GIS & Geovisualization: Historical Resources

Discover the University of Manitoba’s institutional history and that of the broader community. Make an appointment with an archivist to explore our physical and digital collections in-person or virtually.

A collection of maps digitized by previous Map Librarian at the University of Manitoba Larry Laliberté.

Information about the social, political and economic development of Winnipeg, as well as its natural and built environments, is available. A small portion can be accessed online, make an appointment with an archivist to access the physical collection.

Links to maps from the 1920s onwards. Includes indexes to cities, towns and First Nations.

The Archives of Manitoba acquires records of all media, including textual records, still images, sound and moving images, documentary art, cartographic records and architectural records.

Database of Library and Archives material; online copies of maps are not necessarily available, but you can order a reproduction or use the detailed record to see if another library has a copy. Under Type of Material, select "Maps and cartographic material."

Over 14000 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of American cities, states, and national parks.

The British Library's online collection contains over 4.5 million maps, plans, globes, manuscripts, and other documents spanning 2000 years.

An online historical map collection of 62,000 maps, spanning the 16th-21st century, and including maps from N America, S America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and World

Collections of historical maps and educational resources.

Historical and modern map collection from the University of Texas at Austin, including USGS maps, international maps, aeronautical charts, other US-centric maps (census, city maps, flood maps, highway maps, etc).

The Library of Congress has 17 online map collections on a variety of subjects and places, including maps related to the American Revolution, World War II military maps, and maps related to discovery and exploration.