Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographical and Bio-bibliographical Sources - Ukrainian Literature in Canada
- Gregorovich, Andrew. Ukraine & Ukrainian Canadians books for high School, college and public libraries. Toronto: Ucrainica Research Institute, 1979.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2514 U5 G7 1979 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A fairly comprehensive list of Ukrainian Canadian publications (books, articles, audio and visual recordings) up to the year 1979. Works are divided under several categories including: Ukrainian Canadian; Ukrainian Canadian Literature; Arts and Culture; Reference and Bibliography; and Periodicals and Journals.
- Hai-Holovko, Oleksa. Ukrains'ki pys'mennyky v Kanadi literaturno-krytychni narysy. Vinnipeh : Nakl. T-va "Volyn'," 1980.
CALL NUMBER: PG 3971 H34 1980 v.1-5 (Dafoe Slavic Collection)
A valuable source of Ukrainian Canadiana featuring bio-bibliographical information on various Ukrainian writers in Canada. Examples of the works of the individual writers accompanies each biographical sketch.
- MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures. New York: MLA (Database in E-Library)
Most comprehensive annual bibliography on literature including Ukrainian Canadian literature. Covers books, dissertations, articles and essays. The printed bibliography is available from 1921-1995 in Dafoe Reference (Call Number Z 7006 M64). In addition to the printed volumes, easy access is available electronically through the MLA database in E-Library, covering the years 1963 to the present.
- Piaseckyj, Oksana. Bibliography of Ukrainian Literature in English and French translation (1950-1986) and criticism. Ottawa: University of Ottawa Press, 1989.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2514 .U5 P43 1989 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A comprehensive coverage of translations from and about, literature published in English and French covering the years 1950-1986, with a special section devoted to Ukrainian emigre literature, entitled, Ukrainian Literature of the Diaspora
- Romanenchuk, Bohdan. Bibliohrafiia vydan' ukrains'koi emigratsiinoi literatury 1945-1970/ Bibliography of Ukrainian Emigre Literature 1945-1970. Philadelphia: Kyiv, 1974.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2514 U5 R62 1974 (Dafoe Slavic Reference).
An extensive bibliography on Ukrainian emigre literary works, covering Western Europe, the United States, Canada and Australia.
- Slavutych, Yar. An annotated bibliography of Ukrainian literature in Canada : Canadian book publications, 1908-1985. Edmonton: Slavuta Publishers, 1986.
CALL NUMBER: Z 1395 U47 S57 1986 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
This annotated bibliography contains information on books published in either English or Ukrainian. All annotations are given in Ukrainian. The bibliography is divided according to individual writers -- followed by a separate section devoted to the works by or about Dr. Yar Slavutych, the compiler of this annotated bibliography.
- Slavutych, Yar. Zakhidn'okanads'kyi zbirnyk. Edmonton: Shevchenko Scientific Society in Canada, Western Canadian Branch, 1973 -.
CALL NUMBER: FC 3250 U5 Z35 1973 v. 1-5 (Dafoe Slavic Collection)
A bio-bibliographical multi-volume survey of Ukrainian Canadian literary writers and selected works. This is an ongoing project by Dr. Yar Slavutych covering the period of early Ukrainian immigration in the 1890s to the present day.