Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

SR resources for Librarians: Tools & Templates

Cochrane Library - Ovid - EBM Reviews

Persistent link to medline searchs (short search histories)

Create a search link (max 20 lines) in OvidSP

Create a persistent link to your search from your Ovid search history by following the instructions. Patrons can click on the search link to perform the search and view the latest results

BalanceBraces

Press

PRESS Peer Review of Electronic Search Strategies: 2015 Guideline Explanation and Elaboration  - CADTH Methods and Guidelines document (January 2016)

PRESS Forum - an online wiki where search strategies can be posted for PRESS review by other librarians.

Important note: PRESS reviews are conducted on a voluntary basis, it can be months before anyone looks at your search.

MeSH on Demand

MeSH on Demand analyses a block of text (up to 10,000 characters) and gives you a list of relevant MeSH Terms.

 

Yale MeSH Analyzer

The Mesh Analyzer creates a table of Mesh terms and author keywords for specific articles when you enter their PMIDs. A plugin is also available to streamline analysis of articles you select in pubmed.

 

A Comparison of Emtree® and MeSH® July 2015

A white paper from Elsevier R&D Solutions.

Systematic Review Toolbox

The Systematic Review Toolbox is a community-driven, searchable, web-based catalogue of tools that support the systematic review process across multiple domains. The resource aims to help reviewers find appropriate tools based on how they provide support for the systematic review process. Users can perform a simple keyword search (i.e. Quick Search) to locate tools, a more detailed search (i.e. Advanced Search) allowing users to select various criteria to find specific types of tools and submit new tools to the database.

PRISMA 2020

Noteworthy changes:

 

Modification of the ‘Search’ item to recommend authors present full search strategies for ALL databases, registers and websites searched, not just at least one database (see item #7)

Conversation Checklist

 

Search Log

A sample search log template (excel) from (?)

Search strategies must provide enough detail that someone unfamiliar with the search could reproduce it. Aspects of your search to report include the following:

  • Exact search strategies
  • Databases searched
  • Database interfaces used
  • Date searches were run
  • Database dates
  • Order records were imported into reference managing software (RMS)
  • Initial number of results retrieved from searches
  • Number of results retrieved by databases after de-duping
  • Total number of references
  • Any keywords or numbers used to identify references in RMS (e.g. "Medline Search" for records retrieved through Medline search)
  • Name of search, if saved in database platforms/accounts (e.g. MyNCBI)

PIECES Workbook

 

Developed by:
Margaret J. Foster, MS, MPH, AHIP
Systematic Reviews  Coordinator
Associate Professor
Medical Sciences Library, Texas A&M University
margaretfoster@tamu.edu 

 

EQUATOR

EQUATOR Network

Find reporting guidelines for various publication types. Includes:

  • Randomised trials (CONSORT + Extensions)
  • Observational studies (STROBE + Extensions)    
  • Systematic reviews (PRISMA + Extensions)    
  • Case reports (CARE)        
  • Qualitative research (SRQR, COREQ)    
  • Diagnostic / prognostic studies    (STARD, TRIPOD)    
  • Quality improvement studies (SQUIRE)        
  • Economic evaluations (CHEERS)
  • Animal pre-clinical studies (ARRIVE)
  • Study protocols    (SPIRIT, PRISMA-P)

 

 

ChemIDPlus Lite can be useful for looking up alternate drug names