The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
The role of nutrition in improving quality of life and combating disease is undeniable -- and researchers from different disciplines are bringing their perspectives to bear on this fundamental topic. The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others. New articles on organic food, biofortification, nutritional labeling and the effect of religious customs on diet, among many others, reflect the dedication to currency in this revision. It not only contains the most current and thorough information available on the topic, but also contains broader cross-referencing on emerging opportunities for potential treatment and prevention of diseases. An ideal starting point for scientific research, Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, continues to provide authoritative information in an accessible format, making this complex discipline available to readers at both the professional and non-professional level. Selected for inclusion in Doody's Core Titles 2013, an essential collection development tool for health sciences libraries Approximately 30% new content ensures readers have the latest research information Extensive cross-referencing provides key connections between topics in this multidisciplinary field Presents current information on relationships between disease and nutrition Covers thoroughly topics ranging from nutrient biochemistry and function to clinical nutrition and the epidemiology of diet, health and disease.
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health by
Praise for the previous print edition:...recommended...--American Reference Books Annual...a one-stop introduction to nutrition...useful...--BooklistRecommended.--ChoiceEating the right foods and getting enough exercise can fight or prevent diseases and lead to longer life. Yet today one-third of Americans are obese due to poor eating habits and sedentary living. At the same time more food choices are available than ever before--from organic produce to light meals to fast food and genetically modified foods--making it sometimes confusing to choose the right things to eat. The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Third Edition provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices.Updated with the latest data, developments, and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases. More than 2,000 articles cover basic nutrition; the health benefits and dangers of various foods; diseases and health disorders related to nutrition; food ingredients such as vitamins, minerals, fats, carbohydrates, and proteins; the side effects of processed foods; food allergies; eating disorders; and much more.Topics include:Body mass indexCancer and dietCardiovascular diseaseCholesterol-lowering drugsElectrolytes and essential nutrientsFiber and disease preventionLow-density lipoprotein (LDL) and high-density lipoprotein (HDL)Meat contaminantsMilk and lactose intoleranceRecommended Dietary Allowances (RDA).
Encyclopedia of Nutrition Research by
This book presents and discusses current research in the study of nutrition. Topics discussed include appetite control; central inhibitory mechanism controlling water and sodium intake; the validity of nutritional assessment; child dietary intake; nutrition and diabetes mellitus type 1; vegetable and food consumption; elder fruit juices and plant vitamin antioxidants and their influence on the human diet.
Encyclopedia of Food and Health by
The Encyclopedia of Food and Health provides users with a solid bridge of current and accurate information spanning food production and processing, from distribution and consumption to health effects. The Encyclopedia comprises five volumes, each containing comprehensive, thorough coverage, and a writing style that is succinct and straightforward. Users will find this to be a meticulously organized resource of the best available summary and conclusions on each topic. Written from a truly international perspective, and covering of all areas of food science and health in over 550 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter, this updated encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for both research and educational needs. Identifies the essential nutrients and how to avoid their deficienciesExplores the use of diet to reduce disease risk and optimize healthCompiles methods for detection and quantitation of food constituents, food additives and nutrients, and contaminantsContains coverage of all areas of food science and health in nearly 700 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter
Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements by
Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements presents peer-reviewed, objective entries that rigorously examine the most significant scientific research on basic chemical, preclinical, and clinical data. Designed for healthcare professionals, researchers, and health-conscious consumers, it presents evidence-based information on the major vitamin and mineral micronutrients, herbs, botanicals, phytochemicals, and other bioactive preparations. Supplements covered include: Vitamins, beta-carotene, niacin, and folate Omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, isoflavones, and quercetin Calcium, copper, iron, and phosphorus 5-hydroxytryptophan, glutamine, and L-arginine St. John's Wort, ginkgo biloba, green tea, kava, and noni Androstenedione, DHEA, and melatonin Coenzyme Q10 and S-adenosylmethionine Shiitake, maitake, reishi, and cordiceps With nearly 100 entries contributed by renowned subject-specific experts, the book serves as a scientific checkpoint for the many OTC supplements carried in today's nutritional products marketplace. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by
The study of food and nutrition covers many disciplines including agriculture, biology, physics, chemistry, food technology, nutrition, and medicine. As research of the links between food and health continues to expand, it is more important than ever that specialists in such areas as food processing and nutrition be familiar with often unfamiliar terminology that differing disciplines use. Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology meets this need by providing succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6,100 terms in nutrition and food technology, as well as nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix on nutrient intake and other useful data. The eighth edition joins its predecessors, each bestseller in their own right, as an essential reference book for anyone interested in nutrition, dietetics, food science, and food technology. The first edition was published 40 years ago and contained 2,000 entries. This edition includes more than 5,000 succinct authoritative definitions. Anyone involved in the study of nutrition and food technology will inevitably find articles and lectures that cross the boundaries of individual subjects and use unfamiliar terminology and jargon. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date desk-top reference available for those who need to know about nutrition and food technology.
Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods by
Health professionals are recognizing the major role that nutraceuticals play in health enhancement. As a result, there is a dramatic increase in research aimed at identifying new functional foods and nutraceuticals. There is not, however, a single source that presents this research in a thorough and accessible manner. Comprehensive and complete, the Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods is the first reference of its kind written explicitly for this rapidly developing field. The book provides clearly written, concise, science-based information on over 470 nutraceutical and functional food products and compounds. Each entry lists the most current information on the product or compound and its role in the promotion of health or the prevention of disease, as well as peer-reviewed literature references. In addition, this thorough reference contains 172 chemical structures, 102 figures, 73 schemes, and 64 tables to facilitate recognition and understanding. Concise and accessible, the Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods is a convenientsingle source reference that defines the most commonly used terms in the field of nutraceuticals and functional foods.¿
Dictionary of Food Ingredients by
The Dictionary of Food Ingredients is a unique, easy-to-use source of information on over 1,000 food ingredients and additives. Like the previous editions, the Fifth Edition provides clear and concise information on currently used additives, including natural ingredients, FDA-approved artificial ingredients, and compounds used in food processing. The dictionary entries, organized in alphabetical order, include information on ingredient functions, chemical properties, and uses in food products. This revised and updated fifth edition also features a new section, "Food Definitions and Formulations," a thoroughly expanded list of food ingredients approved for use in the European Union, with E numbers, as well as new information on existing and more recently approved ingredients.
Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary by
Filling the need unmet by today's medical dictionaries, the new fifth edition of Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary, is the most comprehensive dictionary covering nutrition and diet therapy available for health care professionals. In this wide-ranging, authoritative volume, authors Lagua and Claudio cover all aspects of nutrition, including assessment, drug nutrient interactions, laboratory interpretations, enteral and parenteral nutrition support, community and public health nutrition programs, and nutrition throughout the life cycle. Much more than a dictionary, the word entries don't just define, but include the main reasons for suggested nutrition therapy and dietary guidelines, foods allowed, and avoided. Coverage includes such topics as nutrition and the immune system, phytonutrients, functional foods, alternative medicine, and the new standard for dietary reference intakes. Special features of the Dictionary are entries on 160 different diets; nutrition therapy for more than 360 disorders, including inborn-errors of metabolism; 170 drugs and their effects on nutrition; and more than 150 nutritional products with their main uses and composition. Of particular importance are topics of public health concerns for the second millennium, and dietary recommendations for prevention of major degenerative diseases such as obesity, coronary heart disease, hypertension, diabetes mellitus, and cancer. The extensive Appendices include over 50 tables, forms, and charts that enrich the word definitions and serve as essential reference aids for the health care professional. With more than 3,200 carefully selected entries, the new fifth edition includes 700 new terms and more than 600 revised and expanded definitions. Terms have been meticulously chosen based on their frequency of use and importance in nutrition. All practitioners in the fields of nutrition and dietetics, as well as educators, students, and others interested in nutrition will find the updated, new edition of Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary a compact, handy, yet comprehensive reference tool covering almost all aspects of nutrition and dietetics.
Handbook of Nutrition and Food by
Significantly revised and updated, this second edition of the bestselling Handbook of Nutrition and Food welcomes contributions from several new authors, including Elaine B. Feldman and Johanna Dwyer, notable leaders in nutritional science. Retaining the high level of scientific research, accessible language, and attention to detail of the original, this new edition reflects the changes and developments of the past six years in nutrition research by adding 12 new chapters and tripling the number of referential web addresses. Beginning with an overview of food and food constituents, the book outlines current nutrient analysis systems, techniques for data analysis, and food labeling. The second section reviews nutrition science including terminology, biochemistry, nutrient-nutrient interactions, and comparative nutrition. There is a detailed assessment in section three on nutritional needs throughout the lifecycle. It highlights exercise and the value of vegetarian diets in health promotion and disease prevention. Section four considers issues surrounding nutritional assessment, screening, and monitoring tools including questionnaires, and anthropometric-, psychological-, and energy-assessments. The book discusses particular challenges relevant to minority populations, school age children, and military recruits, and compares dietary guidelines in the US and around the world. Fully one third of the book relates the latest findings in clinical nutrition and the prevention and amelioration of wide range of disease states. In addition to cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and renal diseases, contributions cover cancer treatment, eating disorders, pancreatic health, eye diseases, alcohol metabolism, food allergies, the genetics of human obesity, and herbal supplements.
Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging by
This is the new and fully revised third edition of the well-received text that is the benchmark book in the field of nutrition and aging. The editors (specialists in geriatric nutrition, medical sociology, and clinical nutrition, respectively) and contributors (a panel of recognized academic nutritionists, geriatricians, clinicians, and other scientists) have added a number of new chapters and have thoroughly updated the widely acclaimed second edition. This third edition provides fresh perspectives and the latest scientific and clinical developments on the interaction of nutrition with age-associated disease and provides practical, evidence-based options to enhance this at-risk population's potential for optimal health and disease prevention. Chapters on a wide range of topics, such as the role of nutrition in physical and cognitive function, and coverage of an array of clinical conditions (obesity, diabetes, heart failure, cancer, kidney disease, osteoporosis), compliment chapters on food insecurity, anti-aging and nutritional supplements, making this third edition uniquely different from previous editions. Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging, Third Edition, is a practical and comprehensive resource and an invaluable guide to nutritionists, physicians, nurses, social workers and others who provide health care for the ever-increasing aging population.
Handbook of Functional Lipids by
Consumer demand is creating rapid growth in the functional foods market - a market soon to reach $20 billion worldwide. As a result, the food industry has stepped up the development of functional lipids. These lipids impart health benefits when consumed and also impact food product functionalities. While many books have touched on the correlation between dietary lipids and health, there has not been a single-source guide specifically devoted to functional lipids - until now. The Handbook of Functional Lipids is a comprehensive reference that illustrates the science and applications of lipids in foods. The editor has divided the text into four parts for easy reference regarding topics that: explore the isolation, production, and concentration of functional lipids; explain how lipids provide food functionality; determine how lipids are engaged in health and nutritional functionality; and examine the role of biotechnology in functional lipids and discern their market potential. These sections synthesize the collaborative efforts of international experts at the forefront of lipid science and technology. They provide in-depth treatment for each subject in a straightforward and easy to read manner, making the Handbook of Functional Lipids a must-have resource for those interested in this rapidly growing field.
Handbook of Nutrition and Pregnancy by
​This easy to use text provides practitioners and researchers with a global view of current and emerging issues concerned with successful pregnancy outcomes and approaches that have been successful or show promise in ensuring a successful pregnancy. The fully updated and revised second edition expands its scope with topics not covered in the first edition including pregnancy and military service; sleep disorders during pregnancy; the gut microbiome during pregnancy and the newborn; requirement for vitamin D in pregnancy; the environment--contaminants and pregnancy; preeclampsia and new approaches to treatment; health disparities for whites, blacks, and teen pregnancies; depression in pregnancy--role of yoga; safe food handling for successful pregnancy outcome; relationship of epigenetics and diet in pregnancy; caffeine during pregnancy; polycystic ovary syndrome; US Hispanics and preterm births; celiac disease and pregnancy; cannabis use during pregnancy. The second edition of Handbook of Nutrition and Pregnancy will be a valuable resource for clinicians and other healthcare professionals who treat and counsel women of child-bearing age and pregnant women.
Handbook of Dairy Foods and Nutrition by
Once again the National Dairy Council has produced the industry reference on the important role of dairy foods in health. Packed with the latest information from the Council's notable scientists, the Handbook of Dairy Foods and Nutrition, Third Edition makes the case for the beneficial role of dairy foods in a variety of conditions and disease states. The handbook begins with a comprehensive overview of the nutritional content and benefits of milk and milk products including cheese and yogurt. The authors explain the effects of dairy intake on cardiovascular health and hypertension. The Dairy Council continues its research review by providing the most up-to-date information on the relationship between dairy intake and colon, breast, and prostate cancers. An entirely new chapter is devoted to addressing recent research about the role of dairy foods in weight management. Supporting the age-old advice that milk gives you strong bones and teeth, this handbook has chapters examining the evidentiary relationship between dairy intake and bone and dental health. A full chapter addresses the condition of lactose digestion, distinguishing lactose intolerance from lactose maldigestion, as well as providing research-based strategies to improve milk tolerance. A summary of dairy's contribution to health throughout the life cycle from childhood and adolescence into adulthood and old age, rounds out this latest installment of the Dairy Council's authoritative reference on the importance of dairy foods in the American diet. Continuing to provide state-of-the-art information on dairy products and nutrition, the Handbook of Dairy Foods and Nutrition, Third Edition is a useful resource for nutrition scientists, dietitians and other health professionals, educators, dairy researchers, and the food industry.
Handbook of Nutrition in the Aged by
Detailed Review of Nutritional Therapies Used to Combat Elderly Health Issues The combination of the aging baby-boomer generation and their increased longevity has been fortunately met with increased research and greater understanding of health promotion and disease prevention in the elderly. Handbook of Nutrition in the Aged: Fourth Edition shares these groundbreaking insights and serves as a guide to better understand health problems that occur in aging adults and the nutritional therapies that are proven to fight and prevent them. Addresses Requirements for Optimum Health of Aging Physiological Systems This sharply focused work recognizes the special nutrition hurdles associated with the aged, particularly the decline of nutrient intake that compromises health. As a globally relevant text, this fourth edition is extensively revised, updated, and expanded to reflect the latest research in nutrition and aging. New chapters to this edition include information on: Arthritis Cognition Nutrition and the geriatric surgery patient Nutrition supplementation in fracture care Coffee and hypertension Asian medicine This book is a valuable tool not only for geriatricians and gerontologists, but also for dieticians, nutritionists, and aging researchers. It provides all the necessary information for assisting the growing aging population in maintaining a healthy quality of life.