Archival Collections: Arctic/Subarctic Studies Collections

The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections has acquired a number of manuscript collections and rare books related to the study of this discipline. The collections and books represented on these pages were chosen for the value of their information on arctic and subarctic exploration, involving scientific, historical and cultural issues. Some collections have direct and immediately apparent relevance while others are connected more peripherally to Arctic/Subarctic Studies. Also included are links to virtual exhibits on the Andrew Taylor photograph collection and the Arctic Blue Books.

• Marie Bouchard
• Centre for Settlement Studies fonds
• Henry Bruce Chown fonds
• M. Charles Cohen fonds
• Melita and David A. Ennis fonds (Churchill photographs)
• Helen Glass fonds
• Per Holting fonds
• Marion Jean Lewis fonds
• Eli Mandel fonds
• Jill Oakes fonds
• Department of Native Studies fonds
• Faye Settler fonds
• Nan Shipley fonds
• George Swinton fonds
• Andrew Taylor fonds
• Charlie Thorson fonds
• Sandra Barz fonds
• Frank Tester fonds (see below for information on the Social History of the Eastern Arctic Database)
• Murray Dean (not yet processed) 

Virtual Exhibits

• Andrew Taylor fonds 
• The Arctic Blue Books and Index
  
   

Arctic/Subarctic Rare Book Collection

Visit the Social History of the Eastern Arctic Database to search abstracts of documents pertaining to colonialism and its effects on the Inuit population primarily in Nunavut, as well as documents pertaining to the Inuvialuit Nunangit Sannaiqtuaq (or Inuvialuit Settlement Region), the Northwest Territories and Nunavik (Arctic Quebec). Note: this database was formerly accessed through the University of British Columbia's "Social History of Nunavut" website. This database is part of the Frank Tester fonds.