About the Archives of the Agricultural Experience
The history of Manitoba is in many ways a history of agriculture. In order to identify and acquire valuable agricultural historical records, the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections has established the Archives of the Agricultural Experience.
What kinds of materials are sought?
Historians have always found the records of farming families and prominent rural individuals extremely compelling. The types of records that are most useful include:
What benefits will this project provide?
What kinds of records are already part of the Archives?
The Archives of the Agricultural Experience is home to a wealth of materials depicting western Canadian agricultural history. Materials ranging from the largest corporate collection to a single farm account book all contribute to our knowledge of our agricultural heritage.
Businesses and associations whose records have become part of the Archives include:
Numerous farm family records have also been donated to the Archives. The following are some of the Manitoba towns and regions represented by these collections:
What lies ahead for the Archives of the Agricultural Experience?
The Archives is committed to an ongoing, systematic approach to the development of its agriculture collections. We are determined to expand our efforts to preserve Manitoba's agricultural past and ensure accessibility to the agricultural record for historical research purposes. The overwhelmingly positive response to this project from the agricultural community has helped to ensure that the Archives of the Agricultural Experience will continue to grow.