LibGuides: Biosystems Engineering: Articles / Databases

Key Biosystems Engineering Databases

Here is a list of science & engineering journal abbreviations

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Scopus Search Help
ASABE Technical Library This link opens in a new window
A full text collection of journals, meeting reports, proceedings, monographs, standards, and other technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Coverage generally starts in 2001, but some content goes back to 1998.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1884-present

Engineering Village provides a searchable index of engineering literature and patent information. Designed by, and for, the engineering community, the platform offers access to multiple engineering databases, providing peer-reviewed, deeply indexed engineering research content.

Engineering Village includes the Compendex database which includes a wide range of all engineering disciplilnes, INSPEC which covers physics, electrical and computer engineering and Knovel which includes many engineering ebooks.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Other Database Options

Agricola This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA, produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, is one of the major indexes providing worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. It corresponds to the printed index, Bibliography of Agriculture. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, while the remainder describe monographs, series, microforms, theses, patents, software and technical reports. A few records include abstracts.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 8

The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense.
It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
CAB Abstracts Search Help
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database that provides access to up-to-date information from international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Embase Search Help
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 4

The Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) database is devoted to food science and technology. It covers articles on the basic food sciences, food products and food processes. Thousands of journals are indexed; it also includes information from patents, books, conference proceedings, and legislative papers.
FSTA Search Help
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers research information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international journal literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Medline Search Help
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Search Help