LibGuides: Psychology: Assessments, Tests, & Measures

Introduction

This page lists sources for identifying test instruments, finding test reviews, and some sources that include the full-text of selected instruments. A complete psychological instrument may sometimes be reproduced in a journal article, book, or thesis, but often these tools can only be obtained by paying a fee to the publisher of the instrument.

The APA has a brief guide to Finding Information About Psychological Tests.

Finding Tests

Buros Tests in Print
Provides a comprehensive bibliography of commercially available tests in English and guides readers to test reviews in Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
From the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. Online searchable Ebsco database of descriptions and reviews of commercially available tests incorporates all previous editions of the MMY and integrates Tests in Print. Search by keyword, test name, author, or test category.

Databases

Article databases like PsycINFO can be used to locate published journal articles that describe, validate, and employ tests and will sometimes include the full text of the instrument.

PsycINFO
Tips:
- Search on the name of the test as a subject heading or key word
- Search on a test keyword in the Tests & Measures field (.tm.)
- Limit a keyword search to Tests & Measures on Limits screen
Searching PsycINFO for Tests & Measures [video]
ERIC
Medline
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Tests and measures are sometimes included in the appendix of dissertations. Also search Google Scholar for open dissertations.
ETS Test Collection
A large database of tests and measures with availability information. ETS distributes some tests for a fee.
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database
A database from the Alcohol & Drug Abuse Institute for locating instruments.

Additional Tests and Measures Resources

Resources below provide additional guides to tests and measures, including many unpublished or non-commercial instruments. Some of these sources reproduce selected instruments.

Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures by Bert A. Goldman, John L. Saunders, David F. Mitchell

Measures for psychological assessment: a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications by Ki-Taek Chun

Positive psychological assessment: a handbook of models and measures by Matthew W. Gallager, Shane J. Lopez

Major psychological assessment instruments

The clinical measurement package: a field manual by Walter Hudson

Handbook of psychological assessment by Gerald Goldstein, Daniel N. Allen, John DeLuca (Academic Press, 2019)

Handbook of psychological assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat, Jordan A. Wright (Wiley, 2016)

Handbook of psychiatric measures by American Psychiatric Association. Task Force for the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures.

Handbook of clinical rating scales and assessment in psychiatry and mental health by Lee Baer

Measures for clinical practice and research: a sourcebook by Kevin Corcoran, Joel Fischer

Guide to assessments that work by John Hunsley, Eric J. Mash

Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessment in psychology, education, and business by Taddy Maddox

Beidas, R., Stewart, R., Walsh, L., Lucas, S., Downey, M., Jackson, K., … Mandell, D. (2015). Free, Brief, and Validated: Standardized Instruments for Low-Resource Mental Health Settings. Cognitive and Behavioral Practice, 22(1), 5–19. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cbpra.2014.02.002