Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

How to search PubMed

Accessing free full-text in PubMed

screen capture showing the left hand column of a pubmed results page focused on the filters for text availability

To show free full text apply the filter to your search results:

  1. From the PubMed main search window.
  2. Run a search in PubMed.
  3. On the results page, click the check box next to Free full text. 

A check mark will appear next to the activated filter(s). The results displayed are only those with Free full text. 

Note: This filter is best suited for individuals who do not have library access to provide full-text.

Login to access UM Libraries full-text

For University of Manitoba students, staff and faculty, accessing PubMed from the UM Libraries connects you to the UM Libraries full-text materials.

To access PubMed from the UM Libraries:

  1. Go to the main UM Libraries home page.
  2. Click Databases A-Z.
  3. Click "P" from the alphabet list.
  4. Scroll down until you see PubMed and click on the link.
  5. If you are accessing PubMed from home, you will be asked to login with your UMNetID and password. These are the same credentials you use to access your UM email account.

On the How to search PubMed library guide, click on the Access PubMed link on the left-hand side of this guide.

Accessing UM Libraries full-text in PubMed

You can access the full-text of materials that the UM Libraries owns or subscribes to using the Check Access (button) in PubMed.

A yellow box with black text of the words Check Access

To access UM Libraries full text in PubMed:

  1. Run a search in PubMed.
  2. On the results page, click on the title of an article you wish to read.
  3. Look for and click on the Check Access (button) on the right hand side of the screen.
  4. Follow the directions on the resulting screen.

Ordering articles

If you can't access the full-text of an article in PubMed, the UM Libraries offers a free document ordering service for UM students, staff and faculty. Requests for articles can take 3-5 business days to send the article to your email inbox. Fill in the below form to start this process: