Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bets for Articles
Social Services Abstracts
This database should be the first place you start your search. It covers areas/topics in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development.
This is a major sociology database that covers topics in sociology, and many areas in social work. This should be the second place you search after Social Services Abstracts.
Social Work Abstracts
This is a smaller database that focuses on topics in social work, including theory and practice, along with social issues and problems. This is a good place to search after Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
If your topic is focused on children, adolescents, or families this is a good place to search for those topics. It covers current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through to the age of 21.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
This database focuses on topics related to children and family studies. It covers topics in human development, social welfare and human ecology.
For more suggestions on places to find articles, please see Find Articles tab in this libguide.
Best Bets for Policies
This is a searchable site for Canadian policies/legislation. It has all federal, provincial, and municipal policies.
Justice Laws Website
This site provides all Canadian federal legislation.
This site provides all Manitoba Laws. Search by typing in keywords or the name of the provincial act in the search box.
For more suggestions on places to find policies, please see Find Policies tab in this libguide.
Best Bets for Video Resources
Social Work Online
Social Work Online is a multimedia resource that combines video—documentaries and client demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.
A searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Designed for teaching, training, and education, the database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles.
Access selected videos on Kanopy, an on-demand streaming video service. Students and staff may recommend that the University of Manitoba Libraries consider acquiring Kanopy videos that will support their research and/or academic work.
CAMPUS is the online media portal of the National Film Board of Canada, containing documentaries, animated films, interactive productions, and short films in English and French.