articles and Other Writings
 
Box Folder  
4 1 Articles and Other Writings (1), pt.1 1970-2003
  2 Articles and Other Writings (1), pt.2 1970-2003
  3 Articles and Other Writings (2), 1971-1999
  4 Articles and Other Writings (3), 1988-1993
  5 Articles and Other Writings (4), 1990-2001
  6 Articles, 1985-1996
Box Folder  
5 1 Articles and Other Writings (5), 1987-1994
  2 Articles and Other Writings (6), 1972-1994
  3 Articles and Other Writings (7), 1977-1993
  4 Articles and Other Writings (8), 1973-1985
  5 Articles and Other Writings (9), 1971-1991

Return to Top

List of Files
Box Folder  
6 1 Journal of Canadian Studies, 1986-1993
  2 City Council
  3 University of Manitoba Day of Concern, 1984
  4 Meech Lake
  5 Canadian Studies, 1983-1994
  6 Canadian Studies Awards, 1980-1986
  7 Letters of Appreciation, [ 1987-1996 ]
Box  
7 O/S Education for a New Century, Conference Program, May 15-17, 1994

Photographs - Album

Box Folder  
8 1C

Citizens Hall of Fame (1), 2003

Restricted
  2 C

Citizens Hall of Fame (2), 2004

Restricted
  3C

Citizens Hall of Fame (3), 1998-2005

Restricted
  4 Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (1), 1996-2001
  5 Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (2), 2002-2003
  6 Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (3), 1987-2004
Box Folder  
9 1 Tuxedo By-Election, 1979-1980
  2 University Legal Issues, 1979-1980
  3 Parasiuk Commission, 1984-1985
  4 City Council Report Card (newsletter), 1983
  5 City Council (1), 1988-1991
  5 City Council (2), 1979-1984
Box Folder  
10 1 Provincial Election 2003 (1)
  2 Provincial Election 2003 (2)
  3 Provincial Election 2003 (3)
  4 Underground Railroad Field Study, 1997
Box Folder  
11 1 Municipal Issues, 1991
  2 Personal Information, 1984-1995
  3 West End Cultural Centre, 1994
  4 Manitoba Heritage Council (1) pt.1 1995-96
  5 Manitoba Heritage Council (1) pt.2 1995-96
  4 Manitoba Heritage Council (2) 1994-96
Box Folder  
12 1 Zuken Memorial Association, 1996-1999
  2 Joseph Zuken Memorial Fund, 2001
  3 Joseph Zuken (1), 1987-1989
  4 Joseph Zuken (2), 1987-1989
  5 Joseph Zuken (3), 1986
  6 Winnipeg Public Library (1) pt.1, 1991-1996
  7 Winnipeg Public Library (1) pt.2, 1991
  8 Winnipeg Public Library (2), 1996
Box Folder  
13 1 St. Boniface Residents Association, 1991
  2 Border Crossings - Board Meeting, January 26, 1998
  3 Globe & Mail, 2003 (a letter re: review by Neville published in Globe & Mail)
  4 Political Studies, 1997
  5 Royal Visit, 2002
  6 EPAC, 2004
  7 Constitutional Conference, 1996
  8 Manuscript Development Committee, 1981-1995
  9 Bill Norries's Honorary Degree, 1993
  10 Eugene Forsey Memorial Fund, 1991
  11 Manitoba Constitution Task Force, 1990-91
  12 Canada Israel Foundation, 1991 (W. Neville's letter and CV)
  13 Canadian Library Association - CLA Speaker Agreement, 1991
  14 Border Crossings, 1991-1993
  15 Dr. William Gibson (CV), 2001
  16 CBC, 1995
Box Folder  
14 1 Course (19.776) - Canadian Politics, 1995
  2 Association for Canadian Studies, 2000
  3 Templeton Lectures (1), 2001-2003
  4 Templeton Lectures (2), 2002-2003
  5 W. Neville, Head of Political Studies, 1996-97
  6 South Dakota State University, 2003
  7 University of Manitoba Rhodes Advisory Committee, 2002-2003
  8 Exams, 1977-1993
  9 Evaluating Sheets, 1989-1991
  10 Course (19.276), 1986-1987
  11 Institute of Urban Studies, 1982-1984
Box Folder  
15 1 Course Outlines (1), 1985-2005
  2 Course Outlines (2), 1990-2002
  3 Red River Floodway, 1997
  4 NORAD, 2001
  5 Shanghai Connection, 1991-1992
  6 Canadian Club, 2000-2001
  7 Harold MacDonald
  8 Samuel Freedman Eulogy by A. Naimark, 1993
  9 Samuel Freedman, 1991-1993(includes Concentric Loyalties by S. Freedman)
Box Folder  
16 1 Eaton's Store (1), 2000-2001
  2 Eaton's Store (2), 2000-2001
  3 Elizabeth Willcock (1), 1992-1996
  4 Elizabeth Willcock (2), 1990-1991
  5 On Track (newsletter), 2001
Box Folder  
17 1 Council of Women of Winnipeg, 1992
  2 Heritage Grants, 1983-1985
  3 Jewish Mennonite Ukrainian Conference Schedule, 1995
  4 Social Planning Council (1), 1992
  5 Social Planning Council (2), 1993
  6 Michael Shaen, 1991-1992
  7 Riel Statue, 1991
  8 Urban Idea Centre, 1996
Box  
18 Reports, Speeches, Projects, Commissions, Conferences, Reviews 1975-1994
Box Folder  
19 1 Ronald Tuckwell, 1989
  2 Manitoban - (Neville, UMSU President), 1961-1962
  3 Mira Spivak, 1988-1994
  4 Royal Commission on Newspapers, 1980-1983
  5 University Education, 1976
  6 Conservatism, Liberalism, and Socialism in Canada by G. Horowitz (McGill University), 1966
  7 General Comments on Stewart Ms. - Editing Notes, 1977
  8 Margaret Laurence, 1986-1990 (articles, news releases)
Box Folder  
20 1 Inner City Voice, 1993-1994
  2 Great Plains Publishers, 1994
  3 Book Reviews, 1990-1993
  4 Downtown Winnipeg Business Improvement Zone, 1991
  5 Elections Canada, 1986-1988 (forms, instructions)
  6 Conservative Party, 1971-1992
  7 City of Winnipeg (Background Material), 1989-1991
  8 Manitoba Development, Buildings Revival (Backround Material), 1978-1992
Box Folder  
21 1 Evaluating Winnipeg's Unicity, 1984-1986
  2 Free Press Column Correspondence, 1993-1994
  3 Meech Lake Accord, 1988-1989
  4 University Papers (Assistant to the President - Position Description), 1988
  5 Canadian Register of Heritage Properties: Annual Report, 1992
  6 Lieutenant Governor's Medal (University announcement), 2002
  7 James Rouse, Community Revitalization Conference, 1984
  8 PC Constitution, 1992
  9 Lee Southern (CV, Correspondence), 1987-1992
  10 Television Production Facilities (Service Agreement), 1988
  11 Globe and Mail Articles, 1993
  12 Theatre Bookstore Addresses (Paul Scofield), 1992

Return to Top