Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Landmarks, Monuments & Built Heritage of the West: Home

 

University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections/
Ukrainian Catholic Archeparchy of Winnipeg Archives/
Archives of Manitoba

 

Canadian Architectural Archives, University of Calgary

Educational Site

 

 

A major component of community life is the landmarks, monuments and built heritage within that community.  Canadian historians have often claimed that the physical and geographical heritage of Canadians have played a key role in the development of our identity as a nation.  Western Canadians, in particular, have been molded by their landscapes and architecture.  From sod huts to towering skyscrapers, the built heritage of western Canadian communities has influenced the development of the region and the people.  This website consists of nearly 7000 digitized items from the archival holdings of the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, the Ukrainian Catholic Archeparchy of Winnipeg Archives, the Archives of Manitoba, and the University of Calgary's Canadian Architectural Archives pertaining to this topic.  The digitized textual documents, photographs, blueprints, and audio and video clips illustrate how western Canada has been shaped by its architecture.

Can you identify an unidentified photograph in the digitized material?  Do you have additional information pertinent to an item's description? Have you come across a broken link or a spelling error?  If you have a comment to make regarding this site we would love to hear from you.  Send an email to archives@umanitoba.ca with the subject line "Landmarks, Monuments & Built Heritage of the West" and let us know what you think.

This project was made possible through the Canadian Culture Online Program of Canadian Heritage, Library and Archives Canada and the Canadian Council of Archives.

 

 

Credits

 

For more information on the architectural history of buildings in Winnipeg, visit the Architecture and Fine Arts Library's Winnipeg Building Index.

For more information on landmarks, monuments and built heritage with an emphasis on Alberta, see the description for the Orest Semchishen fonds on Library and Archives Canada's website.

Landmarks, Monuments & Built Heritage of the West

Digitized Collections

Josiah Jones Bell fonds

Metropolitan Maxim Hermaniuk fonds

Henry Kalen fonds

Denise Kolesar fonds

Ogilvie Flour Mills fonds

Kip Park fonds

Jaropolk Radkewycz fonds

Gloria Romaniuk fonds

Philip Ruh fonds

Roslyn Stanwick fonds

Ed Swiecicki fonds

Town of Neepawa fonds

Ukrainian Catholic Archeparchy of Winnipeg fonds

United Grain Growers fonds

Winnipeg Tribune fonds

John Zborowsky fonds

 

 

The fonds listed on the left feature digitized archival records from the holdings of the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, the Ukrainian Catholic Archeparchy of Winnipeg Archives, and the Archives of Manitoba pertaining to landmarks, monuments, and the various architectural designs that have helped shape western Canada.  Included within these fonds are photographs of western Canadian buildings, landmarks, and monuments, grain elevator histories, blueprints of original church designs, newspaper clippings detailing Winnipeg's architectural history, and video of a church engulfed in flames and the rubble left behind.  Click on one of the fonds to view a brief description of the digitized material, links to the full fonds-level descriptions, and links to the digitized material.