Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Kip Park fonds: PC 157 (A.01-04)

Kip Park:

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lori Podolsky Nordland
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(August 2002)

Finding aid encoded by Lori Podolsky Nordland (August 2002)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - PC 157 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Kip Park
 
Title:
Kip Park fonds
 
Dates:
1904-1999; predominant 1980-1999
 
Quantity:
9 m of textural records -- 2898 photographs -- 893 negative strips -- 415 slides -- 2 photographic proof sheets -- 2 VHS tapes -- 3 Hi8 cassettes
 
Identification:
PC 157
 
Language:
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Kip Park

Christopher “Kip” Park was born 31 July 1939, and died at the age of 59 years on 20 June 1999. Born to Eleanor and Halsey Park, he, along with his brother Michael, had lived in Winnipeg for much of his life. In 1972, he married Sylvia Mouflier. Together, Park and his wife have shared common interests in the environment and have worked side-by-side as communication specialists. His interests in film production and art culminated in receiving an international award for first place in the American Association for Conservation Information (1971), an award of merit from the Art Directors Club of Toronto (1973-74) and completing a Bachelor of Fine Arts (1985).

He graduated from the University of Manitoba, first in 1968 with a Bachelor of Arts (honours) with majors in Urban Sociology and Urban Planning, then in 1985 with a Bachelor of Fine Arts (ceramics). In addition to obtaining two Bachelor degrees, Park also received a certificate in Television Studio Production from Ryerson Polytechnical Institute Extension Department in 1968.

While attending the University of Manitoba in the late 1950s and early 1960s, Park was a member of the Glee Club and served on the University of Manitoba Students’ Union (UMSU). He received three awards in recognition of service as a Glee Club member in 1958 and 1960, and as Glee Club chairman in 1959. For his meritorious service to The Manitoban , Park was inducted into the “Ancient and Honourable Order of The Rubber Type with Coffee Bean Cluster” for both 1958-59 and 1959-60. In addition, he also served as the Public Relations Chairman for the university’s students’ union in 1962.

During his academic years, Park worked for both The Winnipeg Tribune and The Manitoban , the university’s campus newspaper. At The Winnipeg Tribune , he worked as the University of Manitoba campus correspondent, writing numerous articles between 1960 to approximately 1978. In 1959, Park began as a news reporter for The Manitoban . In the following year he was promoted to Executive Editor. He maintained this position for the 1960-61 school year, and afterwards, he wrote sporadic articles for the paper.

In 1965, Park left on his second overseas trip. While in Europe, he traveled to several countries including Scotland (1966), England, and Greece (1967) as well as visiting Japan in 1968. In addition to his travels, Park worked in London, England and Kerkyra-Corfu Islands, Greece. During his time abroad, he documented various cultural and historical landmarks in his slide collection. After living in Europe for two years, he returned home to Winnipeg in 1967.

At this time, Park began his career in radio and television obtaining employment as a producer at the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, where he remained until 1969. He then accepted a position with Manitoba Department of Mines, Resources and Environmental Management as head and senior conservation education officer of the Public Education sector. In 1973, Park moved to Ottawa, Canada to become the manager of media relations for the Metric Commission of Canada. He continued to gain experience in the radio and television industry, coordinating national media campaigns to introduce Canadians to the new metric system. As well, he carried on researching, writing and editing numerous publications and reports for the Metric Commission of Canada. Park remained in Ottawa until 1976, when he returned to Winnipeg as a freelance journalist.

Aside from working as a journalist, Park was also a full-time writer and photographer. In addition to writing numerous articles, he wrote two unpublished manuscripts, one about the history of Winnipeg, and the other, an untitled novel. His photograph collections span the artistic to the professional fields, some of which have graced the covers of Canadian and American magazines, and many have been used to illustrate his articles. One of his more notable collections includes the photographs of the historical architectural buildings in Winnipeg. Although a number of photographs have been deposited at the Archives & Special Collections at the University of Manitoba Libraries, a series is also housed at the Western Canadian Pictorial Index in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

From 1976 until shortly before his death in 1999, Park wrote copious articles on housing, construction and energy technologies as well as Winnipeg heritage. His articles have appeared in a variety of national and international magazines such as Transportation Business , Heavy Construction News , Cottage Life , Harrowsmith and Fine Homebuilding . Additionally, some of his articles have been carried in national publications, such as his article “Sick-building Syndrome” which appeared in The Financial Post (30 November 1987). His main interest, however, has been researching and writing publications and feature articles highlighting the historical and architectural significance of Winnipeg (and Manitoba) heritage buildings and districts.

During this time period, he became a regular contributor to The Winnipeg Real Estate News (1982-1999) and The Manitoba Co-Operator . In addition, he worked from approximately 1982 to 1988 as the editor for The Home Report , a monthly publication of the Manitoba Home Builders’ Association. In researching and writing many of his articles, Park collected various newspaper and magazine clippings, and company/product brochures as source material which otherwise was unavailable. This resulted in a series of research files focusing on topics such as Winnipeg and Manitoba businesses, local economy, industry and technology, environmental issues as well as information on Manitoba heritage. As a result of his extensive research, his articles have covered many diverse topics for the home renovator and the local historian.

In 1984, he researched and wrote The Historic Winnipeg Restoration Area – An Illustrated Guide to Winnipeg’s Historic Warehouse District for Heritage Winnipeg. In the same year, he also wrote an 80th anniversary history for The Winnipeg Construction Association. Park also researched and wrote the 50th anniversary history of the Manitoba Home Builders’ Association in 1988. In 1994, he prepared a history of the St. Vital area, including a walking tour guide for the St. Vital Historical Society. He continued to work with Heritage Winnipeg to review and update the heritage resources of the city. This lead to other projects, and in 1988, together with Heritage Winnipeg and the South Osborne Historical Society, he introduced younger generations to a realm of Winnipeg’s past and heritage.

In 1976, Park, along with his wife Sylvia Mouflier, formed Write Works Inc., a home business. As communication specialists, they specialized in translating complex technical terms and concepts into readable and readily understood language for articles, newspapers, brochures, pamphlets and booklets. Together, they wrote, illustrated and produced product literature for Manitoba companies, as well as advising corporations and other clients on communications strategies. With hands-on experience in residential construction, including an understanding of the technical aspects and requirements of modern-day housing, they designed and produced brochures, news releases and promotional write-ups for ditech, Welclad and Kraft Construction.

Park’s “hands-on” experience in housing construction was gained when he rebuilt his cabin at Shoal Lake. His enthusiasm for the environmental conservation and energy efficient housing resulted in his ability to design his cabin using solar energy and environmentally consciousness technology. As a result, articles on the cabin have appeared in several magazines including Cottage Life .

During his professional career, Park was a member of the Winnipeg Free Press Club and participated in the Beer & Skits nights. He was invited to several media and press releases, such as the opening of the Imax Theatre and the construction of the new building at 400 St. Mary’s Avenue. The fonds, thus, contains pamphlets and other textual material acquired from media events.

Aside from Park’s journalists career, he enjoyed various aspects of the Arts. During his visit to Greece, he was introduced to the field of pottery making, and in due course, formalizing his training in the Fine Arts programme at the University of Manitoba in the 1980s. Many pieces of Park’s pottery currently grace the homes of friends and family. Park was also strongly interested in drawing and photography. Part of the Kip Park fonds contains black and white photographs from his photography course and of his cabin at Shoal Lake. Like his pottery, his line drawings have also been presented to a number of his friends and family. As well, the fonds contains a sample of his line drawings along with other artwork. In addition, Park and his wife, Sylvia, have enjoyed the ballet for several years, having been season ticket holders for opening night performances.

Kip Park described himself as a creative and imaginative writer, photographer and editor with nearly forty years experience in print, electronic and visual media. His achievements in film and print attest to his interest in heritage and his concern for environmental issues. His collection of papers will benefit future research in Winnipeg’s architectural heritage.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds consists of material mainly relating to Kip Park’s writing career, created between 1976 and 1999. This includes correspondence, handwritten and typed notes, newspaper and magazine clippings, drafts, manuscripts, videocassettes, photographs and personal artwork.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 2 series.

  • A. STILL IMAGES, 1962-1999
  • B. MOVING IMAGES, 1987; 1994

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the material in this fonds. Researchers must abide by the relevant copyright legislation if they wish to use any material in any published form.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Kip Park's wife Sylvia Mouflier to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections.

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

Manuscript Collection MSS 149

Return to Top


 

Detailed Description of the Collection

A. STILL IMAGES 1962-1999
Box Folder  
1 1-15

i. Photography course 1980-1981

120 photographs

ii. Photographs - research and work (colour)
Box Folder  
1 16

Park

19 photographs

  17

Advanced House ’93 1993

7 negative strips

  18

Lake June 94 1994

16 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  19

Supercrete Installing new window Sept 94 1994

19 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  20

Supercrete Sept 94 1994

18 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  21

Lake Oct 95 1995

16 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  22

untitled

10 photographs -- 7 negative strips

Box Folder  
2 1

Charleswood Bridge Mar/95 1995

36 photographs -- 11 negative strips

  2

July 95 1995

36 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  3

July 95 1995

12 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  4

July 95 Dredging Red River at Selkirk #205 1995

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  5

Riverview Hospital July 95 1995

18 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  6

Sept 95 Lockport 1995

15 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  7

Sept 95 Main-Norwood Bridge 1995

21 photographs

  8

Sept 95 Lake 1995

13 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  9

Sept 95 Oak Hammock Rolled Pattern Concrete 1995

12 photographs -- 11 negative strips

  10

Oct 95 1995

10 photographs

  11

Norwood Bridge Dec 95 1995

36 photographs -- 10 negative strips

  12

CP Station Feb 96 1996

8 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  13

Export House – Lake Oct 95 1995

7 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  14

Export House – Walter Geddart Site Supervisor Oct 95 1995

10 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  15

Export House Dec 1995 1995

21 photographs -- 8 negative strips

  16

Export House Habitat – i.e. winter activities Feb 96 1996

18 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  17

Export House Habitat winter cities opening with Susan Thompson Feb 96 1996

16 photographs -- 5 negative strips

Box Folder  
3 1

Export House Habitat – early winter cities ’96 Feb 96 1996

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  2

Main-Norwood Bridge Mar 96 1996

20 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  3

Streetcar #396 Thompson slag engine June 96 1996

21 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  4

Short Hole Golf July 96 Taylor & Waverly 1996

8 photographs -- 3 negative strips

  5

Short Hole Golf July 96 Taylor & Waverly 1996

28 photographs -- 10 negative strips

  6

Fort Osborne Barracks retro July 96 1996

21 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  7

Rooftop views from Fort Garry Hotel Aug 96 1996

18 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  8

Rooftop views from Fort Garry Hotel Aug 96 Happy Harry’s sleds from door inserts 1996

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  9

WPG Skyline from Richardson Bldg. July 96 1996

26 photographs -- 8 negative strips

  10

WPG Skyline from Richardson Bldg. July 96 1996

10 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  11

WPG Skyline from Richardson Bldg. July 96 1996

25 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  12

WPG Skyline from Richardson Bldg. July 96 1996

25 photographs -- 8 negative strips

  13

Fort Garry Hotel reno Aug 96 1996

14 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  14

Aqueduct repairs Sept 96 1996

28 photographs -- 10 negative strips

  15

Aqueduct repairs Sept 96 1996

23 photographs -- 8 negative strips

  16

Man. Museum of Man & Nature HBC artifacts Kathy Pettipas Oct 96 1996

19 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  17

Aqueduct 351 Assiniboine Oct 96 1996

3 photographs -- 2 negative strips

  18

Fort Garry Hotel Repainting Main-Norwood Bridge Oct 96 1996

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

Box Folder  
4 1

Main-Norwood Bridge Demolition of Old Norwood Br. WAG Walls Fork Ceremonial Pit Nov 96 1996

29 photographs -- 9 negative strips

  2

Forks – with snow – Nov 96 1996

16 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  3

Cutting Lumber from diseased elms – Fort Gibralter Feb 97 1997

24 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  4

Alex Proskiw – Forks Bridge Norwood Bridge under construction Feb 97 1997

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  5

Assiniboine Park Pavilion Riverview Hospital Feb 97 1997

16 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  6

Don McIntosh log/leaf chipper Forks – bridge to South Point Mar 97 1997

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  7

“Steve” sign painter

1 negative strip

  8

Urban decay (bridge; road) Elie strawboard Plant Dick Duquette Mar 97 1997

24 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  9

Fork South Point March blizzard Main St Underpass potholes Mar 97 1997

35 photographs -- 9 negative strips

  10

Main-Norwood Bridge East Yards Railway Bridge Mar 97 1997

25 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  11

Flooding – Elm Park Bridge south WPG April 97 1997

20 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  12

Forks – flood May 97 1997

24 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  13

Army Parade after flood – Roof – Fort Garry Hotel May 97 1997

25 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  14

Interiors – Ft Garry Hotel Seine River sewer sucker May 97 1997

14 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  15

Provencher Bridge repairs – Gord Smith Winnie-the-Pooh & Kerry Renaud Assiniboine Park Zoo July 97 1997

7 photographs -- 4 negative strips

  16

Provencher Bridge repairs July 97 1997

24 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  17

Provencher Bridge repair June 97 1997

21 photographs -- 8 negative strips

  18

Provencher Bridge (underneath) Fort Garry Hotel June 97 1997

18 photographs -- 7 negative strips

Box Folder  
5 1

Provencher Bridge repair May 97 1997

19 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  2

Forks Downtown Forks Bridge June 97 1997

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  3

Main-Norwood Bridge southern piers under construction Aug 97 1997

16 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  4

Main-Norwood Bridge Pier Construction Kip LeFarge beams & forum Aug 97 1997

20 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  5

Vince Bergeu Sounding Stone Handprint tiles Assiniboine Park Zoo Headingley Bridge Dr. Sami Razkella Aug 97 1997

12 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  6

Italian Canadian Cultural Centre aerial shots – WPG farmland being harvested Aug 97 1997

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  7

Aerials – Herc flight to Sask Aug 97 1997

26 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  8

Italian Cultural center Herc crew Aug 97 1997

19 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  9

202 Langside – reno of 1906 house – neighborhood rejuvenation Oct 97 1997

15 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  10

Fort Garry Hotel – interiors – parking structure Sept 97 1997

25 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  11

York Ave overpass Sept 97 1997

21 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  12

York Ave overpass Norwood Bridge [?] Gervin Greasley Oct 97 1997

18 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  13

Letellier Man. Coop Grain Elevators Oct 97 1997

23 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  14

Main-Norwood York Ave overpass Jerry Potrupa’s house 487 Provencher Dec 97 1997

50 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  15

Prairie Dog Central Jan 98 1998

34 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  16

Assiniboine Park Pavilion before reno interiors Jan 98 1998

38 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  17

Hamilton/B of C Union Tower City Hall Traveller’s bldg. Feb 98 1998

9 photographs -- 4 negative strips

Box Folder  
6 1

Pavilion – demolition for reconstruction Mike Huen – Mike’s General Store confluence of Red & Assiniboine Dec 97 1997

34 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  2

Curling Assiniboine Park Pavilion Feb 98 1998

36 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  3

Main-Norwood Bridge Construction April 98 1998

50 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  4

Assiniboine Park Pavilion April 98 1998

15 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  5

Floodway Dick Aril 98 1998

4 photographs -- 9 negative strips -- 1 proof sheet

  6

Main Norwood Bridge Strawboard plant Elie April 98 1998

52 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  7

Strawboard plant – Elie – curling ice temps March 98 1998

52 photographs -- 8 negative strips

  8

Red River Community College – white topping parking lot July 98 1998

19 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  9

Concrete swimming pool driveway

61 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  10

St. Vital “Overlook” Const. Workshops – Ed Tobaschuk July 98 1998

21 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  11

Portage/Main renewal PV system Aug 98 1998

13 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  12

Portage/Main renewal St. Boniface Cultural Centre Aug 98 1998

22 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  13

Solar – Tech battery saver at Lafarge Doug Eryou Sept 98 1998

18 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  14

Views of the Forks Sept 98 1998

23 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  15

St. Mary’s Road streetscaping Sept 98 1998

48 photographs -- 6 negative strips

  16

St. Mary’s Road Promenade construction Lake – fall foliage Oct 98 1998

45 photographs -- 8 negative strips

Box Folder  
7 1

St. Mary’s Rd overlook Christmas cranes (poor) Dec 98 1998

20 photographs -- 4 negative strips

  2

Provencher Bridge – showing deterioration Jan 99 1999

11 photographs -- 5 negative strips -- 1 proof sheet

  3

Able Cranes Xmas Tree Leland Bldg Rubble Jan 99 1999

17 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  4

The Forks – Children’s Museum – Sculptural concrete columns & river in winter April 99 1999

43 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  5

Baseball Stadium April 99 1999

20 photographs -- 5 negative strips

  6

Children’s Museum – Forks Global Ball Park April 99 1999

23 photographs -- 7 negative strips

  7

Global Ball Park May 99 1999

7 photographs -- 4 negative strips

  8

Gillies Quarries 1979 1979

40 photographs -- 18 negative strips

  9

Building Products Pct

1 photograph -- 1 negative strip

iii. Photographs - research and work (black and white) 1985; 1988
Box Folder  
7 10-25

Buildings

213 photographs

  26-34

Housing '85 1985

128 photographs

Box Folder  
8 1-8

Business '88 1988

71 photographs

  9

Betty Rouke Core Area Initiative Story Oct 83 1983

2 photographs -- 2 negative strips

  10

Waffle Crete

13 photographs -- 3 negative strips

  11

Rudy Friesen MAN Architects Pres Mar 80 1980

3 photographs -- 1 negative strip

  12

Dick Girling City Mar 80 1980

3 photographs -- 1 negative strip

  13

Cauck Lee

1 photograph -- 1 negative strip

  14

Bill Giesbrecht Pres – MAN Ready Mix Ascn

​2 photographs -- 1 negative strip

iv. Photographs - Miscellaneous

Box Folder  
8 15 33 photographs

v. Negatives

Box Folder  
8 16 224 negative strips

vi. Slides

Box Folder  
8 17

Slides 1962-1995

404 slides

Return to Top


G. MOVING IMAGES 1987; 1994
i. 8mm 1987
Box Folder  
9 1 Tape 1 Heat Fab Helicopter Inspec Installation
  2 Tape 2 Heat Pipes The Movie [1987]
  3 Tape 4 Heat Pipes Dec/87 Trip #Install Twr 125 1987
ii. VHS 1994
Box Folder  
9 4 To the Northern Lights 1994
  5 Const. of the HBR Railway

Return to Top