Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba fonds: Alumni Association Inc. Finding Aid

Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Mary Pallett
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(January 1980)

Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (June 2006)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (June 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 


Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Administrative History of the Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba

Scope and Contents of the Records

Restrictions on Use

Related Materials

Custodial History

Other Finding Aids

Detailed Description of the Collection

General Correspondence, 1958-1977

Alumni Annual Conferences, 1958-1967

Alumni Conferences, 1959-1969

Alumni Symposia and Seminars, 1959-1977

Centennial Activities, 1973-1978

Alumni Fund Raising, Appeals, Journal Advertising, 1958-1975

Faculty and Departmental Information, 1948, 1962-1976

Annual Meetings, Elections, Scholarships, and Awards, 1920-1974

Miscellaneous Correspondence and Reports, 1923-1977

Other Alumni Associations, 1947-1977

Board of Directors, Committees, Annual Meetings, Awards, Festivals, Clubs, and Associations, 1921-1976

John M. Gordon Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1958-1975

NEWSPAPER CLIPPING FILES 1948-1980


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba
 
Title:
Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba fonds
 
Dates:
1913-1978
 
Quantity:
6.1 m of textual records
 
Identification:
UA 19 (A.80-43, A.80-47)
 
 
English

Return to Top


Administrative History of the Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba

The Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba was founded in 1921 by a handful of graduates. Their objective was to reach out to the growing numbers of graduates of the University and to sustain their interest and long-term support of the University. In 1935, the Association was incorporated in the Province of Manitoba as a not-for-profit organization with its own, independent volunteer Board of Directors. The Alumni Association operated largely as an independent association until 1958 when President Saunderson created the Public Relations and Information Office. The Alumni Association assumed the operative role of the Public Relations and Information Office and received direct funding from the University.

It is the Alumni Association that provides, preserves and strengthens the vehicle for alumni involvement. The Association and the University share many common interests and objectives. One of which is to maximize the University's opportunities to communicate with graduates on a regular basis. This communication reinforces the relationship between the University through the alumni affairs portfolio and the Alumni Association. Alumni Affairs is a department of the University directed by the Association's executive director. Its role is to facilitate alumni-related activities between the Alumni Association and the University.

In 2001, the Association celebrated its 80th anniversary. An Association with such a long life has faced many challenges and seen many changes. In large measure, it reflects the much broader history of the University. For example, until 1988, the Alumni Association had the responsibility for soliciting alumni donations to the University. In 1988, this function was transferred to the Department of Private Funding in order to consolidate all fund raising ventures. Also, on May 10, 1999, the President of the University of Manitoba and the President of the Alumni Association signed a funding agreement that allowed for no-fee alumni membership to all University of Manitoba graduates. This agreement has been renewed in 2002.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The fonds contains: minutes and correspondence of the Board of Directors and Committees, including the Centennial Committee; files on awards, fund raising and advertising activities; correspondence with branches of the Association and other Canadian and American Alumni Associations; annual reports; miscellaneous correspondence of former Alumni Executive Director, John M. Gordon. Most records date from 1950 to 1975.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into thirteen series: General Correspondence; Alumni Annual Conferences; Alumni Conferences; Alumni Symposia and Seminars; Centennial Activities; Alumni Fund Raising, Appeals, Journal Advertising; Faculty and Departmental Information; Annual Meetings, Elections, Scholarships, and Awards; Miscellaneous Correspondence and Reports; Other Alumni Associations; Board of Directors, Committees, Annual Meetings, Awards, Festivals, Clubs, and Associations; John M. Gordon Miscellaneous Correspondence, Newspaper clippings related to the University.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the use of this material.

Return to Top


Related Materials

PC 8 (A.03-114); Unprocessed records (A.80-43, A.86-17, A.90-14, A.04-119)

Return to Top


Custodial History

The records were donated to Archives & Special Collections in two accessions in 1980 by Laird Rankin of the Alumni Association.

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

The finding aid for PC 8 (A.03-114) is available on-line and in the Archives.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

General Correspondence,[ 1958-1977 ]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Conferring of honarary degrees - Gifts and grants, 1958-1959
  2 Class re-unions, 1958-1961
  3 Miscellaneous outgoing and incoming correspondence, 1958-1967
  4 Lecturer's slides correspondence, 1959
  5 Varsity Arts 32 re-union display, 1972
 
 
Box Folder  
2 1 Executive Director Designate, 1974-1975
  2-4
Letters to Presidents and Century Club members and $50.00 and over donators, January-December 1974
  5 General outgoing correspondence, February 1974 - February 1975
  6 Correspondence pertaining to the Centennial Symposium, 1976-1977

 

Return to Top


Alumni Annual Conferences, 1958-1967
 
 
Box Folder  
3 1
A.A.C. (Alumni Advertising Group) (District Convention), Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 1960
  2 A.A.C. Conferences, Miami, Florida, and Kansas City, Missouri, July 10-14 and November 26-28, 1961
  3 A.A.C. Conference, Stillwater, Oklahoma, January 30-31, 1961
  4 A.A.C. 50th Anniversary Conference, Atlantic City, New Jersey, July 8-12, 1963
  5 A.A.C. Conference, Denver, Colorado, July 12-16, 1964
  6 A.A.C. Conference (Greenbriar), White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, July 10-14, 1966
  7 A.A.C. Conference, San Francisco, California, July 1967
  8 Conference expenses, 1961-1966
  9 A.A.C. Conference, Lake Placid Club, New York, June 22-26, 1958

 

Return to Top


Alumni Conferences, 1959-1969
 
Box Folder  
4 1
1st Fall Conference, October 17, 1959​
  2 2nd and 3rd Annual Conference, January 28, 1961 and December 9, 1961
  3 4th and 5th Annual Conference, April 28, 1962 and December 8, 1962
  4 6th Annual Conference, October 19, 1963
  5 7th Annual Conference, March 7, 1964

 

Box Folder  
5 1
18th Annual Conference, March 13, 1965​
  2 Staff Association Conference, January 29, 1966
  3 9th Annual Conference, March 19, 1966
  4 10th Annual Conference, March 18, 1967

 

Box Folder  
6 1
11th Annual Conference, March 16, 1968
  2 12th Annual Conference, April 19, 1969
 

Return to Top


Alumni Symposia and Seminars, 1959-1977
 
Box Folder  
7 1
E.H.V. Symposium, September 1966​
  2-3 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Promotion and Publicity, October 16-19, 1977
  4 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Program, October 16-19, 1977
  5 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Hotel Accomodations, October 16-19, 1977
  6 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Budget and Finance, October 16-19, 1977
  7 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Manitoba Centennial Corporation, October 16-19, 1977
  8 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Requests for Information, October 16-19, 1977
  9 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Tickets CBO/ATO, October 16-19, 1977
  10 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Official Opening, October 16, 1977
  11 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Sunday Night Opening Ceremonies, Bill Guest, M.C.,October 16, 1977
  12 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, Hans Jonas, October 17, 1977
  13 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, Panel, October 17, 1977
  14 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, October 17, 1977
  15 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, The Hon. Mr. Justice Patrick Hartt,October 17, 1977
  16 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, Jessica Mitford, October 17, 1977
  17 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, October 17, 1977
  18 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, Panel, October 17, 1977

 

Box Folder  
8 1
Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, Panel, October 18, 1977​
  2 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, October 18, 1977
  3 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, June Callwood, October 18, 1977
  4 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, Anne Francis, October 18, 1977
  5 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, October 18, 1977
  6 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, Panel, October 18, 1977
  7 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, Dr. Daniel Callahan, October 18, 1977
  8 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, Dr. Eric Cassell, October 18, 1977
  9 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, Sir Roger Bannister, October 19, 1977
  10 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Morning Session, Panel, October 19, 1977
  11 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, Professor Robert Heilbroner,October 19, 1977
  12 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, Panel, October 19, 1977
  13 Centennial Symposium (UM 100), Afternoon Session, October 19, 1977
  14 Alumni Seminars, 1959-1962
  15 Evaluation Seminar, April 1969
  16 Communications Seminar - Reverend John W. Mole, O.M.I., B.A., L.Ph., L.Th., Director,1959
 

Return to Top


Centennial Activities, 1973-1978
 
Box Folder  
9 1
University Centennial Committee correspondence, programmes; Alumni Centennial Committee, progress reports, 1975-1977​
  2 University Centennial Committee Alumni Association, agreement, 1975
  3 University Centennial Committee memberships; Convocation and Honarary Degree Committee correspondenc and meetings of minutes, n.d.
  4 University Centennial Committee Walking Tour Souvenir Book, n.d.
  5 University Centennial Committee, Finance Sub-Committee - correspondence and minutes of meetings, bills and receipts, 1974-1976
  6 University Centennial Committee, Community Liaison Sub-Committee - correspondence and minutes of meetings, 1974-1976
  7 University Centennial Committee, Capital Projects, Fund Raising - correspondence, reports, plans, etc., 1975-1977
  8 University Centennial Committee, Publicity Sub-Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1974-1976
  9 University Centennial Committee, Plenary Committee - correspondence, minutes of meetings, 1975
  10 University Centennial Committee, Symposium Committee - Minutes and Notes, n.d.

 

Box Folder  
10 1
University Centennial Committee - Symposium Suggestions, n.d.
  2 University Centennial Committee, I.B.M. Lecture Series - The Arts, 1977
  3 University Centennial Committee, I.B.M. Lecture Series - Correspondence, 1977
  4 University Centennial Committee, I.B.M. Lecture Series - Energy, 1977
  5 University Centennial Committee, I.B.M. Lecture Series - The future of private enterprise,1977
  6 University Centennial Committee, I.B.M. Lecture Series - Publicity ideas, 1977
  7 University Centennial Committee, I.B.M. Lecture Series - The Viking Space Project, 1977
  8 University Centennial Committee, I.B.M. Lecture Series - World Food Supply, 1977
 
Box Folder  
11 1
University Centennial Committee - Correspondence, 1975-1978​
  2 University Centennial Committee - Calendar of Events, 1977
  3 University Centennial Committee - Tribune Supplement, October 14, 1977
  4 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Newspaper Supplement, Winnipeg Free Press, October 14, 1977
  5 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Plans, 1976-1977
  6 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Commemorative Merchandise, 1975-1977
  7 University Centennial Committee - Commemorative Stamp, 1974-1976
  8 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Flag, 1976-1977
  9 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Week, February 28 - March 6, 1977
  10 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Flag, Raising Ceremony, n.d.
  11 University Centennial Committee - Invitations, February 28, 1977
  12 University Centennial Committee - Birthday Party, February 28, 1977
  13 University Centennial Committee - Reception celebrating the end of UM100 year and its 101st anniversary, at the home of the President and Mrs. Ralph Campbell, February 8, 1978
  14 University Centennial Committee - Open House, March 5-6, 1977
  15 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Week Programme, February 28 - March 6, 1977
  16 University Centennial Committee - Music Competition Correspondence and Guidelines,1975-1976
 
Box Folder  
12 1
University Centennial Committee - Outstanding Graduates, 1977
  2 University Centennial Committee - Logo, Legal Agreement, 1975
  3 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Logo Label Orders, 1976
  4 University Centennial Committee - Bills, Logo Competition and Advertising, 1974-1976
  5 University Centennial Committee - Logos and Crests, 1976
  6 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Flower, 1976
  7 University Centennial Committee - Correspondence concerning Centennial Medals, 1976-1977
  8 University Centennial Committee - MTS, Cover, 1977
  9 University Centennial Committee - Centennial medal unveiled, 1977
  10 University Centennial Committee - Manitoba Theatre Centre: Relatively Speaking, January 1977
  11 University Centennial Committee - Centennial Signatures, 1977
Alumni Fund Raising, Appeals, Journal Advertising, 1958-1975
 
 
Box Folder  
14 1
Alumni Fund Trustees - correspondence, final draft copy of the Dysart Memorial Catalogue,1968-1973​
  2 Membership and Fund Raising - Correspondence, 1968-1974
  3 Alumni Fund - Correspondence, 1970-1974
  4 Alumni Fund Appeals - Correspondence, 1959-1973
  5 Alumni Advertising - Student Handbook, Agro-Echo, Bisons, Brown and Gold, 1960-1973
Box Folder  
15 1
Alumni Advertising - Glee Club, Home Economics Year Book, The Manitoban, 1966-1972
  2 Alumni Advertising - Nursing Year Book, Student Phone Directory, Miscellaneous, 1960-1973
  3 Alumni Advertising - Newsletter samplings, 1967
  4 Alumni Advertising - Public Relations, 1960-1972
  5-6 Alumni Charter Flights - Nassau, Hawaii, Spain, 1973-1975
  7 Alumni Charter Flights - Nassau, Mazatlan and associated correspondence, Spain, Mexico, and Bahamas, 1974
  8 Alumni Services - Correspondence, 1973
  9 Journal Covers - Correspondence, 1961
  10 Journal Advertising - Correspondence, 1960-1963

 

Box Folder  
16 1
Journal - General Correspondence, 1958-1959​
  2 Journal - General Correspondence, 1974
  3 Womens Studies - Publication and Press release, 1971-1972
  4 Alumni Brochure - Look Inside, 1967
  5 Pilot Project - Mutual Aid Elderly to Elderly: Jerusalem, Israel, 1969
  6 Mosaic: Gifts to Schools - Correspondence, 1971
  7 University of Manitoba Press - Correspondence, 1969-1970
  8 UMSU - Pasque film Production of "And no birds sing" - Brochure, 1968
  9 CJAY - TV Series - Correspondence, 1965
  10 17th to 26th Annual Alumni Bonspiel - Correspondence, Press releases, 1960-1969
  11 Pan-American Games - Schedule of Events, July 22 to August 17, 1967
  12 Public Relations - Immediate Release Bulletins, 1965
  13 R.H. Institute - Research Grants, Awards, Scholarships, annual meetings and reports,1971-1975
  14 How to be big on campus - Brochures, 1966
 

Return to Top


Faculty and Departmental Information, 1948, 1962-1976
 
Box Folder  
17 1
Arts and Science - Course and Departmental Information, 1965-1967​
  2 Astronomy - Planetarium opening and schedules, 1969
  3 Banff School of Fine Arts - Correspondence and brochures, 1965-1969
  4 Computer Science - News release, 1966
  5-6 Continuing Education - Computer Programming for the blind, 1975-1976
  7 Continuing Education - Brochures and reports, 1976
  8 Delta Research Station - Correspondence, journal articles, newspaper clippings, 1969
  9 Design Management Centre - Blurbs, brochures, 1975-1976
  10 Education - News release, Education Committee minutes, 1965-1971
  11 Engineering - Annual reports, Diagrams, Blurbs, Solar Energy Programs, 1975-1976

 

Box Folder  
18 1
School of Fine Arts - Press releases, Mailing list for Press releases, 1966
  2 Faculty of Law - Official opening of Robson Hall, Remarks, September 15, 1969
  3 Faculty of Medicine - Press articles, medical notes and reports, 1971-1976
  4 School of Music - Programmes, reports, 1966-1976
  5 School of Nursing - Notes, press clippings, reports, Pilot projects, 1967-1976
  6 School of Physical Education - Reports, curriculum, 1967-1969
  7 Resignation of Dr. Trueman, President of the University of Manitoba - Correspondence, Press Statements, 1948
  8 Capital Fund, On the march with young Canadians - Brochures, 1962
 

Return to Top


Annual Meetings, Elections, Scholarships, and Awards, 1920-1974
 
 
Box Folder  
19 1
Annual meetings - Reports, June 7, 1966 - May 28, 1974

(1970-1973 missing)

  2 Annual meetings - Reports, 1958-1965

(1960, 1961 missing)

  3 Annual meetings - Reports, 1948-1957

(1949, 1950 missing)

  4 Alumni Fund - Report to the members and financial statements, correspondence, 1961-1972

(missing 1963, 1966-1969 reports)

 

Box Folder  
20 1
Alumni Elections - Correspondence, Nominating Committee, Nominees and Elected Candidates, 1967-1973​
  2 Alumni Elections - Nominations - Board of Directors, 1971
  3 Bursaries and Scholarships - Correspondence, Bursary programmes, etc., 1963-1968
  4 Bursaries - Special Assistance - Correspondence and applications, 1972-1973
  5 Scholarship and Bursary Committee - Correspondence, Programmes, 1969-1973
  6-7 Scholarships and Bursaries - Correspondence, Applications and names, addresses of winners, 1959-1970
 
Box Folder  
21 1
Bursaries and Graduates - Correspondence, Names and addresses of graduates, 1920-1971​
  2 Bursary Awards - Correspondence, 1971-1972
  3 Academic Evaluation - Correspondence and reports, 1971-1973
  4-5 Bursaries and Scholarships - Regulations and correspondence, 1957-1966

Return to Top


Miscellaneous Correspondence and Reports, 1923-1977
 
 
Box Folder  
22 1-2
Task Force on Post Secondary Education - Correspondence, Reports, Questionnaires, Briefs, n.d.​
  3 Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education - Annual meetings, Research proposals, Correspondence, progress reports, 1970
  4 Civilization Series, B.B.C. production presented by Sir Kenneth Clark - Correspondence, Press Clippings, Announcements, 1970-1973
  5 Alumni Lecture Series - Correspondence, Meetings, 1966-1972

 

Box Folder  
23 1
Homecoming/Reunions - Correspondence, Programs, Names and addresses, 1968-1973​
  2 Homecoming - Financial, Promotion, Publicity debate, Curling, 1970
  3 Homecoming - Talent Showcase, 1970
  4-5 Homecoming - Correspondence, Evaluation, 1971
  6 Homecoming - Promotion, 1971
 
 
Box Folder  
24 1
Communications - Correspondence, Committee Meetings, Alumni Journal Material, Advertising, 1969-1973​
  2 University Clubs - Correspondence, Committee Meetings, 1961-1965
  3 Albany, New York Alumni - Correspondence, 1955-1957
  4 Ann Arbor, Michigan Alumni - Correspondence, 1960
  5 Branch Alumnis - Correspondence, 1974-1975
  6 Chicago Branch - Correspondence, 1954-1969
  7 Detroit-Windsor Branch - Correspondence, 1952-1969
  8 Hamilton Branch - Correspondence, 1948-1969
  9 Kenora Branch - Correspondence, 1960-1961
  10 Kingston, Ontario Branch - Correspondence, 1963-1974
  11 London, Ontario Branch - Correspondence, 1966-1974
  12 Montreal Branch - Correspondence, 1952-1974
  13 New York Branch - Correspondence, 1966-1975
 
 
Box Folder  
25 1
Ottawa Branch - Correspondence, 1961-1976​
  2 Philadelphia Branch - Correspondence, 1968
  3 Presque Isle, Maine - Correspondence, 1952-1961
  4 Thunder Bay, Ontario - Correspondence, 1953-1964
  5 Toronto, Ontario - Correspondence, 1966-1973
  6 Western Branches, Brandon - Correspondence, 1947-1966
  7 Western Branches, Calgary - Correspondence, 1966-1976
  8 Western Branches, Dauphin - Correspondence, 1949-1960
  9 Western Branches, Edmonton - Correspondence, 1964-1971
  10 Western Branches, Regina - Correspondence, 1961-1967
  11 Western Branches, Saskatoon - Correspondence, 1965-1967
  12 Western Branches, Seattle - Correspondence, 1963-1968
 
 
Box Folder  
26 1
Flin Flon - Correspondence, 1959-1965​
  2 Kansas City - Correspondence, 1961-1962
  3 Lethbridge - Branch files, 1968
  4 Minnedosa - Correspondence, 1958
  5 Morden - Correspondence, 1959-1960
  6 Morris - Correspondence, 1958
  7 Neepawa - Correspondence, 1958-1962
  8 Okanagan - Names and addresses of grads, 1923-1953
  9 Portage la Prairie - Names and addresses of grads, 1974-1975
  10 Houston, Texas - Correspondence, 1962
  11 The Pas - Correspondence, 1959-1965
  12 London, England - Correspondence, 1954-1962
  13 Trinidad - Correspondence, 1961-1972

Return to Top

Other Alumni Associations, 1947-1977
 
 
Box Folder  
26 14
Acadia University, Wolfville, Nova Scotia - Correspondence, 1963-1972
  15 University of Edmonton, Edmonton, Alberta - Correspondence, 1961-1972
  16 Bishops University, Lennoxville, Quebec - Correspondence, 1960-1961
  17 Brandon University, Brandon, Manitoba - Correspondence, 1960-1972
  18 British Columbia (UBC), Simon Fraser - Correspondence, 1947-1977
  19 Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario - Correspondence, 1959-1973
  20 Commonwealth Universities - Correspondence, 1958
  21 University of Guelph, Guelph, Ontario - Correspondence, 1969
  22 Laval University, Laval, Quebec - Correspondence, 1961-1962
  23 University of LethbridgeLethbridge, Alberta - Correspondence, 1967
  24 Loyola University, Montreal, Quebec - Correspondence, 1961-1962
  25 McGill University, Montreal, Quebec - Correspondence, 1958-1965
  26 McMaster University - Hamilton, Ontario - Correspondence, 1961-1970
  27 University of Minnesota - Correspondence, 1958-1967
Box Folder  
27 1
Mount Allison University, Sackville, New Brunswick - Correspondence, 1962-1973​
  2 University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, New Brunswick - Correspondence, 1958-1973
  3 University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, North Dakota - Correspondence, 1958-1963
  4 University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario - Correspondence, 1961-1971
  5 University of Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island - Correspondence, 1972
  6 Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario - Correspondence, 1961-1970
  7 St. Mary's University, Halifax, Nova Scotia - Correspondence, 1961
  8 University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan - Correspondence, 1960-1972
  9 Sir George Williams University, Montreal, Quebec - Correspondence, 1961-1969
  10 Southern California, Old Graduates - Correspondence, 1950-1967
  11 University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario - Correspondence, 1958-1977
  12 University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario - Correspondence, 1961-1967
  13 University of Windsor, Windsor, Ontario - Correspondence, 1967-1971
  14 Northern California and San Francisco Branch - Correspondence and names and addresses of alumni, 1950-1975
  15 Southern California Branch - Correspondence and names and addresses of alumni, 1967-1973
  16 StCatherines, Ontario - Correspondence, 1952
  17 St. Louis, Missouri - Correspondence and names and addresses of alumni, 1952-1957
  18 Vancouver, British Columbia - Correspondence, 1963-1975
  19 University of Victoria - Correspondence and names and addresses of alumni, 1961-1976
  20 Washington, D.C. - Correspondence and names and addresses of alumni, 1973
  21 University of Winnipeg - Correspondence, 1962-1973
 
Box Folder  
28 1
Branch Organization Handbook - Plans for Alumni Membership Activity, 1954​
  2 Branch Associations - General Information, 1952-1972
  3 General Branches Development - Information and Questionnaire, 1968
  4 Trips - Eastern - Reports, expenses, 1963-1970
  5 Trips - Western - Reports, expenses, 1964-1971
  6 Trips - Canada and U.S.A. - Statements, expenditures, 1958-1972
  7 Trips - Manitoba - Correspondence, expenditures, 1961-1965
  8 The National Awards in Alumni Administration - Case Studies, 1966; Canadian University Association - Constitution, Correspondence, 1947-1976
  9 American Alumni Council - Correspondence, Brochures, 1960-1969
  10 American Alumni Council Canadian Section - Correspondence re: graduates in the U.S., Minutes of meetings in Washington, New Orleans, 1970-1971
  11 American Alumni Council - Awards to Manitoba High School students for University of Manitoba entrance, Dr. Victor Sifton's search for talent, Awards for cover design of the Alumni Journal (Spring and Summer 1970), 1961, 1970
  12 American Alumni Council Districts Five and Six - Correspondence re: Conferences, Project Meetings, 1962-1972
  13 American Alumni Council, Big Ten Fund Raisers Institute - Correspondence, 1963-1973
  14 American Alumni Council, Type C Service - Correspondence, Brochures, News Bulletin, Digest, etc., 1960-1973
 
Box Folder  
29 1
American Alumni Council - General Correspondence, 1969-1974​
  2 American Alumni Council - Brochures, Informal Reports, 1968-1974
  3 American Alumni Council - Brochures, Correspondence, Informal Reports, Office Equipment, 1960-1973
  4 American Alumni Council - Conferences, 1972-1973
  5 American Alumni Council, Moonshooter Syndicate - Correspondence, Future Articles for the Moonshooter, Reports, 1958-1969
  6 Alma Mater/Canada - Report and journal, 1969

 

Return to Top


Board of Directors, Committees, Annual Meetings, Awards, Festivals, Clubs, and Associations, 1921-1976
 
 
Box Folder  
30 1
Board of Directors and Senate - Correspondence, Minutes of meetings, 1953-1966
  2 Board of Directors - Minutes of meetings, Correspondence, March-November 1969, 1970-1973
  3 Board of Directors - Minutes of meetings, Brief concerning future role of the Extension Division at the University of Manitoba, Directorate attendance register, 1934, 1953, 1974-1975
  4 Alumni Fund Committee - Financial statements and reports, Minutes of meetings, 1963-1973
 
Box Folder  
31 1-4
Executive Committee - Minutes of meetings, By-laws rev., 1959-1976

(continued in Box 35)

  5 Executive Committee, Board of Directors - Record book of members' names, 1966-1970
 
Box Folder  
32 1 Planning Committee - Correspondence, Minutes of Meetings, 1961-1968
  2 Trustees Committee - Correspondence, Minutes of Meetings, Reports, 1973-1975
  3 Science Alumni Association - General Meeting Minutes, 1927-1935
  4 Conference Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1968
  4 Activities Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1961-1967
  4 Communications Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1973-1974
  4 Finance and Administration Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1974
  4
Educational Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1971​
  4 Bursary and Scholarships Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1970-1971
  4 Nominating Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1961-1971
  5 Orientation Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1965
  5 University Affairs Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1965-1968
  5 Liaison Committee of the Board of Governors - Minutes of Meetings, 1961-1967
  5 Membership and Fund Raising Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1970
  6 Representation Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1970-1971
  6 Homecoming Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1970-1971
  6 Education Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1962-1969
  6 University Review Committee - Minutes of Meetings, 1970-1971
  6 High School Liaison Committee - Admission Circular, 1964-1965
  7 Selections' Committee - Correspondence pertaining to applicants for position of Executive Director Designate, 1974-1975
  8 Recruiting Committee - Correspondence, 1961-1966
  9 Engineers Alumni - Names and addresses of Alumni graduates, n.d.
Box Folder  
33 1
Alumni Fund Committee - Correspondence, Report, 1965-1967​
  2 Human Subjects in Investigation Committee - Minutes of Meetings, Reports, 1966-1967
  3 Legislation and University Affairs Committee - Correspondence, Constitution and By-laws, Minutes of meetings, 1961-1967
  4 Finance Committee - Correspondence, 1961-1966
  5 Joseph Doupe Memorial Fund Committee - Minutes of meetings, Proposals, Memorial Symposium, etc., 1966-1969
  6 Orientation Programmes - Correspondence, 1961-1965
  7 Television Sub-Committee of the Education Policy Committee - Minutes of meetings, 1963-1964

 

Box Folder  
34 1
Board of Diretors - Correspondence, Elections Constitution and By-laws, 1930-1936
  2 Board of Directors - Minutes of meetings, Elections, 1960-1969
  3 Board of Directors - Minutes of meetings, 1969-1971
 
Box Folder  
35 1
Executive, Board and Committees - Minutes of meetings, April 18, 1973 - April 23, 1975
  2 Executive, Board and Committees - Minutes of meetings, June 6, 1973 - June 6, 1974
  3 Board of Directors - Correspondence, Press Releases, Nominations, 1960-1968
  4 Executive Committee - Minutes of meetings, 1921-1953
 
Box Folder  
36 1
Executive Committee - Minutes of meetings, 1969-1971
  2 Executive Committee - Minutes of meetings, 1971-1973
  3 Executive Committee - Correspondence, 1964-1974
 
Box Folder  
37 1
Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1961-1962​
  2 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1964-1965
  3 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1966-1967
  4 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1967-1968
  5 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1968-1969
  6 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1969-1970
  7 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1970-1971
  8 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1971-1972
  9 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1972-1973
  10 Annual Meeting, Annual Report, 1973-1974
  11 Programme Committee, Membership Committee - Correspondence, 1972-1975
 
Box Folder  
38 1
Awards for Excellence - Correspondence, Newspaper Clippings, 1971-1972
  2 Awards for Excellence - List of nominees and Participating Schools, 1972-1973
  3 Awards for Excellence - Correspondence, 1973-1974
 
Box Folder  
39 1
Jubilee Awards - Mitchell W. Sharp, Dr. Joseph Doupe, Dr. H.E. Duckworth, William Allen, G. Richard Hunter, Mr. Justice Alfred Maurice Monnin, 1959-1964​
  2 Jubilee Awards - David A. Golden, Professor Leonard Shebeski, Gordon Donaldson,1965-1967
  3 Jubilee Awards - John C. Perkin, Architect, 1968
  4 Jubilee Awards - Mrs. Leon Holt (Simma Milner), author and feature writer for Vancouver Sun, 1969
  5 Jubilee Awards - Dr. W. Wallace Grant, M.D., 1970
  6 Jubilee Awards - John Edward Page, Rector, St. Paul's College, 1971
  7
Jubilee Awards - Mary Elizabeth Bayer, 1972
  8 Jubilee Awards - William John McKeag17th Lieutenant Governor, 1973
  9 Jubilee Awards - Dr. Morley Cohen, 1974
 
Box Folder  
40 1
Festival of Life and Learning - Correspondence, Programming, Newsclippings, etc., 1969-1974​
  2 Festival of the Arts - Programmes, 1955-1965
  3 University of Manitoba French Residence (?) - Correspondence, Proposals, 1969-1971
  4 Matching Gift Fund - Correspondence, 1970-1974
  5 Century Club - Correspondence, 1970-1974
  6 President's Club - Correspondence, 1971-1973
  7 Canadian Association of University Development Officers (C.A.U.D.O.) - Correspondence, Constitution, Conference Proceedings, Salary Survey, Minutes of Meetings, Bulletins, Reports, etc., 1969-1970
  8 Canadian Association of University Development Officers (C..A.U.D.O.) - Correspondence, Constitution, 1971
  9 Canadian Association of University Development Officers (C..A.U.D.O.) - Correspondence, Constitution, 1972-1974
Box Folder  
41 1 Ledger Accounts - Membership dues, 1951-1957
  2 Ledger Accounts - Salaries, 1951-1961
  3 Ledger Accounts - Salaries, 1953-1957
  4 Ledger Accounts - Salaries, 1961-1966
  5 Ledger Accounts - Salaries, 1967-1969
  6 Ledger Accounts - General, 1957-1969
  7 Ledger Accounts - General, 1966-1970

Return to Top

John M. Gordon Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1958-1975
 
Box Folder  
42 1
John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, Press clippings, 1958-1961

(Several letters here congratulating Mr. Gordon on his appointment to the University of Manitoba)

  2 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, 1962
  3 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, Copy of "The Manitoban" [October 18, 1966], 1964-1965
  4 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, 1968-1972
  5 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, 1973-1974
  6 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, 1975

(Several letters thanking people for their good wishes on his retirement)

  7 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, Press Releases, Addresses, 1959
  8 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, 1959
  9 John M. Gordon, Personal File - Correspondence, Reports, 1960-1963

Return to Top


NEWSPAPER CLIPPING FILES 1948-1980
 
Box Folder  
43 1 President Trueman resignation 1948
  2 Brandon College 1959-1970
  3 General clippings 1958-1981
  4 UMSU film No Bird's Sing 1969
  5 Opening of Robson Hall 1969
  6 Homecoming 1970
  7 University of Manitoba Centennial 1977

Return to Top