History: Latin America

Records of the Archconfraternity of the Blessed Sacrament of the metropolitan cathedral of Mexico City, from 1555 to 1858. Contains legal, financial, and other documents relating to the activities of the confraternity.

The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

The Guatemala News and Information Bureau (GNIB) was an activist and solidarity group based in San Francisco, California, created in 1978 to support and inform the public about Guatemalan movements for peace and justice, indigenous rights, and labor rights. To support its activities, the GNIB systematically collected a wide variety of materials documenting all aspects related to the civil war in that country, including human rights abuses and the social and political responses to state sponsored violence. Also documented were the negotiations and the implementation of the Peace Accords signed in the mid 1990s.

The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

One of the most important research collections pertaining to the independence movement in Mexico, 1789-1828, compiled by the late Prof. James McKegney. The collection contains a bibliographic database of more than 11,000 citations and over 1,150 digital copies of pamphlets listed in the database. This database and the accompanying documents are one of the most important archival sources in the world for the study of the political, social and cultural aspects of the independence movement in Mexico.

The Mapas Project has as its focus the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts.

The Puerto Rican Digital Library of the University of Puerto Rico is an online repository of images and text related to Puerto Rican history and culture. It is a digital archive of valuable primary sources that includes various graphic materials: cartoons, posters, drawings, photographs, maps; manuscripts, books and other publications. Includes photographs from the invaluable Photo Collection of El Mundo Newspaper.

This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996.

This collection of letters consists of the incoming correspondence to the Colonial Bank in Trinidad from its inception in 1837 to 1885. The correspondence affords an insight into the economic and social history of Trinidad, the banking needs of the sugar planters and the precarious nature of sugar production in the nineteenth century.

Cuban documents about Havana's policy toward Southern Africa in the final fifteen years of the Cold War.

The JCB's collection of 50,000 rare books, maps and manuscripts encompasses more than two hundred languages and spans over three centuries of early American history.

Digitization of Argentina's "Acción Socialista (La) : Periódico sindicalista revolucionario" (1905-1910)

Digitized Heritage Collections of the BNP.

The Official Gazette of the Argentine Republic is the official newspaper of the Argentine Republic, that is, the written means of communication that the Argentine State uses to publish its legal norms (such as laws, decrees and regulations), and other acts of an public, both of the legislative power and of the executive and the judiciary.

Cornell University Library - Alfredo Montalvo Bolivian Digital Pamphlets Collection

The Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.

Digital archive of the Código Brasiliense, a collection of laws and other official documents.

Opening the Archives is a joint effort by Brown University and the Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Paraná, Brazil to digitize and index 100,000 U.S. State Department documents on Brazil from 1963-73 and make them available to the public on a open-access website.

The J. León Helguera Collection of Colombiana at Vanderbilt University includes unique primary sources on 17th to 20th-century Colombian history and culture. The result of a half-century of collecting on three continents, the collection is one of the largest and most wide-ranging in the United States. The collection includes books, manuscripts, broadsides, pamphlets (including novenas), royal cedulas, programas, and newspapers. The database includes a selection of full text searchable broadsides, pamphlets, and programas.

This digital collection documents the human rights activism of the Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer in 1970s and 1980s Argentina. The collection consists of the correspondence, project files, subject files, publications, and other documents contained in the Argentina subseries of the Geographic series of the Marshall T. Meyer papers held at Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Chilean Memory is a digital resource center that presents research based on digitized documents belonging to the collections of the National Library of Chile. Chilean Memory offers original documents and content related to key issues of our cultural identity that are part of the collections of the National Library of Chile and other institutions of the National Cultural Heritage Service.

Digitization of Felipe Guaman Poma de Ayala's 'Nueva corónica y buen gobierno.'