Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page provides links to useful maps that you can reference in your research. Some may provide links to downloadable data sets.
Search the Library website for a topic, then use the filters on the left side of the page to limit to 'maps'.
UM Elizabeth Dafoe Library Map Cabinets
Dafoe Library has a collection of map cabinets on the main floor that contain maps on a whole range of themes. Come in and browse our collection.
External Digital Collections
AgriMaps (Manitoba Agriculture)
Interact with soil survey data and related interpretations including surface texture, drainage, agricultural capability, suitability for irrigation and much more.
Economic Profiles (Government of Manitoba)
Page provides links to reports and a user friendly, web-based mapping application that integrates and displays economic and natural resource data on a map to support investment opportunity identification, business case analysis and decision-making in Manitoba.
Elections Manitoba Spatial Data Files (Elections Manitoba)
Electoral districts and voting area shapefiles for the province.
Energy Supply Capacity Maps (Manitoba Hydro)
Electricity and natural gas supply maps identify the energy capacity available in Manitoba.
Geoscience (Natural Resources and Northern Development Manitoba)
Maps at various scales portraying the geology, geophysics, geochronology and mineral occurrences for Manitoba. Includes downloadable geophysical datasets.
Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation (MASC) (Manitoba Government)
MASC offers core insurance and lending programs, and administers an assortment of other programs targeted at Manitoba's agricultural producers and rural communities on behalf of the Manitoba Government.
Manitoba Collaboritve Data Portal (MCHP) (Social Planning Council of Winnipeg)
The Manitoba Collaborative Data Portal provides a knowledge base to promote evidence informed community discussion, planning and action to maximize Health Equity, Social Justice, Public Accountability and Environmental Sustainability.
Manitoba Property Assessment (Government of Manitoba)
Landing page for property assessment information for the Province of Manitoba (minus Winnipeg).
Manitoba Road and Traveller information (Government of Manitoba)
Manitoba 511. Traffic conditions, construction, road closures etc.
Official highway map of Manitoba (Transportation and Infrastructure- Manitoba)
Official highway map for the province of Manitoba. Available in print. Web version is most up to date.
Oil and Gas (Natural Resources and Northern Development Manitoba)
Provides data and maps on on oil and gas infrastructure, including wells, batteries and facilities, as well as regional geology, land use and administrative boundaries.
Surficial Geology Compilation Map Series (SGCMS) (Natural Resources and Northern Development Manitoba)
The Surficial Geology Compilation Map Series (SGCMS) addresses an increasing demand for consistent surficial geology information for applications such as groundwater protection, industrial mineral management, protected lands, basic research, mineral exploration, engineering, and environmental assessment. In addition, aggregate resources depicted on the maps are applicable to the heavy construction and building industries.
Winter Roads Map (Manitoba Infrastructure)
Maps for winter roads in the province of Manitoba.
Atlas of Canada (Natural Resources Canada)
Produced by Natural Resources Canada, the Atlas of Canada provides maps on Canada's environment, society, economy and history, including topographic, thematic, and reference maps, as well as the online interactive map Toporama.
GeoGratis (Natural Resources Canada)
Open online geographic data provided by Natural Resources Canada. It includes street maps and place names, topographic and elevation data, and thematic or subject-specific data.
Geoscan (Geological Survey of Canada)
The Geological Survey of Canada's database GeoScan has more than 45 000 records of publications released by the Canadian Centre for Remote Sensing or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC), including maps.
Nautical Charts and Surveys (Fisheries and Oceans- Canada)
Fisheries and Oceans provides information on Canadian nautical charts and data, the Canadian Hydrographic Survey (CHS), and nautical chart dealers.
Note from Meg:
These links provide access to popular collections of digital maps.