Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page
Find articles page includes the following:
If the above links don't help, either use the AskaLibrarian chat box in the upper right-hand corner or email Vickie Albrecht directly for assistance.
Looking for scientific articles in genetics?
You can click on the links to one of the databases listed below or use the One Stop Search box from the Libraries to do a quick search for articles. The most popular database used in genetics is PubMed.
If you require more research assistance please contact your librarian, use AskaLibrarian online service, or visit an information desk at one of the University of Manitoba Libraries.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 8
The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense.
It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
OMMBID: The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Scriver's OMMID is a compendium of genetic disorders, providing information on the molecular and metabolic origins of a growing list of diseases, including updates on pathophysiology and treatment. Also included are new and revised chapters and supplements that summarize important discoveries in medical genetics that impact the practice of clinical medicine or advance the understanding of human malformation.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Please Note: As of August 15, 2022, the classic SciFinder database has become SciFinder-n. SciFinder accounts created before the change should still work.
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty, and Staff
SciFinder-n provides online access to Chemical Abstracts, the CASREACT chemical reactions database, chemical suppliers, chemical property data, Chemical Abstracts Registry File, and Medline.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary science database for finding scholarly information. Includes an option for users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Searching Tips for Information on Genes in PubMed
One gene can have several different names. Combine for the different names of a gene with an OR to create a more complete search.For example:SCGB2A2 OR MGB1 OR mammaglobin. NCBI's Gene database is a good source for synonyms to build a more comprehensive PubMed search. For additional information see NCBI's tips on finding published information on a gene or sequence.
NCBI How to: Find published information on a gene or sequence