Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

History: Reference

Subject Guide for History
Reference
Access print and online Encyclopaedias, Dictionaries and Bibliographies. 

 

Search the Dafoe Library Reference Collection

To find Reference materials in the library catalogue

  1. Run a search using proper keywords for what you're looking for
  2. Limit the search to the proper location, which can be found on the left-hand side of the search results. Simply select the collection or collections you want to search and click "Apply Filters."



(See a list of all the Location Names at Dafoe Library) 

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Encyclopedias and historical dictionaries are excellent places to start your research. 

Consulting reference materials beforehand will help you learn basic information about your topic and make it easier to find the books, articles and primary sources you need to write your papers. Our online encyclopedias and dictionaries are listed below. Dafoe also has a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries on the main floor of the library next to the Starbucks.


Encyclopedias and historical dictionaries are excellent places to start your research. 

Consulting reference materials beforehand will help you learn basic information about your topic and make it easier to find the books, articles and primary sources you need to write your papers. Our online encyclopedias and dictionaries are listed below. Dafoe also has a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries on the main floor of the library next to the Starbucks.


Encyclopedias and historical dictionaries are excellent places to start your research. 

Consulting reference materials beforehand will help you learn basic information about your topic and make it easier to find the books, articles and primary sources you need to write your papers. Our online encyclopedias and dictionaries are listed below. Dafoe also has a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries on the main floor of the library next to the Starbucks.

Bibliographies