Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites providing basic information about genetics
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
This website from the National Institute of Health lists many commonly used genetic terms and puts them into plain English as explained by researchers and scientists in the field. The glossary is fully searchable and each glossary term contains an audio file, so a person can hear how the term is correctly pronounced. Some terms may also contain an illustration and/or 3D animation of the term.
This website from the University of Utah provides a thorough, interactive guide covering basic information about genetics. All information is explained in an easy-to-understand format.
DNA Learning Center
This website from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory is designed to educate students and to guide teachers to useful educational tools to assist students learning about genetics. It contains lots of useful resources.
Stanford at the Tech Understanding Genetics
This website from Stanford University provides basic information about genetics including "what is a gene", "genetic testing", how genes influence disease, and much more.
This website provides up-to-date news items of interest in genetics. "GenomeWeb’s editorial mission is to serve readers with exclusive, in-depth coverage of the technology, institutions, and scientists that make up the worldwide research enterprise of molecular biology. We operate the largest online news organization focused on advanced research tools in genomics, proteomics, and bioinformatics. Our expert editors report and write with precision and clarity."-from their About page
General genetic databases
NAR's Database List
The Oxford journal Nucleic Acids Research comes out each year with an extensive list of databases used in genetics research. Use this website to find and link to a database in a specific area such as "Metabolic and Signaling Pathways". You can also get to the literature from this journal that discusses a specific database.
One of the most used genetic databases available online it cross searches a variety of databases for genetic information in the life sciences. A good starting point when needing specific genetic information for your research.
Phylogenetic classification of proteins encoded in complete genomes
KEGG Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes
KEGG Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes is a database of the metabolic pathways in different organims. It neatly displays these pathways and the enzymes and metabolites involved in them. It is easiest to use if you enter an EC number for a particular enzyme. To do this, choose SEARCH OBJECTS IN KEGG PATHWAYS from the top table. Enter your EC number and click Exec.
DDBJ - DNA data bank of Japan
This database collects nucleotide sequence information from researchers in Japan and throughout Asia and is fully searchable and contains searches of this database using BLAST and ClustalW. There is also a section on their website with how to use DDBJ as well as a training guide for this database. It shares nucleotide sequence information with its European counterparts EMBL and North American counterparts GenBank.
This database collects nucleotide sequence information from researchers primarily from Europe. It is fully searchable and links to other useful databases.
This database collects nucleotide sequence information from researchers primarily from North America.
ExPASy - Expert Protein Analysis System
This database is a major resource for bioinformatics information and links to many import research tools when analysing proteins.
SCOP - Structural Classification of Proteins
This database is searchable and finds structural information on proteins. It also contains links to other protein structural databases from its homepage. "The SCOP database, created by manual inspection and abetted by a battery of automated methods, aims to provide a detailed and comprehensive description of the structural and evolutionary relationships between all proteins whose structure is known. As such, it provides a broad survey of all known protein folds, detailed information about the close relatives of any particular protein, and a framework for future research and classification."-taken from SCOP's mainpage
This database is a key resource for looking up and comparing protein sequences.
Model organism databases
Generic Model Organism Database
This article from Wikipedia links to a listing of various model organism databases such as WormBase, FlyBase, TAIR, and Rat Genome Database.
Genetic & Genomic Resources for Model Organisms
Here is another website that lists and links to model organism databases. This one is from the National Institutes of Health and lists the databases alphabetically by scientific organism name.
This webpage as part of a larger subject guide from the University of Michigan Library contains links to the most commonly used organisms in genetics such as Arabidopsis, Zebrafish, etc.
This database provides a quick, searchable interface for enzymes only providing information about their nomenclature, physical & chemical properties, and links to the scientific literature where the data was taken from.