Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Local/ Provincial/ National
Winnipeg Open Data (City of Winnipeg)
Open data portal for the City of Winnipeg. Contains geospatial data on transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, assessment parcels, trees, elevation, land use, physical features, building footprints, parks, aerial imagery and more.
Manitoba Land Inventory (MLI) (Conservation and Water Stewardship Manitoba)
Legacy Data Warehouse that provides a set of provincial base map products that meet a broad range of digital mapping and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) needs. Contains data on agriculture, economy, forestry, elevation, hydrography, soils, transportation, education, government, health, environment and more.
Earth Observation Data Management System (EODMS) (Natural Resources Canada)
Discover, access and download satellite imagery from the Earth Observation Data Management System, including Long-Term Satellite Data Records.
National Air Photo Library (Natural Resources Canada)
The National Air Photo Library (NAPL) of Natural Resources Canada archives over 6 million aerial photographs covering all of Canada, some of which date back to the 1920s.
GeoGratis (Natural Resources Canada)
Open online geographic data provided by Natural Resources Canada. It includes street maps and place names, topographic and elevation data, and thematic or subject-specific data.
EarthExplorer (USGS, EROS)
A client/server interface that provides access to the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center archive. The EROS archive is a comprehensive collection of land remote-sensing data that spans more than 70 years for national (US) coverage and more than 50 years for the world. Current EE data collections include aerial photography, satellite imagery, elevation data, land cover products, and digitized maps as well as remotely-sensed data for a variety of USGS projects and partners.
EROS Satellite Imagery Products (USGS)
A list of Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Satellite Imagery Products and how to access them.
Global Visualization Viewer (GloVis) (USGS)
View and download worldwide satellite imagery (requires free account registration).
Landsat Data Access (USGS)
Information about the USGS Landsat data and how to access the data through various tools/portals.
The Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS), from NASA’s Earth Science Data Systems Program, provides end-to-end capabilities for managing NASA’s Earth science data from various sources—satellites, aircraft, field measurements, and various other programs. Reverb is EOSDIS's new metadata and service discovery tool you can use to find remote sensing and earth science data.
Note from Meg:
These links provide access to popular collections of imagery.