LibGuides: Midwifery Toolkit: Practice Guidelines

Guidelines Databases

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to find and use high-quality research evidence to support their medical practice and/or care. Systematic reviews, evidence synopsis, and practice guidelines are among the searchable publication types. Also included are: images, video, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.
JBI (via OvidSP) This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Effective July 26, 2024, this resource has made changes and upgrades to their website. It will continue to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries.

The Joanna Briggs Institute is multi-source information service supporting evidence-based healthcare practice in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health. The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) database provides access to a variety of documents, including: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

Users must create a free personal account in order to access the following EBP tools via Ovid:
* SUMARI (System for the Unified Management, Assessment and Review of Information)
* PACES (Practical Application of Clinical Evidence System)
JBI Search Help

Midwifery & Obstetrics Guidelines

College of Midwives of Manitoba Guidelines
College of Midwives of Ontario Standards of Practice
Guidelines published in Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada
** some guidelines are only available by subscription - see https://bit.ly/3pKo5OS to access the library's journal subsciption, OR install the library's browser extension to facilitate access trhough the publisher site. See https://umanitoba.ca/libraries/access-materials/lean-library for more information.

Canadian Sources for Clinical Practice Guidelines

Choosing Wisely
See the Nurse Practitioner section.
BC Guidelines
BC Guidelines are clinical practice guidelines and protocols that provide recommendations to B.C. practitioners on delivering high quality, appropriate care to patients with specific clinical conditions or diseases
Canadian Cardiovascular Society
Guidelines and position statement library. Can filter documents by year, type, or topic
Canadian Diabetes Association
Clinical practice guidelines for prevention and management of diabetes
Canadian Guidelines on Sexually Transmitted Infections
From the Public Health Agency of Canada
Canadian Hypertension Education Program (CHEP)
Guidelines for diagnosis & assessment and prevention & treatment. Also includes helpful resources and tools
more...less...
A mobile app of the guidelines is available on Android and Apple
Canadian Immunization Guide
From the Public Health Agency of Canada. Provides the most up-to-date information about vaccinations in Canada
Canadian Paediatric Society
Canadian Paediatric Society position statements and practice points have clinical guidance and policy recommendations for paediatricians, family physicians, nurses, government officials and others. They also include links to other relevant documents and resources, including information for parents
Canadian Respiratory Guidelines
Provided by the Canadian Thoracic Society
more...less...
Note: As of August 2017, the Canadian Respiratory Guidelines website was under construction. Use contact information provided on site to request copies of guidelines
Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care
The Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care (CTFPHC) appraises guidelines produced by other organizations as a complement to the production of CTFPHC clinical practice guidelines. The focus of the critical appraisal is on the quality of the methods used, with a commentary section that outlines some points for primary care practitioners to consider should they choose to implement the recommendations
Canadian Urological Association Guidelines
Read the CUA statements and check box to gain access to guidelines
Clinical Practice Guidelines for Nurses in Primary Care
The Clinical Practice Guidelines have been prepared by Health Canada's First Nations and Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB) for use by community health nurses employed by Health Canada providing primary care in isolated, semi-isolated, and remote First Nations communities
Osteoporosis Canada
Website contains links to the 2010 Clinical Guidelines for Diagnosis and Management of Osteoporosis in Canada as well as other resources such as the FRAX
Professional Boundaries and the Nurse-Client Relationship: Guidelines for Nurses
From the College of Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia
Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario
There are currently 50 published guidelines as well as a toolkit and educator's resource to support implementation
Rourke Baby Record
Evidence-based health supervision guide for primary healthcare practitioners of children in the first five years of life
Accelerating Change Transformation Team
Practice guidelines produced in alignment with Alberta's Primary Health Care Strategy

International Sources for Clinical Practice Guidelines

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
NICE guidelines are developed in the United Kingdom and cover a wide variety of topics including:
- Conditions and Diseases
- Public Health
- Treatments
- Procedures and Devices
Guidelines International Network (GIN)
World Health Organization Guidelines
The WHO provides a number of global guidelines on various health topics
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)
Not particularly focused on nursing, however SIGN guidelines are well known for being developed from a systematic review of scientific evidence

Implementing and Evaluating CPGs

Credit

Thanks to Kevin Read, Health Sciences Librarian at the University of Saskatchewan, who created and allowed us to reuse the CPG lists and descriptions.

Midwifery Toolkit

Guidelines Databases

Midwifery & Obstetrics Guidelines

Canadian Sources for Clinical Practice Guidelines

International Sources for Clinical Practice Guidelines

Implementing and Evaluating CPGs

Credit

Related Toolkits: