LibGuides: Architecture: Articles

Why do we use articles?

Articles:

•are up-to-date.

•announce new research before the information appears in books.

•are useful to find out how an event was viewed or reported at the time it happened.

•provide authoritative/scholarly/peer-reviewed information.

•provide specific/specialized information on a topic

Popular vs. Scholarly articles

Popular	Scholarly/refereed
•Usually published once per week or once per month •Geared to the general public. •Articles are generally shorter. •Articles not always signed. •Cover a wide range of topics. •Broadly summarize research and current issues. •Contain many advertisements and photographs.	•Usually published on a monthly, bi-monthly or quarterly basis. •Evaluated by and geared to scholars, researchers or professionals. •Articles always signed. •Contain articles with in-depth analysis. •Explain research methodology and research findings and have bibliographies. Usually sponsored by an academic or professional organization

Article Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America.

Avery is the primary database for interior design journals. if your topic is interdisciplinary or subject specific such as medical, see subject guides for those disciplines.

architecture.com This link opens in a new window Searchable directory of architecture links by the Royal Institute of British Architects.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1966-present The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. You may also search ERIC through the US Dept. of Education portal at https://eric.ed.gov/

Find Journals

Online Journals

The titles below are online journals (note the coverage period, as you may have to use some earlier issues in print):
Architect
Arq: Architectural Research Quarterly
Residential Design & Build
Grey Room
Houses
Journal of Architecture
Livraisons d'histoire de l'architecture
Space and Culture

AASL Core List of Periodicals

The Association of Architecture School Librarians maintains a list of core architectural journal recommendations

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information. SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of SAGE journals, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.

Library Access Browser Extension

Library Access
The Library Access browser extension provides quick and simple access to digital content provided by the University of Manitoba Libraries wherever and whenever you decide to study.

Newspapers

Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
Globe and Mail: Canada's heritage from 1844 This link opens in a new window Coverage: most recent 3 years not included; Sunday issues not included. To access Sunday content, search by article title at the Globe & Mail website Canada's Heritage From 1844 contains over 150 years of content from Canada's national daily newspaper, including every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more.
New York Times Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window The New York Times Historical (1851-2020) offers full page and article images of every page of every issue, with searchable full text.

Search Multiple Databases

You can search multiple databases at once if we get them from the same vendor. For example, you can search Avery, CBCA, and multiple newspapers (Canadian Major Dailies, etc.) because they all come from ProQuest.

To do so, select one and once the link opens click "Change Database" at the top. From there you can check off all the databases you want to search.