LibGuides: History: Books & eBooks

Find Books

Books & E-Books
Search the library catalogue for books and find e-book collections online.

History Book Reviews

Book reviews can be easily located using the library catalogue advanced search. SImply search for the item by "Title". Under the "Refine My Results" option on the left, choose "Reviews". You can also search for book reviews using the websites listed below but these are not peer-reviewed publications.

Search for Books

You can easily search for books and ebooks through the Libraries Advanced Search page. If you are not finding what you are looking for you can search WorldCat to see what titles are available in other libraries around the world. Most books that are not in our library can be borrowed from other libraries through Document Delivery.

University of Manitoba Libraries - Advanced Search
Searches the holdings of all the libraries in the University system.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database of bibliographic records for all types of materials catalogued in libraries around the world, and includes the holdings of most academic libraries in North America. Catalogued materials include books, journals, electronic resources, manuscripts, and audio-visual materials, in hundreds of languages.

Document Delivery
For materials that are not held in the UM Libraries collection, you may request to borrow from another institution using our Document Delivery service.

Online eBook Collections

Many eBook collections can also be found online. Project Gutenberg, Hathi Trust and Internet Archive are great sources for rare and out of print materials.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for open access books. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited collections published under an open access licence, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.

EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost's ebook collection provides access to a growing collection of electronic books from various publishers.

Google Books
Comprehensive index of full-text books.

Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Hathi Trust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Loeb Classical Library
Loeb Classical Library is a virtual library of Greek and Latin literature, allowing users to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content. Hundreds of volumes of Latin and Greek (with English translations), and English texts are included. Content covers epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Open Edition
Digital resources in the humanities and social sciences.
OAPEN Library
Online library and publication platform.
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
Open Library of Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities journal publishes internationally-leading, rigorous and peer-reviewed scholarship across the humanities disciplines: from classics, theology and philosophy, to modern languages and literatures, film and media studies, anthropology, political theory and sociology.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is a collection of free ebooks which are not restricted by copyright, allowing for free downloading and printing. They can be read on your PC and various mobile readers.

Project Gutenberg Free Use Policy
Project Gutenberg Mobile Reader How-to