Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Grammar
Etymological Dictionary of Greek
A must-have research tool that should be on every classicist's desk. Greek is among the most intensely and widely studied languages known. Since the publication of the last etymological dictionary of Greek, both the reconstruction of Proto-Indo-European, and our knowledge of the Greek substrate have led to numerous, often surprising new insights into the history and formation of the Greek vocabulary.This dictionary is a treasure trove covering 2000 years of Ancient Greek: from Mycenaean via Homer and the classical period to lexicographers, such as Hesychius (5th century A.D.).It at last brings together all new data, resulting in scores of thoroughly revised etymologies. This is a truly indispensable tool for classicists in search of a deeper understanding of the Greek vocabulary, its history and, therewith, a better understanding of the language.
Etymological Dictionary of Latin and the Other Italic Languages
Aim of this dictionary -- Definition of Italic -- Research method -- From Proto-Indo-European to Latin -- Reconstructable stages -- The phonology of Proto-Indo-European, Proto-Italic and Latin -- The entries -- Selection of entries -- The entries -- Dating -- Derivatives -- Proto-Italic -- Italic cognates -- Proto-Indo-European -- Indo-European cognates -- Etymology -- Bibliography -- Periodization of Latin.
A Greek-English Lexicon
This edition combines the text of the ninth edition of Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon with an extensively revised and expanded Supplement. The Supplement is the culmination of thirteen years of research and constitutes a full revision of the previous 1968 Supplement. Containing over 20,000 entries, the Supplement includes coverage of words and forms from papyri and inscriptions discovered up to the present day. Entries in the Supplement also incorporate Linear B forms for the first time, extending the Lexicon's time span back to 1200 BC.
Oxford Latin Dictionary
The first edition was originally published in fascicles, from 1968 to 1982.
Includes an introductory essay entitled: The Oxford Latin dictionary : a historical introduction / Christopher Stray.
Harrius Potter et Camera Secretorum
When the Chamber of Secrets is opened again at the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry, second-year student Harry Potter finds himself in danger from a dark power that has once more been released on the school.
Brepolis Latin Complete
A Gateway to Latin Literature and to the Roots of Western Civilisation
❱ More than 5500 texts from the best available editions
❱ Reference dictionaries
Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
Aristoteles Latinus Database
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Library of Latin Texts Series A and B
Database of Latin Dictionaries
The Latin Library
A collection of Latin texts.
The Perseus Project
The Perseus Digital Library has many ancient texts available online, in both English and the original Greek or Latin, as well as information about archaeological collections across the globe.
PHI Greek Inscriptions
A collection of Greek epigraphy, prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute.
PHI Latin Texts
A collection of Latin works by ancient authors, prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute.
Latin Verse Satire
Latin verse satire [electronic resource] an anthology and critical reader / edited, with an introduction and commentary, by Paul Allen Miller
Learning Greek With Plato
Learning Greek with Plato : a beginner's course in Classical Greek, based on Plato, Meno 70a1 - 81e6 / by Frank Beetham
A site with PDF copies of several Greek and Latin books, a forum dedicated to the languages, and a place to ask questions and receive answers.