Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

University of Manitoba Memorabilia Collections: University of Manitoba Glee Club Collection

University of Manitoba Glee Club:

Call Number: MSS 347 (A2003-38)

Title: University of Manitoba Glee Club Collection

Dates: 1947-1958

Extent: 1.5 cm of textual and graphic material

Biographical sketch: Rosemary Malaher (née Stevens) grew up in Winnipeg, attending Kelvin High School and the University of Manitoba, attaining a B.A. in 1958 and B.Ped. in 1959. She taught for one year in England, 1959-60 and traveled in Europe before returning to Winnipeg. While raising her family, she was involved in many volunteer activities including the Junior League of Winnipeg and St. Andrew’s United Church. A desire to be active in community affairs led to the Winnipeg Council of Women and an appointment to the Manitoba Environmental Council, both of which she chaired.
From 1977 to 1983 she was Executive Director of the Manitoba Historical Society, and subsequently on its Council and Executive. Malaher has written articles for Manitoba History and The Beaver and co-edited Stories Houses Tell, a collection of articles written by Lillian Gibbons. For the benefit of the Manitoba Historical Society, Malaher prepared and conducted several walking tours in Winnipeg. From 1988 to 1990, she was President of the Society. She was elected as Manitoba’s representative to the board of the Heritage Canada Foundation and served from 1990 to 1996. Malaher retired to British Columbia in 1995 and volunteers at the Whistler Museum.
Malaher is connected with a family network of University of Manitoba alumni. Rosemary's grandfather, James W. Armstrong, received an M.D. in 1893; her mother, Flora Stevens (née Armstrong) a B.A. in 1923; her aunt, Ida Armstrong, a B.Sc. in 1926 and M.D. in 1936. Her husband, David Malaher, received a B.Sc.M.E. in 1958 and Certificate in Business Administration in 1975. David's mother, Margaret Malaher (née Wade), received a B.A. in 1928; his father, Gerald Malaher, achieved university entrance at St. John's College in 1928 to go on to a B.Sc. in Forestry from the University of New Brunswick in 1931, and was made an Honourary Fellow of St. John's College in 1969; his sister, Patricia Holman (née Malaher), received a B.A. in 1954 and B.Ped. in 1955. Malaher’s had children that also attended the University of Manitoba, and she and her husband created the David and Rosemary Malaher Libraries Fund.

Custodial history: Collection of theatre publications and programs collected by Rosemary Malaher and donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 2003. 

Scope and content: Collection consists of 8 programs:
Choral Symphony – Concert Program – March 5, 1954
“Rose Marie: A Light Opera in Three Acts” – Concert Program – January 30 to February 3, 1951
“Carousel” – Concert Program – [1955?]
“Song of Norway” – Concert Program – [195-?]
“Brigadoon” – Concert Program – 1947
“Finian’s Rainbow” – Concert Program – [ca. 1950]
“Wonderful Town” – Concert Program – 1958
“Girl Crazy” – Concert Program – [1957?]

Restrictions: There are no restrictions on this material.

Accruals: No further accruals are expected.

Finding aid: A finding aid is currently unavailable.