Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

SR resources for Librarians: Updating Search Results

Complete re-run (no limits)

Initial Search

  1. Create a separate Endnote library for each database searched.
  2. Remove duplicates from within individual database results. 
  3. Export/copy citations from each individual database library into an Endnote library that will house the complete set of results, in the order of record preference. For example: if you wish to keep Medline records where available, import those first.
  4. Make a note of record numbers that correspond to the individual databases, and/or create folders for each database searched and assign records to the appropriate folders as they are imported.
  5. Remove duplicates. 

 

Search Update (no date limits)

Part 1:

  1. Create a separate Endnote library for each database in the search update.
  2. Remove duplicates from within individual database results.

Part 2:

  1. Create copies of the EndNote libraries created for each individual database in the initial search
  2. For each database, import citations from the de-duped, updated search of that database (Search update part 1, above)
  3. Run searches for duplicates BUT when the list of duplicates is presented, select all items (ctrl-a) to delete all items that appear in the library more than once.

Part 3:

  1. Export/copy citations from each individual database library in part 2 (above) into an Endnote library that will house the complete set of update results, in the order of record preference. For example: if you wish to keep Medline records where available, import those first.
  2. Make a note of record numbers that correspond to the individual databases, and/or create folders for each database searched and assign records to the appropriate folders as they are imported.
  3. Remove duplicates.   

Limiting by Date

Limiting by Date of Publication

 

This is an easy approach, however some articles are not added to databases immediately upon publication. If 'new-old' articles are added to the database after the initial search is run, they will not be included in the update results.

 

Limiting by Date Created 

In theory, limiting to date created will capture items based on the date they were added to the database, hich will capture 'new-old' items as well as 'new-new' items.

 

  • Ovid Medline: ** The Date Created (DC) field was removed in the 2018 global reload. The date a PubMed citation was created will continue to be displayed in the MEDLINE format view in the Create Date (DT) field.  The proper format is  YYYY/MM/DD HH:MM. Use * to cut the information short, and " to keep information together.

Examples:

  1. 2018*.dt.  for items added in 2018
  2. "2018/01*".dt. for items added in January 2018
  3. ("2018/01*" or "2018/02*").dt. for items added in January 2018 or February 2018
  4. "2018/01/25*".dt for items added on January 25, 2018

 

  • ​Ovid Embase: Date Created (DC) field contains the date of the last activity on the citation before creation of an XML file for delivery to Ovid. The date is loaded from the Elsevier XML element <date-created>. This date is not static and can change if an updated record is delivered to Ovid.
    Indicate your dates using the format YYYYMMDD (19411201). For example, use the command  limit [line number] to dc=19000101‐20171231   to limit to records added between Jan 1st 1900 and Dec 31 2017. 

 

  • CINAHL: Entry Date (EM) performs a search for the date of entry of an article into the database in YYMMDD format.