LibGuides: International Medical Graduate (IMG) Programs: Home

Sites to Bookmark

Background Question Resources

Search our library catalogue and resources for books, textbooks, journals and more.

Library Search This link opens in a new window A single search interface provides a gateway to the University of Manitoba Libraries scholarly content, including print, electronic and digital collections. Library Search Help

Textbook lists and recommended readings may be found on subject specific library guides.

Health Sciences Toolkits list

Large textbook collections for medicine are also available through:

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Please Note: To view ebook PDFs, users must create a personal account or use a Scopus ID. Please Note: Per publisher policy, ClinicalKey doesn't provide PDFs for all ebook titles. ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Image use: You may pull figures, images, and tables from ClinicalKey into the ClinicalKey Presentation Maker for use in the creation of internal or external presentations and for training purposes, provided that:all such uses are non-commercialyou obtain third-party permission for using content credited to themeach copy of the presentation carries appropriate credit to the content owner (ClinicalKey Presentation Maker inserts the required citation and copyright statement – do not remove).
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources. It delivers the latest medical advances and knowledge from recognized physicians delivered in a digital aggregation with online desktop, PDA, iPod, and MP3 compatible device solutions. You may display, download, or print PowerPoint slides and images for personal and educational use only. Educational use refers to classroom teaching, lectures, presentations, rounds, and other instructional activities, such as displaying, linking to, downloading, printing and distributing multiple copies in both print and electronic format. You may only display, distribute, or otherwise make these images and slides available to students or other persons attending in-person presentations, lectures, rounds or other similar instructional activities presented or given by you. You may modify the content of downloaded PowerPoint slides only for educational use; the source and attribution may not be modified.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window Please Note: Effective December 31, 2023, UpToDate is ending support for the Internet Explorer (IE) browser. Please use the latest version of Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari. Please Note: An app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play - see the Installation Instructions. App users will be prompted to renew their account every 6 months. See the Renewal Instructions. UpToDate only supports the latest browser versions (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Safari). UpToDate is a full-text resource supporting clinical decision-making in the field of internal medicine and its subspecialties. It provides options for diagnosis and management, including the efficacy, doses, and interactions of individual drugs, and includes a section for patients. Content is peer-reviewed and updated every four months. The use of images from UpToDate is permitted in presentations for the purpose of teaching. List UpToDate as the source and use the “Export to PowerPoint” feature to ensure all of the appropriate copyright information is included with the slide. Explicit permission is required to use images for the purpose of publication or in any commercial endeavor.
UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new window Please Note: Database formerly called Lexi-Comp online with AHFS. Please Note: Users may experience issues accessing certain modules, such as Lexi-Interact. If this happens, users are encouraged to clear their cache, try accessing via a different browser, or access using the LexiComp App. If the problem persists, contact the library at healthlibrary@umanitoba.ca We are working with the publisher to have this access issue fixed as soon as possible. Access Restrictions: On-site access is restricted to the Fort Garry and Bannatyne campuses (excluding HSC). Off-campus access is restricted to UM students and faculty. Please Note: The mobile version is only available to select categories of Health Sciences students and faculty due to a limited number of accounts. To register, see the instructions here. LexiComp Online with AHFS is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools, providing clear, concise and actionable drug and clinical information from a variety of resources. All content is unbiased, pharma-free, and updated daily.

App Access and Renewal Instructions

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to find and use high-quality research evidence to support their medical practice and/or care. Systematic reviews, evidence synopsis, and practice guidelines are among the searchable publication types. Also included are: images, video, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.

Foreground Question Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.PubMed Search Help
EMBASE This link opens in a new window EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database that provides access to up-to-date information from international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.Embase Search Help
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.Scopus Search Help

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Components include:Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Index Chemicus (1993-present)Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present) Web of Science Search Help
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.Scopus Search Help
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.

Databases A-Z

International Medical Graduate (IMG) Programs

Sites to Bookmark

Background Question Resources

Foreground Question Resources

Tools for Finding PDFs