An Inventory of Its Photograph Collection at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Heather Beattie
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Room 331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(2005)
Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (June 2006)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (June 2016)
Finding aid written in English.
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Room 331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
Creator:
Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba
Title:
Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba fonds
Dates:
1913, 1953, 1990, n.d.
Quantity:
43 photographs
Identification:
PC 8 (A.03-114)
English
Return to Top
Administrative History of the Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba
The Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba was founded in 1921 by a handful of graduates. Their objective was to reach out to the growing numbers of graduates of the University and to sustain their interest and long-term support of the University. In 1935, the Association was incorporated in the Province of Manitoba as a not-for-profit organization with its own, independent volunteer Board of Directors. The Alumni Association operated largely as an independent association until 1958 when President Saunderson created the Public Relations and Information Office. The Alumni Association assumed the operative role of the Public Relations and Information Office and received direct funding from the University.
It is the Alumni Association that provides, preserves and strengthens the vehicle for alumni involvement. The Association and the University share many common interests and objectives. One of which is to maximize the University's opportunities to communicate with graduates on a regular basis. This communication reinforces the relationship between the University through the alumni affairs portfolio and the Alumni Association. Alumni Affairs is a department of the University directed by the Association's executive director. Its role is to facilitate alumni-related activities between the Alumni Association and the University.
In 2001, the Association celebrated its 80th anniversary. An Association with such a long life has faced many challenges and seen many changes. In large measure, it reflects the much broader history of the University. For example, until 1988, the Alumni Association had the responsibility for soliciting alumni donations to the University. In 1988, this function was transferred to the Department of Private Funding in order to consolidate all fund raising ventures. Also, on May 10, 1999, the President of the University of Manitoba and the President of the Alumni Association signed a funding agreement that allowed for no-fee alumni membership to all University of Manitoba graduates. This agreement has been renewed in 2002.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Records
The fonds contains 43 photographs of historical figures relating to the University of Manitoba, the Canadian Forestry Convention in Winnipeg, and the official opening of BRIDGE. The fonds also contains a newspaper clipping of a cartoon.
Return to Top
Arrangement of the Papers
This collection is arranged according to the colour and dimension of the photographs.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
There are no restrictions on the use of this material.
Return to Top
Related Materials
UA 19, PC 8 (A.80-43, A.80-47); Unprocessed records (A.80-43, A.86-17, A.90-14, A.04-119)
Return to Top
Custodial History
The material was donated to Archives & Special Collections in 2003 by the Alumni Association.
Return to Top
Other Finding Aids
The finding aid for UA 19, PC 8 (A.80-43, A.80-47) is available on-line and in the Archives.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
Black and White 8x10 Photographs,[ n.d. ]
| Box |
|
| 1 |
- #1 - Right Reverend Monseigneur Alphonsus Avila Cherrier, LL.D., 1849-1935: Member of University Council, 1878-1934; Chairman of Board of Studies, 1883-1913; Vice-Chancellor, 1914-1934
- #2 - Reverend Andrew Browning Baird, D..D., LL.D., 1855-1940: Professor of Church History, Manitoba College, 1887-1937; Acting Principal of Manitoba College, 1911-1919; Member of University Council, 1888-1937
- #3 - Reverend John Walter Sparling, D.D., 1843-1912: First Principal of Wesley College, 1888-1912; Member of University Council, 1888-1912
- #4 - Archibald Brown Clark, LL.D.: First Professor of Political Economy, 1900-1934; Founder of Department of Political Economy
- #5 - Robert Rutherford Cochrane, B.A.: First Professor of Mathematics, 1904-1910; Founder of the Department of Mathematics
- #6 - Arthur Henry Reginald Buller, Ph.D., D.Sc., LL.D., F.R.S.C., F.R.S.: First Professor of Botany, 1904-1937; Founder of the Department of Botany
- #7 - Chester Martin, LL.D., F.R.S.C.: First Professor of History, 1909-1929; Founder of the Department of History
- #8 - Alexander Wellington Crawford, Ph.D.: First Professor of English, 1909-1931; Founder of Department of English
- #9 - Aaron Jenkins Perry, D.Litt.: Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor of English, 1912-1941
- #10 - Clark Reid Hopper, M.C., M.A.: Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor and Professor of English, 1912-1955; Dean of Junior Men, 1937-1940; Lt. Col. and Commanding Officer, University of Manitoba Contingent C.O.T.C., 1940-1945
- #11 - James Alexander MacLean, Ph.D., LL.D.: First President of the University of Manitoba, 1913-1934
- #12 - Jacob Harold Heinzelmann, Ph.D., D.Litt.: First Professor of German Language and Literature, 1913-1943; Founder of the Department of German
- #13 - William Frederick Osborne, D.Litt., Officier d'Academie: First Professor of French Language and Literature, 1913-1943; Founder of the Department of French
- #14 - Norman Richard Wilson, Ph.D., F.R.S.C.: Professor and Head of Department of Mathematics, 1914-1944
- #15 - Agnes Celine Ballu, M.A.: Lecturer and Assistant Professor of French, 1919-1945
- #16 - William Talbot Allison, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor of English, 1920-1939
- #17 - Rupert Clendon Lodge, M.A., F.R.S.C.: Professor of Logic and History of Philosophy and Joint Head of the Department of Philosophy, 1920-1934; Professor of Philosophy and Head of the Department, 1934-1947
- #18 - Henry Wilkes Wright, Ph.D.: Professor of Philosophy and Social Ethics and Joint Head of the Department of Philosophy, 1920-1934; Professor of Psychology and Head of the Department, 1934-1948
- #19 - William Meredith Hugill, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor and Professor Emeritus of the Department of Classics, 1920-1962
- #20 - Daniel Cobb Harvey, Ph.D., F.R.S.C.: Assistant Professor, Professor of History, 1921-1928
- #21 - Joseph Edwin Howe, M.A.: Lecturer and Assistant Professor of History, 1921-1943
- #22 - Marcel-Edmond-Jean Richard, B.A., Dip. D'Ec.: Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor in French, 1924-1966
|
| Box |
|
| 2 |
- #1 - Skuli Johnson, M.A., F.R.S.C.: Knight of the Royal Order of the Falcon (Iceland); Assistant Professor and Chairman of the Department of Classics, 1927-1955
- #2 - T. Herbert Milne, M.A.: Assistant Professor and Associate Professor of Mathematics, 1927-1956
- #3 - Ronald Oliver MacFarlane, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor, Associate Professor of History, 1930-1945
- #4 - Lloyd Wheeler, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor, Associate Professor and Professor and Head of the Department of English, 1931-1964; Professor Emeritus, 1964
- #5 - D'Alton Corry Coleman, LL.D.: Third Chairman of Board of Governors, 1933-1934; President, Canadian Pacific Railway, 1942
- #6 - Hjalmar August Bergman, LL.B., LL.D.: Member of the Board of Governors, 1933-1946; Vice-Chairman of the Board of Governors, 1934-1944; Chairman of the Board of Governors, 1944-1946
- #7 - Sidney Earle Smith, D.C.L.: President of the University, 1934-1944
- #8 - Robert McQueen, M.A.: Professor of Political Economy, 1936-1941
- #9 - Horace Noel Fieldhouse, M.A., F.R.S.C.: Assistant Professor, Professor and Head of Department of History, 1938-1945
- #10 - Samuel Dickinson Stirk, Ph.D.: Associate Professor and Professor of German, 1946-1961
- #11 - Richard Glover, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor of History, 1947-1963
- #12 - William Hayward McEwen, Ph.D.: Professor Emeritus of Mathematics; Chairman, Department of Mathematics, 1947-1951; Dean of Graduate Studies, 1950-1965
- #13 - Albert Henry Steward Gillson, LL.D.: President of the University, 1948-1954
- #14 - Tryggvi Julius Oleson, Ph.D., F.R.S.C.: Associate Professor, Professor and Head, Department of History, 1950-1963
|
Return to Top
Black and White 18x7 Photographs, 1913
| Box |
|
| 2 |
- #15 - Canadian Forestry Convention, Winnipeg, 1913
|
Return to Top
Black and White 16x11 Photographs, n.d.
| Box |
|
| 2 |
- #16 - Frederick William Clark, Ph.D.: Professor of Classics, 1914-1940; Founder of the Department of Classics
|
Return to Top
Black and White 6x9 Photographs, n.d.
| Box |
|
| 2 |
- #17 - Albert William Trueman, D.Litt.: President of the University, 1945-1948
|
Return to Top
Colour 8x10 Photographs, n.d.
| Box |
|
| 2 |
- #18 - Ernest Sirluck, Ph.D., LL.D., F.R.S.C.: President of the University, 1970-1976
|
Return to Top
Black and White 4x6 Photographs, 1990
| Box |
|
| 2 |
- #19a - Official Opening of BRIDGE, November 15, 1990 - Dr. A. Naimark, President of the University of Manitoba
- #19b - Official Opening of BRIDGE, November 15, 1990 - Mr. Barry Louden, Branch Manager Unisys; Mr. Bruce Laking, Carolyn Sifton Foundation; Mr. Jack Litvack, St. Boniface General Hospital; Dr. A. Naimark
- #19c - Official Openinig of BRIDGE, November 15, 1990 - Mr. Nick Jesson, Student; Dr. A. Naimark; Ms. Pat Nicholls, Associate Director Automated Systems & Services, Elizabeth Dafoe Library
|
Return to Top
Newsclipping, 1953
| Box |
|
| 2 |
- #20 - "Manitoban" cartoon, 1953
|
Return to Top
