Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journal Articles and Films
If you don't find what you're looking for with our library search, try one of the specialized resources below.
American Film Scripts Online
The American Film Scripts database is an indexed electronic archive of selected American film scripts. It contains a bibliographic and biographical database of directors, writers, and the full text of selected film scripts. The database will be useful for film studies as well as for the study of popular culture, ethnic and gender issues, diversity studies, language and linguistics, writing, American history, anthropology, sociology and psychology.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully indexes content from many arts and humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
Communication & Media Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
The Communication Studies Collection includes full-text journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
Drama Online: The Hollow Crown Collection
Please Note: Effective July 14, 2021, this resource has migrated to a new platform; it continues to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries.
The Hollow Crown Series brings to life Shakespeare’s history plays, covering five generations of medieval struggle, woven with the finest of Shakespeare’s poetry, and filmed in the architecture and landscape of the period. The plays include: Richard II, Richard III, Henry IV, Henry V, and Henry VI.
This critically-acclaimed series features a star-studded cast, including Benedict Cumberbatch, David Tennant, Ben Whishaw, Jeremy Irons, Judi Dench, Hugh Bonneville, and Tom Hiddleston.
Europeana is a multilingual heritage portal with images contributed by European libraries, museums, archives, and multi-media collections.
Rights are clearly indicated and vary by contributor. Please refer to Europeana's Terms and Policies
Film Literature Index
The Film Literature Index indexes hundreds of film & TV periodicals from 30 countries, with publications ranging from the scholarly and critical to the popular. Published by the Film and Television Documentation Center at the State University of New York (SUNY).
Access selected videos on Kanopy, an on-demand streaming video service. Students and staff may recommend that the University of Manitoba Libraries consider acquiring Kanopy videos that will support their research and/or academic work.
Coverage: 8th century - present
Literature Online is a resource for the study and teaching of English literature. It is a fully integrated service that combines the text of literary works (poetry, prose, and drama) with criticism and reference resources. Content also includes scholarly journals covering aspects of literary studies.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, from the Modern Language Association of America, indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, and includes citations from journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
Titles from BFI Publishing's list of books on film history, theory, national cinemas, genres, film-makers, and stars. It includes titles published in the BFI Screen Guides, World Directors, Film Stars, BFI Silver and International Screen Industries series, as well as essential companions to film studies such as Pam Cook’s The Cinema Book.
Victorian Popular Culture
Coverage: 1779 - 1930
Victorian Popular Culture is a resource for the study of popular entertainment during the Victorian Era, containing a range of source material from America, Britain and Europe.
The resource is divided into four sections:
- Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
- Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
- Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
- Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic