GIS & Geovisualization: Data Sources

Licensed data from City of Winnipeg Property Planning and Development. Contains street outlines, city owned parcels, zoning and more.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.
Sign in in the top right corner of the page with your UM credentials for access.

Open data portal for the City of Winnipeg. Contains geospatial data on transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, assessment parcels, trees, elevation, land use, physical features, building footprints, parks, aerial imagery and more.

Open data portal for the City of Brandon. Contains links to boundaries, parks, zoning, transportation and more.

Government of Manitoba's new open data portal. Contains data on agriculture, economy, transportation, education, government, health, environment and emergency management. Provincially created geospatial datasets can either be found here or via the MLI website as content is transitioned to this new service.

Legacy Data Warehouse that provides a set of provincial base map products that meet a broad range of digital mapping and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) needs. Contains data on agriculture, economy, forestry, elevation, hydrography, soils, transportation, education, government, health, environment and more.

Download GIS shapefiles for economic regions, regional districts, municipalities, health boundaries, school districts, agriculture districts and electoral districts and more for the province.

Interact with soil survey data and related interpretations including surface texture, drainage, agricultural capability, suitability for irrigation and much more.

Electoral districts and voting area shapefiles for the province.

Maps at various scales portraying the geology, geophysics, geochronology and mineral occurrences for Manitoba. Includes downloadable geophysical datasets.

MASC offers core insurance and lending programs, and administers an assortment of other programs targeted at Manitoba's agricultural producers and rural communities on behalf of the Manitoba Government.

The Manitoba Collaborative Data Portal provides a knowledge base to promote evidence informed community discussion, planning and action to maximize Health Equity, Social Justice, Public Accountability and Environmental Sustainability.

Provides data and maps on on oil and gas infrastructure, including wells, batteries and facilities, as well as regional geology, land use and administrative boundaries.

If you were unable to find the data you need on the DataMB site, the PI may need to submit an access request.

This page provides access to soil survey data, reports and maps.

The North Dakota Information Technology Department and the North Dakota State Geospatial Committee (SGC) operate the GIS Hub, an infrastructure comprised of geospatial data storage, data services, and application interfaces. The GIS Hub supports state agencies in the development of their GIS and the dissemination of common interest data to other levels of government and the public.

Contains links to services depicting: aerials, assessment, base maps, planning, routing, boundaries and utilities.

Public platform where to browse, visualize, and download data made available by the City of Grand Forks.

The purpose of MN.gov/data is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of State Government.

The City of Minneapolis seeks to provide increased access to public spatial geographic information systems (GIS) and non-spatial data that is regularly requested by private citizens and businesses. These data sets are shared free of charge and with minimal licensing.

Community platform for exploring and downloading open data provided by the city of Grand Rapids.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.
Sign in in the top right corner of the page with your UM credentials for access.

Cartographic Boundary Files are a series of products containing the boundaries of standard geographic areas together with the shoreline around Canada and larger inland lakes, all integrated in a single layer. They are used to map Census of Population data, and can also be used with Census of Agriculture, National Household Survey, or other Statistics Canada data.

Open online geographic data provided by Natural Resources Canada. It includes street maps and place names, topographic and elevation data, and thematic or subject-specific data.

The Government of Canada's open data portal can be used to find a wide variety of Canadian data, including geospatial data.

The US Government's open data portal can be used to find a wide variety of American data, including geospatial data.

Includes links to Canada Lands Digital Cadastral Data, Administrative Boundaries for Canada Lands, Aboriginal Lands Administrative Boundaries, and Canadian Geopolitical Boundaries.

Canadian soil survey data, maps and reports.

Links to various GeoGratis searches on Climate Change data topics.

The Community Information Database (CID) is a free internet-based resource developed to provide communities, researchers, and governments with access to consistent and reliable socio-economic and demographic data and information for all communities across Canada.

Publicly available animal, ecology and plant data available for free download.

From the Commission for Environmental Cooperation, the North American Environmental Atlas assembles seamless, accurate cartographic data, including maps, documentation, and interactive map layers at a scale of 1:10,000,000

A geo-spatial representation of the land division system, in NAD83 coordinates, is available in ShapefileTM format for oil and gas exploration and regulations. The dataset is composed of three layers: Grid Areas; Sections; and Units. The geo-spatial files cover the Northwest Territories (including the offshore), Nunavut (including the offshore), the Atlantic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, and Hudson Bay.

Landing page for the United States Census Bureau. Contains links to data, statistics, charts, maps, graphs, and reports.

GADM wants to map the administrative areas of all countries, at all levels of sub-division. We provide data at high spatial resolutions that includes an extensive set of attributes.

Marine Regions is an integration of the VLIMAR Gazetteer and the VLIZ Maritime Boundaries Geodatabase. The VLIMAR Gazetteer is a database with geographic, mainly marine names such as seas, sandbanks, seamounts, ridges, bays or even standard sampling stations used in marine research.

Free vector and raster base map data at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110m scales

OpenStreetMap (OSM) is built by a community of mappers that contribute and maintain data about roads, trails, cafés, railway stations, and much more, all over the world. Click on Export to see alternative ways to download OSM data, such as by country or city.

A map of timezone areas in the world as used in the Unix TZ database format, from which we get the naming Europe/London, America/New_York etc. in shapefile format.

SAGE scientists aim to improve our understanding of the global environment, and how it is being affected by human activities. To achieve this goal, we have developed maps, computer models, and datasets to describe the behavior of Earth’s terrestrial ecosystems, hydrological systems, and climate. In addition, we have created datasets and analyses of historical land use, land cover change, global supply chains, resource management, energy technology, air quality and public health.

The IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library contains over 300 data sets from a variety of earth science disciplines and climate-related topics. It is a powerful tool that offers access to a number of data sets, including GIS-compatible formats.

A list of free DEM Sources for the US and the world from Yale University's Center for Earth Observation.

A list of Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Elevation Products and how to access them.

The Hand-in-Hand (HiH) Geospatial Platform is the enabling tool for the HiH Initiative unlocking over 2 million data layers for more targeted, evidence-based interventions. This Digital Public Good provides open-access geographic information, key food security indicators and agricultural statistics.

Airport, airline and route data across the globe. Data is provided as .DAT files (similar to CSV) with lat/long info. Data includes all known airports, and a large number of routes between airports.

GEBCO’s gridded bathymetric data sets are global terrain models for ocean and land. They are maintained and distributed by British Oceanographic Data Centre (BODC) on behalf of GEBCO. The data sets include the GEBCO_2014 Grid (a global 30 arc-second interval grid) & GEBCO One Minute Grid (a one arc-minute interval grid. Last updated in 2008, please note that there are no plans for further development of this data set.)

The G-Econ research project is devoted to developing a geophysically based data set on economic activity for the world. The current data set (GEcon 4.0) is now publicly available and covers "gross cell product" for all regions for 1990, 1995, 2000, and 2005 and includes 27,500 terrestrial observations. The basic metric is the regional equivalent of gross domestic product. Gross cell product (GCP) is measured at a 1-degree longitude by 1-degree latitude resolution at a global scale.

This a project designed to monitor the world's glaciers primarily using data from optical satellite instruments.

Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.

GRUMPv1 consists of eight global data sets: population count grids, population density grids, urban settlement points, urban-extents grids, land/geographic unit area grids, national boundaries, national identifier grids, and coastlines. All grids are provided at a resolution of 30 arc-seconds (~1km), with population estimates normalized to the years 2000, 1995, and 1990. All eight data sets are available for download as global products, and the first five data sets are also available as continental, regional, and national subsets

GRID-Geneva manages numerous high quality geospatial data sets at various scales (global, continental, national and subnational) on a variety of environment related themes.

The HWSD is a 30 arc-second raster database with over 16,000 different soil mapping units that combines existing regional and national updates of soil information worldwide (SOTER, ESD, Soil Map of China, WISE) with the information contained within the 1:5,000,000 scale FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World (FAO, 19711981). Supplementary data includes Soil Quality, Land Cover and Terrain Data.

MRDS is a collection of reports describing metallic and nonmetallic mineral resources throughout the world. Included are deposit name, location, commodity, deposit description, geologic characteristics, production, reserves, resources, and references.

The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research

This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via AWS (Amazon Web Services) resources.

Open source undersea telecommunication cables map, updated frequently. Data can be visualized in the embedded viewer or shapefiles can be downloaded by clicking the Raw Data link on the top right.

WorldClim is a set of global climate layers (gridded climate data) with a spatial resolution of about 1 km squared. These data can be used for mapping and spatial modeling.

Dataset from the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency listing approximately 3700 ports across the world, with location and facilities offered.